We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night and it was great! Rooms are so good,bathroom has lot of space,and the carpet in the room is so soft :) Also,bed is very comfortable! Overall,sophisticated and modern,worth my money.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milica08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
There are newer reviews for Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

We were in Malmo for the World Junior Hockey tournament in December 2013. We had booked the hotel long in advance, without really knowing a lot about the city. The location of this hotel worked out perfectly for us. It was so close to the shopping/central area where there are tons of restaurants. Also walking distance to local museums, parks, and the Mollan district. Most of the hockey games for team Canada were at the smaller arena, which was also only 20-25 minutes walk. And on days we needed to take the train to the big arena, it's less than 10 minutes to walk to the Central Station. So couldn't ask for a better location.

We were also pleased with the hotel itself. It was clean, the beds were super comfy, the room was nice and dark at night, (we couldn't believe how late we slept while we were there compared to at home), and very quiet. We had also brought our own "top sheet" just because it's what we're used to in North America, and just spread it under the two separate duvets, and were wonderfully cozy. Apparently some rooms have been renovated - we visited friends that had hardwood floor, while ours had carpet (that had seen better days), so perhaps ask for a renovated room if you go. Some rooms also have bathtubs vs the shower. The shower is different from a North American shower, being open to the rest of the bathroom, but we had no issues with water getting everywhere. They don't have facecloths, so bring those along with you (we ended up buying some at one of the larger stores in the area).

Breakfast was great - lots of options, including the waffle maker, eggs, bacon/sausage, cereal, cheeses, meat, bread, juices, yogurt, fruit, etc.

The lobby/lounge area was nice to hang out in, and they had made sure to have a TV set up so people could keep up on the tournament and watch other games. The staff were helpful as well. One of the days, we had managed to lose our game tickets, so emailed the front desk and they reprinted them for us. They were able to assist with the public transit, directing us to the correct bus/train, and where to get the "jojo" card for discounted transportation.

Certainly no complaints, and would absolutely return to this hotel if we find ourselves in Malmo again in future. Lovely city - would like to go back when it is summer as I think it has a lot more to offer in summer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KitchenerShari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

After making a reservation at a less expensive but well regarded hotel, I cancelled that and opted to pay significantly more to stay here, thinking it would make for a nicer vacation. It was okay, but disappointing. Service was erratic. We had an ordeal trying to get our room cleaned the first day we were here. It required many calls and much wasted time. On numerous occasions when we telephoned the front desk, nobody answered, which is maddening.

The room was okay, but standard chain hotel fair. The beds were comfortable and made in the Swedish way, which I grew to like. The breakfast buffet was large, but grew monotonous in six days spent here. The food was the same every day. The same heavy, watery scrambled eggs, the result of sitting too long on the buffet. The only other eggs were hard and soft boiled. They have make-your-own Belgian waffles, but no maple syrup (maybe that's a North American thing, but they they offered syrup for our oatmeal at a hotel in Copenhagen and solid it at a grocery near the hotel). All there was to put atop the waffles was jam, Nutella, and whipped cream. Strawberries or some other fresh fruit would have been preferred if syrup wasn't available.

Our room was unbelievablyl inconvenient to access. We had to use two different elevators and walk down endless hallways with poor directions to get there. Our room was isolated on a floor with four other rooms in a different building than the rest of the hotel. Getting there each time was like going through a maze intended to torture travelers. I've never experience anything like that before.

I wouldn't stay here again and next till will opt for a smaller hotel, preferably not owned by a chain.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blake G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The location couldn't be better, the staff was very nice and helpful, great breakfast, nice rooms. Just a really, really great hotel. You're right smack in the middle of the shopping district, but it wasn't too noisy or busy. Great big lounge in the hotel that connects to a Bishops arms bar, with a great selection of bourbons :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelika O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Beautiful hotel and excellent staff very reasonable in price would definitely stay again they even accommodated our 2 year old son at the last minute lovely breakfasts and lots of choice very close to train station and the town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlotteross82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at the hotel Elite Plaza on Gustav Adolf's suare in Malmoe for two nights. This apeared to be a very central spot in Mablmoe. Walking distance to almoust everything. Our room was nice and overlooking tje square. Bathroom was like new with a bathtub. Breakfast was wonderful.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ClausLiisbergKamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The Elite offers a rather beguiling prospect. The Hotel accommodation is everything you'd expect from a 4* business style hotel, with everything you need and want , plus a couple of nice touches such as an iron and ironing board already in the wardrobe. th only niggle here is a robe would have been nice.
What sets the Malmo apart from it's competitors is the bar. It's more of a pub, with lots of cosy nooks and crannies to hide in while you cuddle your pint. Yes it is a pint, of real ale, some Swedish some British all good. The food is good/very good pub food and a really nice change from the obligatory room service club sandwich. And then there is the Whisky. I know about Whisky, I have to, it's my job. The range that Maja, who runs the bar has on offer is truly exceptional and one of the best I have ever seen, anwhere in the world.

Room Tip: Great burgers!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bowbutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Elite Hotel Savoy
#13 of 37 in Malmo
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Gamla Staden
Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo

Address: 49 Gustav Adolfs Torg, Malmo 211 39, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Price Range: £87 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo is centrally located on Gustav Adolfs torg, surrounded by restaurants and shops. The property was built in the late 1890s and is also known under the nickname "The Riviera" due to the white facade being reminiscent of the Mediterranean. Our hotel offers 116 tastefully furnished rooms with air conditioning which ensures that the room temperatures is pleasant all year round. The hotel is also equipped with a gym, relaxation area, six spacious conference rooms with a total capacity of 250 people and in-house parking garage. Next door you find our popular pub The Bishops Arms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing