We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Few hours, great stay”
Review of Scandic Malmo City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Malmo City
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I was sleeping here just a few hours during an endurance competition. I came late, took a long hot shower, slept a few hours and left BEFORE breakfast was open. The few hours I spent there, I met one great guy in reception, he gave me a great room. It was large, well decorated with a comfortable bed and also silent, no sound where heard neither from neighboring rooms or the outside. The receptionist also gave me complimentary items from the "food court" since I was both coming late and leaving before breakfast so I could eat at my room both at night and early morning before continuing the competition. The check-in was fast and efficient, the check-out even faster (another guy in the reception, but not much people in line at 05:45 am). I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzztr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Malmo City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

Room:
Very nice and spacious room in soft colours equipped with kitchen incl. dish washer, micro and refrigerator.

Staff:
Helpful as always

Parking:
210 SEK in the hotel parking, 160 SEK in Parking house Anna on the other side of the road

Bar/restaurant:
After work every Friday 16-20 with a free light buffet.
The breakfast part seemed to small for the large number of rooms.
But once seated you will have plenty to choose from.

Room Tip: Former office building with long corridors. Try to get a room close to a elevator.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Swede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Our room at this hotel met our requirements in terms of adequate space, comfort and value for money and overall, our experience was positive. The breakfast range was extensive, staff friendly and efficient.
The hotel is reasonably located to shops, restaurants etc and within a 15 min walk from the train station.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WayneMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I was in malmo for business and stayed 2 nights in the Scandic Malmo City. Excellent location, will take about 5-10 minutes drive from central station (SEK 65) and also a walkable distance should you feel like it. Great service with left luggage facility. Room was a reasonable size with a kitchenette, dining area and microwave. Not a bad idea if travelling with kids. Modern decor, flat screen tv, wi-fi and nice bathroom.
near the main shopping area of Malmo and close to Triangeln Station ( 10min walk). The train from Copenhagen Airport stops at Traingeln en route to Malmo Central Station.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoneySmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We spent a thoroughly enjoyable long weekend in Malmo then Copenhagen, and our stay here certainly contributed. The hotel is in a great position and our room was fine - its very modern and minimalist and rooms contain a microwave and fridge - the downside is that there is less clothes hanging space - loads of wardrobe space but no drawers for clothes. Lovely big modern TV - bed a little on the small side for two and the duvet was similarly sized so that when either person turned over the duvet went with them. There was a spare duvet in the wardrobe which was usefully employed for the next 2 nights- so extra points there. The bathroom was roomy with a walk in shower area - the floor was heated so nice for the feet first thing in a morning and meant the shower area dried in no time.

The staff deserve a mention - those on reception were very friendly, enquiring about our journey on arrival and looking for a restaurant location for us. A brilliant addition to the weekend was the free use of bicycles from the hotel - if they were available you could use for 5 hours at a time. We had a great time making the most of seeing Malmo by bike.

Breakfast was included in the price and there was always plenty on offer and very varied - as well as bacon & eggs there were pancakes (the 1st morning only sadly), fresh fruit, hams cheeses, bread rolls, raw vegetables, cereals - we filled up on breakfast the first day and this took us through to dinner the first night, which helped save the pennies.

Altogether I think we got a great bargain in this hotel, a great location and friendly helpful staff. I would definitely stay here again if I returned to Malmo.

Room Tip: Book with the hotel direct
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C_Sutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and it was great the service in particular. We waited in the queue when we had a query, but solved it ourselves and they called up to our room to make sure that we were alright.

The sleep quality was fantastic and the breakfast was very filling and lots of variety. We were lucky to go when it was very quite, but I understand it can get busy.

Also the free internet really helped us a lot and it is the first hotel we have been to to provide this service.

If we go to Malmo again we will be staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jen1232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. THe room we got was room no. 150 on ground floor. It was a huge huge room with twin bed joined together, sofa set, Dinning table with chairs, Kitchenette with heating plate, microwave, toaster, all utensils, tea and even coffee maker, dish washer , seperate writting table and a plus point was flat screen big LCD tv. The bed was soft and good. THe bath was of good size , clean and good.Security was excellent. The breakfast was very good. THe staff was very very helping and ever smiling. I wonder how they smile the whole day long and are equally energetic at any given point of time. Particularly, Frida ad abbey on front desk are very helping.There is a clothes washing machine and drier on 7th floor which u can use for free. Iron and iron board are present in the room. The breakfast was excellent. One gets free bikes to roam around in the city. I explored Malmo on bicycles provided by the hotel. They are in excellent condition too. The hotel is located in city center. Overall a wonderfull experience. I have stayed at many places, but this experience was way above all. Nothing like this.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelmananup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Scandic S:t Jorgen
Scandic S:t Jorgen
#16 of 37 in Malmo
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#13 of 37 in Malmo
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Malmo City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Malmo City

Address: 1 Kaptensgatan, Malmo 211 41, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Price Range: £76 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Malmo City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Malmo City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing