We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked most of the boxes”
Review of Elite Hotel Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elite Hotel Savoy
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014

No problems finding this hotel, located just metres from & directly opposite the city’s central railway station. Entering the foyer felt like walking into an old style grand hotel. Check in was quick with a minimal amount of information & the journey to our 6th floor room meant changing lifts on the 2nd floor. Our non smoking room was good, a nice size, clean, bright & comfortable. In the room, laminate floor, large wall mounted flat screen tv, good sized wardrobe, safe, minibar, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, workstation, folding luggage rack, tea/coffee/hot chocolate, tall mirror, good quality blackout curtains, desk lamp & bedside lamps. The bed linen was good but we found the bed to be a little uncomfortable with it being a spring mattress covered with a 75mm (approx) foam cover. No problems with noise from inside or outside of the hotel, plenty of natural light & room temperature was okay but maybe just a little bit too warm.
The bathroom was a nice size, clean, bright & modern with heated tiled floor, fully tiled walls, large shower enclosure & shower curtain with height adjustable shower head with good water pressure & plenty of hot water, good quality toiletries, plenty of towels, telescopic shaving/make up mirror, ceiling vent but no shaving socket.
Breakfast on Sunday till 11.00 was excellent with a massive choice. Self service, buffet style with sausages, bacon, meatballs, scrambled & boiled eggs, pancakes, cereals, yoghurts, nuts, seeds, grapes, fresh orange, grapefruit, pineapple, melon & kiwi slices, a selection of cold meats, cheeses, numerous salads, toasts, breads, biscuits, crackers, pastries, croissants, peppers, tomatoes, cucumber, coffee, flavoured teas, hot chocolate & fruit juices.
We went to the hotel’s Bishop’s Arms bar for drinks. A nicely designed bar which was busy with a nice age mix but quite expensive with 400mls of strong lager costing 64 Swedish Krone & half pints of light lager costing 49 Krones. Be sure not to sit close to the main entrance as the cold air that blasted in whenever somebody entered or left was not pleasant.
I went to reception in the mid afternoon to ask for some extra coffee & milk sachets & a bottle opener. No problem for the friendly receptionist on duty who gave me more coffee & milk than was needed & a bottle opener as a present. We didn’t have to check out until 1800 which was perfect for us seeing as our flight home from Copenhagen was at 21.30. When we did check out it was quick & friendly.
The hotel’s location is very good being, as already mentioned, very close to Central Station & also very close to The Stortorget & old town, numerous shops & restaurants. It wasn’t possible to change currency at the hotel but there is a forex office in the Central Station & a few more in the vicinity of the hotel.
We found a nice Indian Restaurant called Indian Side at Lilla Torg, just a few minutes walk from the hotel. We had a pleasant meal there with reasonable food & drink prices & it seemed to be popular with the locals. There is a supermarket in Central Station with very reasonable prices for snacks & beer, maybe a good option if a quiet night in the room with a beer or soft drink is the preferred choice.
All in all, a one night stay which was okay without being exceptional as my personal preference is for less formal hotels. The location alone makes it a great choice for a stay if visiting Malmo.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gaildorfblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a perfect location. Centralstation for trains to Copenhagen is just right across the bridge. The room(202, corner) is bigger than everage size of a hotel room in Europe. The room is well equipted and decorated. The bed is comfortable and the down pillows are so soft. There are a suana room and a small gym in a relax zone with complimentary fruit and drink in the hotel. Breakfast is pretty good for the price we pay. If you like traditional yet elegant style hotel with a cozy atmostphere on the best location with a reasonable price, Elite Hotel Savoy is definately the best choice for your Malmö-Copenhagen visit!!
We are also happy to share pictures from hotel and hope our review and photos will be useful for you and hope you have a nice trip as we do too! :)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pichika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I liked this hotel very much and slept two nights late November. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable, the Wifi worked well, the breakfast buffet was marvellous, and above all the staff were friendly. The bistro downstairs is a big plus, both for the atmosphere and the food and drink served.
On the downside the hotel was clearly in need of a redecoration, the rooms were a little worn. But this added to its charm. I would definitely return there. I liked it a lot.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This could easily be the best hotel in Malmö, if you consider the location, the size of the rooms and it's ancient history. Not to mention the famous guests that have passed through here. Unfortunately the hotel is in desperate need of a brush-up.
In two of the rooms the electronic outlets simply were not attached to the wall. Aside from that it is dangerous, I thought that it was symptomatic for this hotel. I could be top of the line, but it is in need of renovation and, not to forget, better interior structure. I have stayed in many hotels, and I constantly got lost looking for different places because of the windling corridors and the inferior sign-policy. I also have to add that the beds were excellent. They are always excellent in the Elite Hotels. I don't know if that's a policy, but they give good sleeping quality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yeoldwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Just returned this morning from this wonderful hotel. the room was spacious with a view of the city. breakfast was delicious and served in the beautiful bar. The hotel is ideally located - directly across from the train station and just around the corner from Lila Torg square where all the restaurants are. I will defenetly come back

Room Tip: a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elvira V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

We checked in on 21 June completely unaware that this was Midsummer Eve, which is similar to Christmas Eve in that shops close and people all return to their homes until Sunday. This meant a skeleton staff at the hotel, nonetheless we were really well looked after, breakfast was delicious and served in the beautiful bar. Our room was quite small but they changed this to a larger one without a fuss. The hotel is ideally located - directly across from the train station and just around the corner from everything you could want, and such good value! I'll stay here again.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SineadFog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Savoy is our preferred hotel in Malmo when leaving early from kastrup Airport, close to central station, nice rooms, nice service, fantastic breakfast, and in the middle of everything in Malmo city,what more coul we ask for

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlunofalkenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Gamla Staden
Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MJ's Hotel
#2 of 37 in Malmo
1,029 reviews
Scandic Kramer
#13 of 37 in Malmo
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Hotel Savoy

Address: 62 Norra Vallgatan, Malmo 211 22, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#12 Business Hotel in Malmo
Price Range: £71 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Hotel Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an intriguing history dating back to the 14th century, the carefully restored Elite Hotel Savoy is well positioned in the heart of Malmo, opposite the Central Train Station. The Bishop's Arms pub guests can experience a wide selection of genuine British whiskies and beers. Elite Hotel Savoy is well known for its beautiful and carefully restored rooms, comfortably equipped with many facilities including cable TV. All guests can enjoy complimentary wireless internet throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elite Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing