We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and super friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Malmo Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2012

A hotel that works with staff that know how to treat their clients. It is central in town with lots of restaurantes and bars within walking distance. The food in the hotel is also realy nice and the free internet works perfeckt. I realy recomend this hotel if you are in Malmo.

Room Tip: I had a room towards one of the back streets and it was quiet even with the window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjell magne n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Kjell,

thanks for taking the time to complete the survey and giving us the high rating!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 868 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

Chose a hotel near the station but were surprised to find we were on the edge of the scenic part of Malmo. We were given a slight upgrade as the receptionist warned us of late night noise. Room huge bed comfy, good pillows. Bathroom fine, I liked the walk in shower and loved the quality fluffy towels. Breakfast choice good but hot food not really hot enough. Desk staff pleasant. Only complaint the dreadful tea bag (it may have been stale) - I tried to make a cuppa (even bought fresh milk) but it tasted terrible. Suggest this chain try out Yorkshire tea or even Tetleys for their English guests!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Thanks for your feed-back, and will of course look into the tea issue, despite being a true
coffee consumer.

Once again, thanks for taking the time to give us feed-back!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This is a very worthwhile property to consider staying when in Malmo or Copenhagen area. Stayed here for 3 nights and easily commuted to Copenhagen and other parts of the Sound in both countries with an "Around the Sound" card and Copenhagen Card - both excellent value. The hotel itself is in a great location and is excellent value, but far from a top notch hotel for numerous small reasons. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with a large bathroom and the breakfast is wonderful. Had 2 dinners there and both were excellent with a great chef, although the menu is rather limited in choices. Where they fall short is in service, particularily in the restaurant where it was hard to get attention and contrary to what the sign at the entrance says, not once did they seat us at a table even when we were greeted. The Nespresso pods were not provided and in the evening, we only got 1 piece of fruit for 2 people - rather strange. The light switches are a bit weird; it took us 3 mornings to realize that the shut off by the bed also shut off all lights in the room so that no other light switch worked - which was super frustrating in the middle of the night and morning to use the bathroom. Also, with a power failure, the TV turns on by itself in the middle of the night. Couldn't get the a/c to function at all inspite intructions provided - but the room temp. was fine the whole time we were there thank goodness.

Not having a prestige lounge is quite disappointing even for a smaller property ... surely something that could have been planned for when the hotel was designed. This is another reason it cannot get top marks as a hotel.

Overall - a good choice especially for excellent value at a new, clean property with some nice facilities ... but far from a top rated or luxury hotel. Also, the look reminds me of a Radisson Blue or W hote (i.e. modern concepts) rather than the usual Renaissance look.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holy_Innocent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thanks for your rating, will have a look on the technical issues you brought to attention, as well as the other things you mention. Hope to welcome you back to Malmö and the Renaissance Hotel within the near future.

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Stayed 2 nights in august 2012.
The hotel is in a perfect location for central Malmo.
We booked a prestige room which is presented as a larger room on the website but they don't really do anything with the extra space - no extra furniture just a lot of empty floor space. For example two relaxing chairs in stead of one would have been nice.
Nespresso machine is mentioned as a benefit in a prestige room, but you have to call reception to get the nespresso capsules replenished - that is not done by housekeeping when cleaning the room.
Also turndown service is mentioned as a benefit of a prestige room but no turndown service what so ever was supplied!
Windows are mentioned as soundproofed on the website. Considering the hotel is new (opened 2010) the soundproofing of the windows leave a lot to be desired - which is important as the hotel is situated in a lively part of Malmo with a lot of nightlife.
The breakfast is quite good but the again the staff starts clearing the buffet 3 minutes past the breakfast time which is 10 am.
On the positive side staff is friendly, rooms are nice, beds are good and the location is perfect.
All the above are minor issues but put together it means that the the hotel is quite far from perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorbenFromDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Torben,

thanks for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor. I'll look into the issues you've commented on. Indeed our location is in the middle of the city, with with advantages as well as disadvantages, some guests prefer to stay in the more calm part which is facing Isak Slaktaregatan and Engelbrektsgatan, and of course we could have changed your room to a more quiet part if that was your desire. Despite our shortcomings I do hope you'll travel across the Öresund bridge again, and stay at the Renaissance Malmö hotel, please let me know, and I'll make sure your stay is more pleasureable.

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed at Renaissance Hotel Malmö for three nights. We enjoyed the very friendly staff and our kingsize bed in a nicely done up room. The bathroom is very nice too, although we first had to find out how to use the shower without flooding the floor.
The hotel is situated in the old town of Malmö near the "Lilla Torg" square with its nice restaurants and bars and it takes only 5 minutes to get to the train station.
This hotel is perfect to stay at on your city trip to Malmö!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnalenaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thanks for taking the time to complete the Tripadvisor survey!

Welcome back to the city of Malmö and the Renaissance Hotel

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I was extremely dissappointed with this hotel, espetially comparing to Marriott Copenhagen which is just 30 minutes by train from Malmo. Staff was not really friendly and professional. My card was charged at check-in for 2250 Sek by mistake and hotel staff was useless trying to return this this money.
There are no concierge services but my questions about jazz clubs in town suprised girl at reception and she could not recommend anything.
I was also suprised with the room service. Rooms were quite dirty and there was always a lack of shampoo and coffee in the room.
Finally they have charged me 15 Sek for the compliment water in the room - because they re-use the bottles and I should not ave thrown away it.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Stanislav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thanks for your feed-back, would appreciate if you could mail me and tell me a bit more about the bad service you experienced at our property, as you can see of other reviews our personnel usually gets extremely high rating. Please mail me at Jens.Lyckman@renaissancehotels.com

Once again, thanks for taking the time to give us feed-back, in our strive to be one of the best hotels in Sweden!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights in a deluxe room.

+ friendly, helpful staff
+ early check-in was possible
+ best possible location in Malmö
+ breakfast is great (wide choice, fresh)
+ value for money

- our room in the top floor had a very small window, almost no natural light
- parking was okay for this location. very small garage, no escalator from garage - only staircase and way through the bar to the hotel

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thanks for your feed-back, always highly appreciated!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
MJ's Hotel
#2 of 37 in Malmo
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#14 of 37 in Malmo
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Malmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Malmo Hotel

Address: 15 Maester Johansgatan, Malmo 211 21, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Price Range: £85 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Malmo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Malmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing