We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winstrup is like home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Winstrup Hostel

Winstrup Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Winstrup Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Vilnius, Vilniaus Apskritis, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Winstrup is like home”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Our stay at Winstrup hotel was an unexpected one, long term accomodation in Lund being hard to find, but it was amazing. It's located in the heart of the city, the staff is very friendly, the rooms are comfortable, the other visitors automatically felt like parts of a community. All in all, it's a great place, inexpensive too, considering.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Algirdas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    36
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
3
56
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lund
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

It is a very nice place in the centre of Lund. The area is clean and friendly. There is a nice kitchen that can be used and you can find there everything you need. The staff is also very nice and there is a wonderful breakfast! I recommend it for students and even families.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vaniilena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Me and the kids stayed at this hostel for 2 days. It was very modern and clean. There are lots of positif point the rooms super design and clean . The kitchen perect, wc very clean...un mot tres jolie

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Il Gzira, Malta
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Great hostel, location, guest kitchen, clean, working wifi, safe area, comfortable beds and reading lights plus outlets for each and everyone. Ensuite bathroom with 3 toilets and 2 showers in 8 bed dorms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Sometimes when your backpacking your body craves a little luxury. Nothing major, just some home comforts, showers not encased in mould, curtains which aren't translucent and plug sockets not occupied by the strange guy who never leaves his bunk (or laptop). Winstrup is that little piece of luxury.

Situated in central Lund, 5 minutes from the station and 3 minutes from supermarkets and bars Winstrup is a hostel haven. Shared facilities are brand new with dishwashers and 24/7 tea and coffee facilities in the kitchen, power showers and gel in the bathrooms. The beds are little pods with their own lights and power sockets that really add to you getting your own space. Couple this with knowledgable (and attractive) reception staff and you have a winner on all parts!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feldy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hostel for one night. It was very modern and clean. There are lots of toilets and showers which were all super clean and really modern and fresh. The kitchen area is quite big and cosy, but we didn't use it during our short stay. The bedrooms are really cool but the beds make a lot of noise when you're trying to sleep. The two beds we got were at the bottom and both of them were so squeaky we couldn't sleep in them, they made alot of noise as soon as you moved just a little bit or even breathed! Fortunately for us, there were no other guests in our 6-bed dorm so we could change beds and the one I finally slept in wasn't too squeaky. The top beds seems a bit dangerous to me. I ended up sleeping in one of these since the bottom beds made too much noise and I actually thought I would fall from it since there is no edge to stop you from falling if you would turn while sleeping! However, I slept very well and the pillows are very comfortable. There is air condition in the room and you can open the window so it was very comfortable even though it was super hot outside. The breakfast is not included but it wasn't too expensive and it was really delicious, even though it is served in a bakery a short walk from there (which was very close but a bit hard to find!). The hostel is very close to the train station and right in the city centre! The code system for front door and dorm doors is excellent! The young girl who works there is not very friendly and didn't smile... All that being said, I would warmly reccomend this hostel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotell Oskar L, Owner at Winstrup Hostel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi Martina,

First of all thanks a million for writing such a nice but also very constructively balanced review about us. This is exactly how we get input to constantly improve and become a hostel where all guests feel they have really had a great experience and that they have gotten good value for the money spent. Please let me respond to the things you did not like so much:

Noise from lower beds: You are absolutely right - noise from the lower beds have been one of our teething problems. The good news is that we have identified both the problem and the solution. So far we have re-built 15 out of 19 lower beds to be silent. By July 15 all beds should be done.

Dangerous top beds: We understand that some people may at first feel a bit scared about falling out from the top beds. We have during the first four months since we opened this spring been interviewing many people about this. Nobody has ever fallen out and the reason is that the "outer edge" is so wide (20 cm) and we have tried to roll over it while lying down, but it's impossible. The conclusion is that the beds are safe and they also look much better and are much easier to get in to if we don't put up some kind of fence, which of course is an alternative. For guests that still feel uncertain we always manage to provide a lower bed.

Finally we have talked to the girl who worked during your stay and also shown her this review. This remark is something we take really seriously - such behaviour is far from acceptable no matter how bad day you may have for whatever reason. After our discussions we feel very sure that this will not happen again in the future and I think that you can see from all other reviews here that we have great staff that are really service minded and professional.

Thanks again for your review and most welcome back to us next time you are in Lund!

Milla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was a very clean and neat hostel. I didn't do much searching for other places, but for what it's worth I really think this one can't be beaten. The reception desk was very helpful, the breakfast was fantastic, and there wasn't any racket at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotell Oskar L, Owner at Winstrup Hostel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Hi Daniel,

Thanks for your great review! We are really happy when our guests are happy! Even more so when they share their experience here at TripAdvisor for other people to read.

We are proud to offer a safe, clean and calm environment at Winstrup Hostel where a good night's sleep is followed by a great breakfast buffet at our new café just around the corner (that you have tried).

Kind regards,

Milla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lund hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotell Nordic Lund
Hotell Nordic Lund
#2 of 17 in Lund
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotell Oskar
Hotell Oskar
#5 of 17 in Lund
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lundia
Hotel Lundia
#7 of 17 in Lund
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Lund
Grand Hotel Lund
#6 of 17 in Lund
359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#8 of 17 in Lund
266 reviews
1.2 mi away
Elite Hotel Ideon
Elite Hotel Ideon
#3 of 17 in Lund
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winstrup Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winstrup Hostel

Property: Winstrup Hostel
Address: 3 Winstrupsgatan, Lund 222 22, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Lund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Lund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Winstrup Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High standard hostel right in the city centre of Lund. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Winstrup Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing