We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rather boring place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Star Lund
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Stockholm
Level Contributor
148 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A rather boring place”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The hotel is located in the outskirts of Lund. The rooms are big but mine was in rather bad condition. I had a bedroom with two beds and a separate living area with a desk, a little table and a sofa bed. There was no refrigerator in the room. The bathroom was big with a separate shower and bath tub.The restaurant is big. The breakfast was OK but nothing extra at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvaStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarinK469, Chef at Scandic Hotel Star Lund, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Google Translation
Hej och tack för din feedback!
Vi är alltid glada när våra gäster tar sig tid att skriva lite om sin vistelse hos oss.
Våra rum har några år på nacken, vi försöker upprätthålla en god kvalitet, även om en del av våra rum är lite omoderna.
Du är välkommen att kontakta mig vid ditt nästa besök!
Vänliga hälsningar
Karin Kindberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    156
    126
    46
    28
See reviews for
155
80
33
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Rooms are clean but a little worn. No minibar in the rooms, no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms, no toilet paper in the bathroom. Pool too cold for small children. On the plus side, the breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lund hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Molndal, Sweden
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Scandic have reliable functional hotels, usually reasonably priced. This hotel is in the outskirts of Lund, convenient by car, 15-20 minutes by bus from the centre of town. Most guests seem to be workmen, sales and service reps and tourists by the busload.

Nothing to complain about, everything just works. Good, but not exceptional service. Good breakfast spread. Clean room. OK dining. Amazed that kitchen and serving staff can cope with enormous swings in number of guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furesø
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed 4 persons (parents + 6yr/15yr boys) two nights as a weekend offer/break-out event, not so far from our home near Copenhagen. Scandic Lund, was like Scandic most other places: Children friendly, average quality but sufficient for a family like ours on a medium budget. We chose this hotel for the pool, which was used 2 times, but the water was too cold for us. The gym. was small, but sufficient machines in good quality/condition. The resturant was OK, but the price on the high side compared to the level of quality. However, fine solution after travel; and again, no real surprices. Lund "Downtown" a few km away required car or bikes. Hotel bikes available, but unfortunately no bikes for children. The challenge was finding a parking space in the center of Lund without being ripped off. The city-park with the observatirium was great in the nice spring weather, and has an excellent large playground. Many resturants and café possibilities. Not so much for children if you avoid fast food like pizza, like we do; but we found some OK restaurants after some searching. Note: The better Saturday evening restaurants requires booking well in advance. We walked a lot and experienced historic places like the old university, the cathedral, etc, but it was not the most interesting city for children. However, as a relaxing family weekend with a lot of walking and talking, after a stressful time, it was just fine. If just the pool had been 5C warmer, if would have been excellent...

Room Tip: Budget family room with view to a roof. But quiet, apart from neighbor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sven308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

A difference in the Scandic Star. The family room that I stayed in had been decorated in a much more modern style and had a much more pleasant feel to it. Bathroom had a "wet room" shower and a bath. Sounds were somewhat intrusive - the lift operates on that side of the hotel between 6am and 10pm, but that is too early to be woken at the weekend. The next door room also had some bangs and thumps from the occupants, in the morning.

Safe is still small and could not take a laptop.

the lobby seemed fresher, except for that carpet! it is stained and torn and totally detracts from what would be a quite impressive area. Breakfast was fine and plentiful. Staff are always helpful and pleasant.

Pool, Sauna and gym all good.

The fact that I return, rather than finding another hotel in Lund, is a recommendation in itself.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room away from the elevators, which can be noisy and as high as possible. My pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minervah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
216 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Also one of the hotels that I´ve visited several times during 2012 and 2013. Good service, always available rooms and big tasty breakfast.

Rooms a little old and worn.

The hotel is locaded near the highway and far away from the city centre, a little to "off" for my taste. If you want quiet and harmony, this is the perfect hotel in Lund!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valaszkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The hotel is quite a distance from the medieval city centre of Lund, but Lund being a small place this means 10 minutes by bus or taxi from the central station or the cathedral. The hotel is big and part of the Scandic group so you know pretty much what you will get. It is often used for conferences, which was the reason I was there, and the food served was delicious. The room was spacious and the bathroom large with both shower compartment and a separate bath tub. It was quiet and the bed was comfortable.
I would stay here again, in particular if I came by car, since it is very difficult to drive in the centre of Lund. Here you are close to the motorway and it is easy to park.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Castor_Dioskouros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lund hotels
1.6 mi away
Elite Hotel Ideon
Elite Hotel Ideon
#3 of 17 in Lund
376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Planetstaden
1.1 mi away
Hotell Nordic Lund
Hotell Nordic Lund
#2 of 17 in Lund
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Park Inn By Radisson Lund
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Lund
Grand Hotel Lund
#6 of 17 in Lund
377 reviews
1.1 mi away
StayAt Lund
StayAt Lund
#10 of 17 in Lund
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Star Lund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Star Lund

Property: Scandic Hotel Star Lund
Address: 5 Glimmervaegen | P.O. Box 11026, Lund 224 78, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Lund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Hotel Star Lund 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy great food in our restaurant Gerda's, and borrow a bike from Reception to explore Lund attractions like the cathedral. The hotel has 22 meeting rooms for 2-450, all with wireless internet access. Relax in the Scandic Star hotel's sauna or swim lengths in the indoor pool. Tee off at one of several local golf courses, including Akademiska Golf Club, 5 km away. All kids are welcome to Scandic Star. We always have pancakes for the kids and maybe you will even get a chance to meet up with Sigge - our mascot! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Hotel Star Lund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing