We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic dinner and personal service”
Review of Bantorget 9 - CLOSED

Bantorget 9
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$86
Cuisines: Scandinavian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Lund
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner and personal service”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a lovely dinner at Bantorget 9. We all had the meat menu with four courses and we were really satisfied with both the food, the wines and the service. It's good that we are now having a handful of top-notch restaurants in Lund. Well done Bantorget number 9 Team! We'll be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CreperietManagement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    30
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
1 review
“Exceeds all expectations”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is one of the best meals i've had in a long time!

We let our waiter decide both our food and wine, and speaking from experience, (been there twice now), thats the way to do it. The food and the wine complimented each other perfectly and the staff had impeccable taste and service throughout the evening.

Thank you!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NHLarsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hjärup, Skåne Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
142 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Bitesize Brilliance”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Having failed to notice this location had changed from a Thai restaurant to a restaurant serving Swedish food inspired by the season, our attention was directed here when we were invited by friends.
Our friends are foodies, meaning expectations were set accordingly.

I have never been to NoMa in Copenhagen, but I’ll dare to say that this is traditional (?) Swedish food created with a hint of Noma, without being a high falutin place.
Atmosphere is slightly above casual. I assume you can show up in almost anything, but even so I would check the mirror before leaving home. No need for suit and tie if you don’t feel for it though.

The staff is very friendly and service minded and they know what they are doing.

The restaurant uses local, organic and high quality ingredients as much as possible. This also means the menu is dictated somewhat by the season. This means you have an excuse to visit at least four times a year, and based on our first visit, I’ll bet you want to.

As with this type of restaurant, you don’t get the traditional full plate for the main course and ice for desert. We got a four course menu, each in a fair size.
They give three suggestions, one green, one fish and one meat, each with four courses, but you are allowed to mix and match as you see fit.

When it comes to wine, I’m not the specialist and thus I relied totally on the expertise of others. Everything we got was good; rosé, red and white.

If you want to try a place that is above your average restaurant standard but not in the NoMa price range, this is the place to go.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moretown
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

One of the best eating experience. The food was phenomenal and the atmosphere friendly and relaxed. The whole experience was great. The host was knowledgeable in suggesting drinks appropriate with the dining experience, and the waiter ( owner because the menu was only in Swedish) took all the time required to explain each dish and make suggestions. The 3 of us all chose different options and every option was fantastic. Ten days later, I catch myself still thinking about the presentation.

The best swedish food interpretation from our trip and not to be missed, the fennel bread.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisewex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bantorget 9 also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing