We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have asked for much more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Malmo Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My wife and I stayed in Malmo for 3 nights to watch Swansea City play football, but also to do some sightseeing of this wonderful little Swedish city. The best thing about the hotel has to be the location - literally 10 seconds away from the lively main square, but far enough away to avoid the noise. Only a 5 minute walk (or probably less than that) to the train station as well. Perfect. Whether the hotel is 4 or 5 star officially doesn't really matter, it is a gem of a hotel - excellent, spacious rooms with a massive bed, great bathroom with a shower that works (you'd be surprised how many hotels I've been to where they haven't) and great service. Although it's on the expensive side, which I suppose is inkeeping with Sweden as a whole, it was great value for money. If I'm being picky, the only downside was that there wasn't much choice on the TV, many 4/5 star hotels have at least BBC and SKY news, but this one didn't. Apart from that a great stay, highly recommended for a business trip or a quick getaway to a charming little city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joliff85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Malmo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

Pleasant staff; quirky building in a great location; details need finessing.
A short walk from the central rail station, approached down cobbled lanes. Easily walked if you're in decent shape - ten minutes tops - otherwise get a cab. Underground parking beneath the hotel; the streets are tight but the locals manage just fine. The upside to the location, beside proximity to the transport hub, is that you're bang on one corner of Lilla Torg - a square which is wall to wall restaurants and their outdoor seating - and seldom far from anything you'll want to see : Kungsparken is a few minutes away in a reasonably straight line, the technical museum and Malmöhus a few minutes on from that. Only the Torso is a fair walk, but again, very easy if you're in decent shape and you get to look in on the town's resurrection of its old industrial district and the marina and then explore the stylish suburbs and bistros out by the water overlooking the Öresund bridge. Beautiful place to enjoy the sunset.
Two downsides to the location, however. The hotel occupies an old block surrounded by other blocks of similar heights, separated by narrow lanes, so I can't see that any room has a view of anything except the neighbours. I was upgraded to a de luxe room which put me in the attic (4th floor) and the angled windows looked into the apartments on the other side of the lane. No loss to me; YMMV. Secondly, a square full of busy restaurants means noise and music, until the back of 1am Friday/Saturday/Sunday. It may be a summer thing, or because the Malmö Festival was on, but if you're a light sleeper ask for the corner furthest from Lilla Torg and hope for the best.
Marriott standard : hideously expensive wifi (over SEK170/24 hours for the fastest speed and two devices simultaneously); ditto breakfast (same price bracket; the usual American/European variety and quality was fine). If you're MR Gold/Plat these will be comped. No lounge, predictably.
The room layout was quirky and it felt small even by European standards, albeit because they've had to fit things around the guts of an old building. Not much storage for shopaholics or long term travellers. The minibar had snacks and drinks at the usual prices but they weren't precious about me replacing them with my own. Ice machine on the fourth floor. If you're cheap you've come to the wrong country, but if you want to stock up on drinks and nibbles the lowest prices I found were in the Coop attached to the station, not the concession inside it which faces the platforms.
Had one evening meal in the hotel, which was delicious but predictably expensive : roe starter, veal, no drinks apart from the comp water : SEK380. You have every variety of restaurant on your doorstep, including a TGI's for anyone hungering for flair, so no need to eat in if you don't want to. If you plan to eat in the hotel's Rosen bar/restaurant it may pay to book as it seems to be one of the 'in' places in town right now.
The check-in and out were quick, efficient and pleasantly handled and the room was always cleaned on time, so all that's left is niggles : some of the fittings in the room were loose and the main light was out throughout my stay, despite my request to have it fixed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank voronUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I spent two nights here as a family of 4. From the moment we checked in, the staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Given it was our first time to the area, we asked plenty of touristy questions and I never got the impression that we were a burden at all. Hands down, great staff!
The hotel itself was very clean, modern and centrally located for Malmo. We would easily stay here again if back in Malmo!

Room Tip: We were there during Malmo festival, so very noisy at night. Ask for a quiet room!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndyWheretonext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hotel is excellent in every respect, the room, the common areas,the bar, the breakfast. But most of all the people working there! Also it´s in a great location, very close to many restaurants and shops. We had a great stay in a lovely city!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I stayed here for business recently and enjoyed the hotel. Its in a great location if you get a few minutes to walk around town and rooms were clean and functional but not particularly spacious. I didn't have breakfast so cant comment on that!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkavanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Just returned from my proposal weekend in Copenhagen. I am a Marriott Platinum member and booked this gem a 30 minute train ride away. Jens, the general manager knew about my special stay and guaranteed me their extremely spacious prestige room (even when they seemed fully booked for the weekend)! He also personally gave us recommendations for great eats around town. Vanessa, the front desk manager, even prepared a congratulatory note with a bottle of Cava all iced up for us in the room.

All the staff were very friendly and service was very attentive. They sit you down for breakfast like you were going to a fancy brunch. Food was delicious with a full selection of bread, pastries, meats, cheese, fruits, coffee, fresh juices. Lots of hot food including pancakes. They even had smoked salmon!

Thanks Renaissance Malmo for making it a perfect engagement weekend. Book your special getaways here, you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ayc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Beautiful, modern and comfortable hotel right in the middle of cozy Malmø. Our room was large, tastefully decorated, with air condition, a comfortable bed, free wifi, great bathroom with heated floors, and everything we needed. Totally quiet at night in spite of being in the middle of the city. Hotel serves a great breakfast. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rikter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Rikter,

thanks for your nice feed-back, absolutely trhilled that you loved our hotel and product!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
MJ's Hotel
#2 of 37 in Malmo
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Malmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Malmo Hotel

Address: 15 Maester Johansgatan, Malmo 211 21, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Price Range: £83 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Malmo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Malmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing