We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practical business area hotel if you need to be in that area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Star Lund
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Practical business area hotel if you need to be in that area”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were here with a group of colleagues on a business trip. I got a standard room, but others got different styles of rooms. Some even a kind of suite. The standard room was nice enough, though. Ample space, a good and big bed, and a sitting area. The hotel seems a bit old and in need of a renovation, but everything still is in good enough shape. The shower, though, is difficult to handle and to get the temperature right.

The hotel is in an industrial area outside of the city. Not a very nice spot if you’re a tourist. You’d need transportation to get to the center of the city.

Reception staff is very friendly, efficient and helpful. Staff in the bar and restaurant is terrible. They are either not there, don’t come back, they are slow and they don’t seem to care at all. The bar and restaurant could sell much more to their guest if the staff would be more attentive and faster. Hotel management should see this, but apparently they don’t.

Breakfast is good enough. Sufficient things to choose from.

Price of the hotel is good for what you get. I’ll be back here if I need to be in Lund for business again. But I’ll probably try to have a drink and eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renevdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarinK469, Chef at Scandic Hotel Star Lund, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for staying at our hotel!.
I am very glad to hear that you got an efficient and friendly service at the reception and that you enjoyed your breakfast!
Your feedback regarding the restaurant is much appreciated, we are currently taking action on this matter.
We really appreciate that you have taken time to give us a review regarding your stay!
Please don´t hesitate to contact me on your next stay.
Kind regards,
Karin Kindberg, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    156
    126
    46
    28
See reviews for
155
80
33
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel was comfortable enough but we had to change first room which they offered us becuse it was noisy enough. Stuff did change without any word and second our room was excellent. However the hotel need to restore.

Room Tip: take rooms on 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlad V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarinK469, Chef at Scandic Hotel Star Lund, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
We are planning a refurbishment in the near future
We really appreciate that you have taken time to give us a review regarding your stay!
Kind regards
Karin Kindberg, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel is 10 minutes by car from the Railway station. They have Good food and good ambiance with car park.

Overall my experience in this Hotel was good. The Food at the restaurant was also good. The Breakfast is also OK

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Companytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarinK469, Chef at Scandic Hotel Star Lund, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for staying at our hotel!.
I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and the food in the restaurant!
Welcome back again!
Kind regards,
Karin Kindberg, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Situated out of town this hotel is best for those with a car. However it is completely self contained with a good restaurant, bar and fitness centre, plus all business services and free wi-fi The rooms are very large, clean and comfortable, with separate sleeping and seating areas, so ideal for a longer business stay. This was my second visit and will not be the last.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJ53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarinK469, Chef at Scandic Hotel Star Lund, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Google Translation
Hej och tack för att du tagit dig tid att skriva ett omdömme om oss!
Roligt att du trivs hos oss på Star i Lund!
Vi ser fram emoit ditt nästa besök!
Med vänliga hälsningar
Karin Kindberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

LOCATION
About 2 km from the city centre in a pretty dull industrial area. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel, from where you can go to the city centre.

ROOM
Large room, with one bedroom part and one sitting area including armchair as well as chair+desk. Clean. Comfortable bed. Clean, fresh bathroom.

NOISE LEVEL
No problem with noise from the rather lively street nearby.

SERVICE
Friendly, helpful staff.

BREAKFAST
Rich buffet including warm dishes, such as bacon & eggs. Pretty busy when we were there but still possible to find a table. The staff refilled the buffet continuously and there was no lack of anything.

RESTAURANT
We didn’t try the restaurant.

OTHER THINGS
Wi-Fi in the room at no extra charge. Additionally, computers with internet in the lobby and even a possibility to print documents for free.

SUMMARY
A good hotel, especially if you don’t bother about its less central location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goeran_Munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarinK469, Chef at Scandic Hotel Star Lund, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Google Translation
Tack för din feedback,
Det är mycket värdefullt fö oss att få ta del av dina upplevelser!
Vi arbetar ständigt med att förbättra oss, så tack än en gång för din feedback!
Önskar dig välkommen tillbaka!
Vänliga hälsningar
Karin Kindberg
Hotel Managaer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed in the hotel for 5 nights on a business trip in mid January 2014, the hotel is very pleasant albeit a bit old. It is not very luxurious or fancy but is nonetheless extremely comfortable. The hotel staff are very helpful with things like directions in Lund, helping us with Taxis, etc. The first floor room was a kind of suite with a living/working area and a bed room with two beds. So, it was a very spacious room (the bathroom had a shower area and a bathtub and was very spacious too).
Restaurant is a bit of a let down, for a vegetarian, there was just one dish and not very good at that. The restaurant staff were not very helpful, when I mentioned that I am a vegetarian, they pointed me to the only dish and took the menu back! And the restaurant was closed on sunday, after a long flight to reach Lund, the last thing I wanted was to venture out in the cold.
Location is not good, its about 3km or so from downtown. It is a pleasant walk to go to the city center, so I did not mind it.

Pros: Comfortable, spacious room
Cons: Location, restaurant not good

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrishnaAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

You will know from my past reviews that I visit this hotel to stay near family. First of all - thank you, Scandic - the tatty carpet has at last disappeared from the reception area, which is a vast indoor courtyard, with a glass roof. It has so improved the look of the place. Stayed in a family room - the more updated ones, so very happy. Safes do not accommodate laptops. elevators on the "quiet" side of the hotel normally run 6am to 10pm, but were running 24 hours, due to problems with other elevators. Took advantage of free bike hire, as before - Lund is a very bike friendly town - not so for cars. the number 5 bus also runs from outside this hotel, so leave your car parked at the Star if you want to visit Lund. Breakfast was the usual fare - fine for me, I haven't eaten any other meal at this hotel, so can't comment. Pool was unheated, which, as others have said, is too cool for little children (and some adults, too!). Gym is fine. All in all - I was mainly happy with my visit this time. (And staff are always p0olite and helpful - goes without saying).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minervah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarinK469, Chef at Scandic Hotel Star Lund, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for your reviews!
I am so pleased, that you appreciated us getting rid of the carpet in our lobby!
Nice to know that you enjoyed your stay and that we can accommodate you in one of our modernised rooms!
Thank you very much for taking time to give us your feedback - very important for us! We always like to improve and how can we do this better, than getting information and feedback foment our guests!
Please don't hesitate to contact me, at your next stay!
Kind regards
Karin Kindberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lund hotels
1.6 mi away
Elite Hotel Ideon
Elite Hotel Ideon
#3 of 17 in Lund
376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Planetstaden
1.1 mi away
Hotell Nordic Lund
Hotell Nordic Lund
#2 of 17 in Lund
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Park Inn By Radisson Lund
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Lund
Grand Hotel Lund
#6 of 17 in Lund
377 reviews
1.1 mi away
StayAt Lund
StayAt Lund
#11 of 17 in Lund
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Star Lund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Star Lund

Property: Scandic Hotel Star Lund
Address: 5 Glimmervaegen | P.O. Box 11026, Lund 224 78, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Lund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Hotel Star Lund 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy great food in our restaurant Gerda's, and borrow a bike from Reception to explore Lund attractions like the cathedral. The hotel has 22 meeting rooms for 2-450, all with wireless internet access. Relax in the Scandic Star hotel's sauna or swim lengths in the indoor pool. Tee off at one of several local golf courses, including Akademiska Golf Club, 5 km away. All kids are welcome to Scandic Star. We always have pancakes for the kids and maybe you will even get a chance to meet up with Sigge - our mascot! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Hotel Star Lund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing