We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand hotel is all that”
Review of Grand Hotel Lund

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Lund
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Grand hotel is all that”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The Grand hotel feels exactly the way it sounds. The lobby and other common areas on the ground floor look straight out of the 3'ies and the rooms have a lovely combination of modern and comfortable and at the same time keeping the atmosphere.
The beds are comfortable, everything nice and clean, staff polite, helpful and very pleasant. Breakfast buffet in the morning is delicious and offers a wide range of choice.
Lund being very small, I assume that all hotels in Lund are centrally located, Grand even more so if you arrive by train.
All in all, if you want to treat yourself to something nice during your stay in Lund, Grand is a good choice.

Room Tip: Room 552 has a great roof terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianneBom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjorn_Gustavsson, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Lund, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Marianne -

Thank you for your kind comments. I hope that you will return to Grand Hotel soon again.

Kind regards,
Björn Gustavsson
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    148
    51
    17
    11
See reviews for
71
99
34
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Grand hotel is a classic hotel in Lund with a very good location. It has a nice lobby with a huge stair case, all made to make a grand and welcoming entrance.
The bar is good, but pricey, and the breakfast is very nice. All well and good, exactly what you expect from hotel in this price category. But since it is old the rooms are also small, they are renovated and nice but small. And no tea or coffee in the room, which I sort of expect in a Grand hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjorn_Gustavsson, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Lund, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear klar10 -

Thank you for your kind comments about Grand Hotel.

I appreciate your input about tea and coffee facilites and I will discuss this further with my colleagues.

Kind regards,
Björn Gustavsson
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The Grand is THE hotel in the centre of Lund, Sweden's famous university city. Some of the circular turret rooms are amazing with windows on four sides and views over the city.
The food is traditional Swedish with little concession to the international business traveller, but it is well cooked.
All staff speak excellent English.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room in one of the gothic towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjorn_Gustavsson, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Lund, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Ray -

Thank you for your kind words about Grand Hotel. I hope that you will return on many future occassions.

Kind regards,

Björn Gustavsson
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights with our student son who is starting a year of study at Lund University. Location is excellent and very nice hotel but a little bit pricey. Be careful about parking just outside the hotel while dropping off luggage as we got a ticket. However the staff kindly sorted it out for us. The rail and bus station is within a few mins walk, so no need to hire a car unless you are going touring as we were. Staff generally pleasant and friendly. Good breakfast (included) but restaurant overpriced for dinner. We had a very nce room on 3rd floor but our son felt his room on the 2nd floor was a bit too tiny.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room if you are worried it may be too small as they have various options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjorn_Gustavsson, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Lund, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear ACM2013 -

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I very much hope that your son will enjoy his studies in Lund and that we will have the pleasure of seeing his parents back at the Grand Hotel soon again.

Kind regards,

Björn Gustavsson
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The Grand's public rooms exude European charm. Nevertheless, the guest rooms can be very small by North American standards. Worse, some bathrooms (for single rooms) are so small that the shower stalls are barely functional. The staff, however, are helpful and they moved me to a room with a more manageable bathroom. Indeed, the staff are exceptionally friendly and stand ready to address positively any challenge encountered by guests. As elsewhere in Sweden but even more so, breakfast is copious, varied and excellent. The hotel lies at the heart of this glorious university town, only steps away from the railway station (I walked without trouble, even though burdened by luggage). Highly recommended overall, but beware of the smaller rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequenttraveller076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjorn_Gustavsson, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Lund, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear Frequenttraveller076 -

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am most grateful for your kind comments about the atmosphere and attitude of staff at the Grand Hotel.

Please send me a message before your next stay at the Grand and I would be delighted to offer you a complimentary upgrade to a larger room.

Kind regards,

Björn Gustavsson
Front Desk Manager
bjorn.gustavsson@grandilund.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACT, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights while attending a conference. Nice room on 4th floor, well laid out and, luckily, very quiet and accessible once we got used to very tiny elevators. Staff generally pleasant. Good location. Breakfast was disorganised chaos. On the first morning we were told to take any table ... Problem was that there were no empty tables. When someone did vacate a table, we had to clear it ourselves, find cutlery etc because the staff didn't seem to have time or inclination. I thought perhaps it was just a busy morning but the following two were the same. We avoided eating there in the evening for fear that we might face the same level of disorganisation.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bettoneyvere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjorn_Gustavsson, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Lund, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear Bettoneyvere -

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you were caused during breakfast.

The hotel's kitchen was closed for construction work during the summer and part of the dining room area was therefore not in use. I am very sorry if we failed to provide our normal high standard of service during breakfast while you were staying with us.

I do hope that you will have the opportunity to return to Lund in the not too distant future and that you will then be able to re-experience Grand Hotel. Please send me a message before your next stay.

Kind regards,

Björn Gustavsson
Front Desk Manager
bjorn.gustavsson@grandilund.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

once upon a Monastery... now hotel.

have been to the hotel multiple times.

wide range of room size and quality.

great breakfast.

walking distance from the train station, winter and summer alike. a short walk to downtown Lund.

elevator doesn't go to the top floor - you may need to carry your luggage.

Room Tip: there's an amazing sauna in the basement - sometimes they'll turn it on for you [if you ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaelol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lund hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lundia
Hotel Lundia
#10 of 17 in Lund
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotell Nordic Lund
Hotell Nordic Lund
#2 of 17 in Lund
160 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Planetstaden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotell Oskar
Hotell Oskar
#5 of 17 in Lund
303 reviews
0.7 mi away
The More Hotel Lund
The More Hotel Lund
#7 of 17 in Lund
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#8 of 17 in Lund
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Lund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Lund

Property: Grand Hotel Lund
Address: 1 Bantorget, Lund 222 29, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Lund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Lund 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 100-year-old luxury hotel in Lund, Sweden. Our cuisine is legendary, we have modern conference and banquest facilities adn our staff is friendly and service-oriented For a guest, a hotel stay is all about experience. It goes way beyond just a comfortable bed to sleep in. Even back in 1899, when we first threw open our doors that's what we were thinking. We wanted to give our guests a memorable experience. The décor, the cuisine, the service, the wines, and the atmosphere: everything about the Grand Hotel lives up to its name. The historic Grand Hotel Lund has turned into one of the best hotels in Sweden. Sincerely yours! Grand Hotel Lund ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Grand Hotel Lund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing