We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the center of Malmö”
Review of Scandic Malmo City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Malmo City
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Ghent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the center of Malmö”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I felt like the queen when I opened the door of my room. So spacious, so brand new and so stylish. It has big convenient beds, a place to eat, a kitchen with a microwave and a dish washer. It was like I was staying in an appartment. The hotel is situated close to the city center and isn't that far from the train station either.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolidRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria W, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmo City, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Madame,

Such nice things to hear about your stay at our hotel. Hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Malmö!

Kind regards

Maria W
Guest Relations
Scandic Malmö City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    289
    115
    27
    15
See reviews for
253
129
39
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is the best hotel I've stayed in. It delivers more than expected.

Pros: Very friendly staff. Large room and bathroom. Large comfortable bed. VERY clean. Well located. A short walk from 2 train/subway stations (Central and Triangeln). Offers bicycles free of charge to ride around the city. Very nice breakfast. Affordable price. A lot of cafes and restaurants within walking distance.

Cons: I have nothing bad to say about the hotel. Had a very nice experience there. It's not right in front of the Central Station like other hotels, but it's really not a long walk, especially if it's not too cold.


Additional information/tips: It is a great hotel. Nice location where you can just walk around and enjoy a sunny day. There's a Jensen Bøfhus down to the left of the hotel if you like meat for lunch/dinner. A pub, a 7/11, a Subway (sandwich) and a bunch of Cafes (like Espresso House) to the left and north of the hotel.

Will surely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSG1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria W, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmo City, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your kind words. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Hope to see you again on your next trip to Malmö. Welcome back!

Kind regards

Maria W
Guest Relations
Scandic Malmö City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My family and I stayed at the Scandic Malmö City this past weekend while visiting friends in the city. We got a good deal by booking ahead and accepting the no refund price. We had heard that Scandics are family friendly but I didn't expect the extras. First, our room was enormous. It fit our bed, a sofa bed for two and an extra bed. (We had requested a crib for our 21-month-old daughter but a single bed had been set up. Within 10 minutes of asking for a crib at the front desk, there was one in our room.) It also included a kitchenette, which we did not make use of. Second, there is a play area off the dining room and our children played there while we took our time at breakfast (which, by the way, was fantastic - lots of choice, very fresh foods, impressive overall). Third, there is a little table with chairs in the lounge where our daughters colored and drew while we enjoyed a coffee. The staff were friendly and we had a relaxing stay. I would definitely recommend it to those traveling with children! Oh - and it was very central; only a 10-12 minute walk from the train station and close to the old town and within walking distance of a beautiful, huge park.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissSarah23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria W, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Malmo City, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Sarah,

I am happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

If you have plans of coming back to Malmö I hope to welcome you back here again.

Kind regards

Maria W
Guest Relations
Scandic Malmö City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kullavik
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed one night on a business trip with wife and daughter. Very big room, nice beds. The hotel seemed to be build of something else, former office complex maybe? Good service, nice beds, breakfast ok.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thorvald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria W, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Malmo City, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hello,

Our large rooms are very suitable for families who come to stay with us. I'm happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay. Welcome nack!

Kind regards

Maria W
Guest Relations
Scandic Malmö City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

When I got to this room I was surprised to find what was almost a small kitchen in my room. I like that feature, although I thought it was weird that there was no coffee or tea bags in the room, considering it had all other coffee and tea making facilites. I liked the room, it was simple and clean. What makes this hotel a 3 instead of a 4 for me is the noise that I heard on both nights as I was about to go to sleep. It sounded like noise from the radiator or water dripping from a height. I'm usually not bothered about noise when I'm gonna go to sleep, but there was no way of blocking this noise out.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JacobLinda_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria W, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmo City, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hello,

Sorry to hear about the disturbing noice, we have now fixed the problem.
Hope to welcome you back at another time when you are in Malmö!

Kind regards

Maria W
Guest Relations
Scandic Malmö City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I stayed there for two nights on my business trip. Great accomodations, excelent location (walk distatnce from train central station), stunning breakfast.
Thats for a pros
First thing I noticed, was right after check in. Guy at a reception desk didn't provide any information about hotel or services.
Second, there was no shampoo in my room, even after I ask for refill (they don't use small packs, instead there is mounted bottle on shower wall).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vojtěch L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria W, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmo City, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Hello,
we always try to provide hotel information at check-in. I am sorry to hear that you did not get the information you needed. We hope to welcome you back at your next stay in Malmö.

Kind regards

Maria W
Guest Relations
Scandic Malmö City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stunning accomodations, wonderful breakfast, the staff was fantastic, and it is located right on the city square...I fully enjoyed my stay there. It is walking distance from the train station, and walking to fantastic shopping is all close by.

Room Tip: There are two different styles of rooms, I wasnt a fan of the mahoganny style, though it was clean a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cjzany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria W, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmo City, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Hello,
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Welcome back!

Kind regards

Maria W
Guest Relations
Scandic Malmö City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Scandic S:t Jorgen
Scandic S:t Jorgen
#16 of 37 in Malmo
805 reviews
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Malmo City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Malmo City

Property: Scandic Malmo City
Address: 1 Kaptensgatan, Malmo 211 41, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Malmo City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Scandic Hotels, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Malmo City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing