We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Malmo City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scandic Malmo City
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Malmo
Adana, Turkey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

5 star quality in a 4 star hotel . i ve stayed there in August 2012 , Clean and comfort rooms , very kind staff. Peaceful stay in the most peaceful city in the world . Even it was festival time , hotel was so quiet and relaxing. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilker k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria W, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmo City, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Hello,

Thank you for giving us 5-stars. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Malmö!

Kind regards

Maria W
Guest Relations
Scandic Malmö City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    264
    103
    22
    13
See reviews for
218
123
36
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuopio, Finland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel is easy to find and it's located only a short walk away from the train stations of Triangeln and Malmö Centralstation.

The staff was always very kind and they vere very quick. The room was big and clean and the mini-kitchen was nice. It was very hot outside, so it was very nice to discover that the air conditioning worked well. The beds (incl. the sofa bed) were comfy and we slept very well. The free Wi-Fi was quick and worked well.

The breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. Althrough the restaurant was located in two floors, it was crowded. Also, the hot chocolate machine was out of service.

We really enjoyed our stay in Scandic Malmö City and are hoping to visit the city (and the hotel) again soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rappe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria W, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmo City, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Hello,

Such nice things to hear about your stay at our hotel. During the summer we have alot of guests so sometimes the buffet can be a bit crowded but we are working as hard as we can to provide a nice and inviting breakfast room.
Hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Malmö!

Kind regards

Maria W
Guest Relations
Scandic Malmö City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel is very close to the main pedestrian areas of the city.
You can reach the old city center in 2 minutes walking distance.
The rooms are spacious and clean.
Breakfast is in the restaurant on the 1st and 2nd floor and it is quite varied.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian_Ghetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria W, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmo City, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Hello,

Such nice things to hear about your stay at our hotel. Hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Malmö!

Kind regards

Maria W
Guest Relations
Scandic Malmö City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed in two seperate rooms, however 1 room could easily have had another bed and saved us money. Beds were comfy, clean and hotel was well looked after. Staff were helpful and friendly. The highlight has to be breakfast, a feast of food that catered for everyone and set us up for the whole day. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanPCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria W, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmo City, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your kind words, I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. I will let our breakfast staff know that you liked our buffet. Hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Malmö

Kind regards

Maria W
Guest Relations
Scandic Malmö City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We only stayed here for one night but would have no hesitation in staying again if we ever go back to Malmo. The hotel is located right at the end of a large shopping street and only a few minutes walk from plenty of restaurants, cafes and shops. There are also a couple of parks within easy walking distance which were lovely to walk around early on a Saturday morning - nice and peaceful.

The breakfast was good, with plenty of options. The room was a good size, with lots of facilities including a fridge and a microwave, and had a table and chairs. The bathroom was also very large.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank aenimiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria W, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmo City, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hello,

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Malmö

Kind regards

Maria W
Guest Relations
Scandic Malmö City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We went to the Scandic without a reservation when the Renaissance AC broke. They gave us a nice quiet room on a high floor with working AC and a great view of the bridge. This is the former Hilton and is very basic. No closet, just a bar to hang clothes. Basic bathroom. Ikea type furniture. Still, it was quiet and cool when the city was hot and humid. A good location and they recommended a fantastic restaurant within easy walking distance which probably was the best restaurant we ate at in all of Sweden and Denmark. Parking turned out to be very easy in the underground parking lot they share with the nearby shopping center. Probably a good thing the AC was out at the Renaissance since this was good.

Only real criticism is that the desk staff seemed clueless about what was going on in the city, events, restaurants, museum hours etc.

Room Tip: Get a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ijloewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria W, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmo City, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your feedback. Our staff try to keep updated with information about the city, but we can always improve.

I hope to welcome you back at our hotel next time you're in Malmö.

Kind regards

Maria W
Guest Relations
Scandic Malmö City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I usually choose a Scandic hotel, when I want smoothly service and guaranted quality. This hotel fulfilled my expectations. We had two superior rooms with kitchens on 6th floor. They were very spacious and there was also refridgerator. The hotel has renovated lately (2010?) and rooms are almost new. There is fast free wifi, extra pillows and good beds.

You can lend for free bicycles, if you want explore the city. Breakfast was the only reason I gave only four stars. It was ok, but lacked fresh fruits and bacon was not crispy. :) Usually there is something extra including breakfast in Scandic hotels. This time there wasn't any. Still I will stay here again, if I visit Malmö.

Room Tip: Superior rooms with kitchens are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AleksiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria W, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmo City, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay. I will inform our restautant manager regarding the breakfast.

I hope to welcome you back at our hotel next time you're in Malmö.

Kind regards

Maria W
Guest Relations
Scandic Malmö City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Gamla Staden
Scandic S:t Jorgen
Scandic S:t Jorgen
#15 of 38 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#10 of 38 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Malmo City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Malmo City

Property: Scandic Malmo City
Address: 1 Kaptensgatan, Malmo 211 41, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Malmo City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Scandic Malmo City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing