We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect - a very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2006

The Clarion is a charming old hotel in Malmö's old town. The location is perfect for sightseeing but makes the hotel very tricky to access by car. The hotel also has limited parking capacity. A useful tip is to buy the Malmö card which gives free on street parking anywhere in town as well as access to museums and public transit (althougn not to Lund).

There seems to be an old and new wing. I stayed in the old wing facing the street. The ceilings were very tall and the window enormous. Hardwood flooring and quality wood furniture made the room feel elegant and cosy. The hallways feature alcoves housing African statuettes - a very unusual and lovely touch.

Common areas include a breakfast / dinner area which is a bit sterile but a series of lounges which look amazingly comfortable. They must be warm and welcoming in the winter.

Some room rates (all?) include a dinner buffet. The atmosphere is somewhat institutional, with bright lighting and long tables. Also, the buffet contains mainly salads. Main dishes are provided erratically. Day 1, some chicken thighs were available but ran out while we were having salad. 30 minutes later, staff returned with pork skewers. Day 2, the main course was soup with meat chunks that did not quite seem homemade. Alternatively, turn right from the main entrance and the cross streets as well as Lilla Torget contain many enticing restaurants. Bloom is a restaurant in the hotel building but it was closed in the summer.

One feature common to all Clarion hotels I have stayed at in Sweden is their strange internet policy. The hotel generously provides internet but only for for up to 8 CONSECUTIVE hours per day. It means that you must choose between accessing the internet in the morning or at night!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank TravelCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (812)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 812 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2006

We stayed in this hotel in Apr 2006. Malmo as a town is extremely quiet and relaxing. Included in our deal with hotel was a magnificent breakfast and also an evening meal so do pay the extra for the meals. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and even though the sauna was not working at the time of our stay, we had a really relaxing well fed few days. Central to everywhere, Malmo is tiny!!
Do Stay!!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank niamhcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2006

This hotel had everything I wanted for a trip to Malmo including:

- It was smack bang in the centre
- It was well priced for the quality
- It was modern and very well funished
- It offered free internet access
- The hotel staff were all friendly
- Nice shower/bathroom amenities
- Very quiet rooms/location
- Best bed I have ever slept in
- Free dinner buffet including alcohol!
- Located within walking distance of everything
- 7mins walk from Central station

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MR-Dublin-Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2005

I have stayed in this hotel afew times now. Last time i booked a mini suite and I must say all was perfect. The roomsize was above avarage (mini suite) and the colorscheme was very nice. Perfect location and hotel often offers very good deals. Breakfast is avarage. The hotel dont have a gym atm but offers a sauna for people who wants. If they could add some health club facilities this would be top notch.

I can warmly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling, and especially the mini suite, well worth the extra costs if your spending more than 1 or 2 nights.

7  Thank Hotelvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2005

This hotel was just perfect – modern, clean, comfortable, and with very helpful staff, just as the reviewers below describe.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Somerville_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2005

We've just returned from malmo and stayed in the Clarion. The location was great, just a few minutes walk from the central square "Lilla Torg", the beds were fantastically comfortable, good rooms and the hotel offered a free evening buffet meal, which proved very handy considering the price of eating an evening meal in the local restaurants. The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cymraeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2005

We stayed at the Clarion Hotel Malmo (formerly Hotel Temperence) on both our visits to Malmo. It is a fairly old building which has been renovated in the last 5 years in a very modern style - it's almost boutique. It is located on a fairly quiet street in the city centre close to the two main city squares. Opposite the hotel is a supermarket which is open late (9pm).

The rooms we stayed in were very comfortable and decorated in the modern scandivian style - picture high wooden headboards, (fake hopefully) animal rugs, lots of glass and metal. The bed itself was very comfortable. The room had all modern amenities. Being on a quiet street, noise wasn't a problem however the windows were double-glazed and there was no noticeable sound from ajoining rooms.

Staff were friendly and courteous. I made a point of asking for a modern room and the receptionist spoke good English and was happy to oblige. I think there were older rooms in another wing during our visits but could not be sure.

Breakfast was included in our rate and served in an elegant restaurant in which the decor was like a 'posh' restaurant - it doubled up as this in the evening. The food was hot and well-cooked and they did not run out significantly - bear in mind this is not a large hotel so individual items did run out.

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Malmo and, whilst we would not normally return to a hotel, we liked this one so much we did.

17  Thank Hywel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#13 of 37 in Malmo
1,379 reviews
MJ's Hotel
#2 of 37 in Malmo
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance

Address: 16 Engelbrektsgatan, Malmo 211 33, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Malmo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#13 Family Hotel in Malmo
Price Range: £94 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early-20th century 4-story structure - 35 min from airport, Sturup/Malmc. Free evening buffet 6-9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Malmö
Clarion Collection Temperance
Clarion Malmo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing