We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel, with quirks”
Review of Grand Hotel Lund

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Lund
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The Grand's public rooms exude European charm. Nevertheless, the guest rooms can be very small by North American standards. Worse, some bathrooms (for single rooms) are so small that the shower stalls are barely functional. The staff, however, are helpful and they moved me to a room with a more manageable bathroom. Indeed, the staff are exceptionally friendly and stand ready to address positively any challenge encountered by guests. As elsewhere in Sweden but even more so, breakfast is copious, varied and excellent. The hotel lies at the heart of this glorious university town, only steps away from the railway station (I walked without trouble, even though burdened by luggage). Highly recommended overall, but beware of the smaller rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequenttraveller076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjorn_Gustavsson, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Lund, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear Frequenttraveller076 -

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am most grateful for your kind comments about the atmosphere and attitude of staff at the Grand Hotel.

Please send me a message before your next stay at the Grand and I would be delighted to offer you a complimentary upgrade to a larger room.

Kind regards,

Björn Gustavsson
Front Desk Manager
bjorn.gustavsson@grandilund.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed here for three nights while attending a conference. Nice room on 4th floor, well laid out and, luckily, very quiet and accessible once we got used to very tiny elevators. Staff generally pleasant. Good location. Breakfast was disorganised chaos. On the first morning we were told to take any table ... Problem was that there were no empty tables. When someone did vacate a table, we had to clear it ourselves, find cutlery etc because the staff didn't seem to have time or inclination. I thought perhaps it was just a busy morning but the following two were the same. We avoided eating there in the evening for fear that we might face the same level of disorganisation.

Stayed: June 2013
Thank bettoneyvere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjorn_Gustavsson, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Lund, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear Bettoneyvere -

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you were caused during breakfast.

The hotel's kitchen was closed for construction work during the summer and part of the dining room area was therefore not in use. I am very sorry if we failed to provide our normal high standard of service during breakfast while you were staying with us.

I do hope that you will have the opportunity to return to Lund in the not too distant future and that you will then be able to re-experience Grand Hotel. Please send me a message before your next stay.

Kind regards,

Björn Gustavsson
Front Desk Manager
bjorn.gustavsson@grandilund.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

once upon a Monastery... now hotel.

have been to the hotel multiple times.

wide range of room size and quality.

great breakfast.

walking distance from the train station, winter and summer alike. a short walk to downtown Lund.

elevator doesn't go to the top floor - you may need to carry your luggage.

Room Tip: there's an amazing sauna in the basement - sometimes they'll turn it on for you [if you ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yaelol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times and it never fails to please. Whilst not the cheapest it is a lovely hotel fill of charm. We stay in a turret room which is excellent. Great place. Parking is only via municipal parking area but it works. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

In short: the hotel, itself, was great; but the service was repeatedly disappointing.

Our room was airy and pleasant. While the rain shower ends up being more of an annoyance than a pleasure, the whole place felt clean and well-maintained, and that was enough for me. The bed was comfy (though what's with two separate blankets for a single couple?), the windows let in fresh air, and the seating area by the windows gave us a place to relax.

The breakfast was GREAT. Very thorough, with high-quality food and lots of individual items I'm still craving over a week later (such as the raisin bread).

The hotel also had lots of little perks that we didn't get to use, but that gave it a certain feel, like conference rooms and a ballroom, a relaxation area downstairs, and a sauna.

The wifi was free and had a strong signal in our room. There is also a "business center," which is a computer down a corridor that anyone can use.

The area was great. Close to both the train station and downtown. I always felt safe.

The service was, unfortunately, totally unacceptable for such a high-level hotel. For example, when we got in, we discovered that the door wouldn't lock (the deadlock wasn't working). When I called to report it and ask for it to be fixed, the woman at the front desk insisted we didn't actually need a lock. I disagreed, and wanted the lock (there was no safe in the room, among other reasons), but I really had to push it. Sure enough, the next morning around 7am a cleaning person walked in on us since we were unable to lock our door. "At least it'll be fixed today," we thought. But over the course of our stay there (almost one week long), despite reporting it several times, it was never fixed.

In another incidence, my fiance had the hotel clean his dress shirts. When a shirt was returned with a collar stay missing, he reported it (hoping that it could be found and returned to him) and was met with unhelpfulness. When he described the collar stay as the plastic one that came with the shirt, unhelpfulness turned to snarkiness as the desk person quite directly stated my fiance was cheap for using plastic and should invest in metal ones. That comment felt very inappropriate. (Also, sidenote, why invest in metal collar stays if Grant Hotel is just going to lose them?) Suffice it to say that, while my fiance asked several times about the collar stay, it was never returned to him. And when he asked for any pair of matching stays from the purported box of lost+found collar stays--something they originally offered--the hotel refused!

The one ray of light here was the person who cleaned the room. When we accidentally broke a glass and small shards went all over, I found him in the hallway and--without my asking--he immediately dropped everything he was doing to attend to the situation. I appreciated his responsiveness, especially in the face of his colleagues essentially ignoring our reasonable requests.

In sum, Grand Hotel has been set up as a great hotel. And it is a great hotel. But as soon as something small goes wrong, you're on your own.

Room Tip: Each room is different, so it's hard to say which one is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jess65456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stayed for two nights. The hotel is very nice, located inside a beautiful building - its a bit old - but this just adds the right atmosphere. The only setback was a strange scent in the main corridors (not in my room). The room was surprisingly lighted, comfortable, clean and quiet. The view from the room was remarkable. The internet in the room was free, fast and stable. I was lucky enough and during my stay the weather was great - I am not sure how it'll be during the summer as I couldn't see any AC facility (they might have, I just don't know). The location of the hotel is 3 minutes from the train station, at the heart of a lovely clean university town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deBotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I stayed at the Grand for 3 nights and it has a great location close to the railway station - and so is regularly used for conferences and the like. Personnel are helpful and they have a great breakfast. The hotel is one of the "classic" grand hotels built in many Swedish town-centres, so has preserved a lot of period furniture and so on, but this isn't always something good... our bathroom was showing its age for example, with the shower water running away from (as opposed to towards) the drain!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lund hotels
1.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Planetstaden
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lundia
Hotel Lundia
#10 of 17 in Lund
269 reviews
0.7 mi away
The More Hotel Lund
The More Hotel Lund
#8 of 17 in Lund
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotell Nordic Lund
0.1 mi away
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#9 of 17 in Lund
292 reviews
0 mi away
Hotell Oskar
Hotell Oskar
#6 of 17 in Lund
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Lund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Lund

Address: 1 Bantorget, Lund 222 29, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Lund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Price Range: £131 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Lund 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 100-year-old luxury hotel in Lund, Sweden. Our cuisine is legendary, we have modern conference and banquest facilities adn our staff is friendly and service-oriented For a guest, a hotel stay is all about experience. It goes way beyond just a comfortable bed to sleep in. Even back in 1899, when we first threw open our doors that's what we were thinking. We wanted to give our guests a memorable experience. The décor, the cuisine, the service, the wines, and the atmosphere: everything about the Grand Hotel lives up to its name. The historic Grand Hotel Lund has turned into one of the best hotels in Sweden. Sincerely yours! Grand Hotel Lund ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Lund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing