We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but not dated”
Review of Elite Hotel Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elite Hotel Savoy
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Lulea, Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Old but not dated”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Elite Hotel Savoy in Malmö is located just across the canal from the railway station. This is really walking distance if you have wheels under your bag. Street is widened outside hotel but only short distance and during rush hour full most of the time. I am not sure if hotel provide parking as I have not been driving here.

Entering Savoy you have breakfast room on right and reception on left. When I was staying there is was renovation work ongoing and restaurant was closed for dinners. I have had both rooms not yet renovated and rooms newly renovated. Both the renovated rooms and those not yet renovated are nice. It feels old but not in a negative way, more historical than dated.

Walking to the room can for some rooms be a hike. Elevator to floor 2 and then walk down half a stair to find connection to corridor to room and finally a few steps up to room. Still not far distance to rooms.

I have once stayed in a family room on floor 3 with view over Malmö Borshus and the sea beyond that. This was a big room not yet renovated with a baroque seating group, large desk and double bed. The wooden floor is squeaking as walking over it – more historical than dated.

I have found rooms’ too warm despite it has been early spring when I stayed here. I slept with open window but woke up in early morning as delivery trucks, garbage collectors or early motorcycles passed outside.

Breakfast has what you normally find in larger hotels – A wide selection of bread, ham, cheese, salami, cereals, meatballs, bacon, scrambled eggs, pancakes, yoghurt, juice, coffee, tea and if I remember correct you could make your own waffles. No egg station available.

In connection to hotel you have Bishop Arms where you find a good selection of beer and whisky. If walking toward “Stortorget” and “Lilla torg” approx. 150m you find a great variety of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JojjeIpoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    222
    87
    29
    8
See reviews for
60
179
47
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Very good hotel when you don't have a room to the street. That can be quite noisy in the morning hours. Seems like they've been rebuilding parts of the hotel. First time I stayed there I got a oldish room, still with a lot of charm but the best days had gone. Now I got a very new room with good standards. Quite small room but still in a absolutely ok range. All very fresh and clean. Good bed's. Got it for a lower amount then usually so I had, for swedish hotel price standards, a very good price for what I got. Big breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bambata123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed one night on a business trip to Sweden. Flying in to Copenhagen and a short trip to Malmö by train the hotel is located 100m from the station. I arrived way earlier than the normal check-in time but the hotel was kind enough to give me my room straight away without any extra charge.
The hotel is in an old building but the rooms are of good size and well appointed. To get to the 5th floor where my room was you have to change elevators on the third floor but that is easy to oversee and not really a problem. I found the bed very soft but that might be because I'm used to sleeping on hard asian hotel beds for the last 15 years...
Breakfast is great and there is a pub in the hotel where I had dinner. Quite expensive food but tasty.
It would be highly likely that I would stay here again if coming back to Malmö.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABjork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Now that the renovations are almost finished, it is a 'new' hotel compared with what it was only a couple months ago. Elevator completely redone. Had a big room with two large double windows looking out on the street. Coffee maker and fridge. I may have been the first one to use the bathroom- brand new chrome and tile everywhere. only one block from the central station and dozens of restaurants within a half mile.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel- side street noise less than main street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve32480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had read the reviews before we went, so we were a bit unsure what we might get, but as it is close to the station and was part of the hotel/flight deal it looked like a good choice.
As other reviews have said it is an old building so obviously has its faults compared to a modern purpose built building, it needs a slight upgrade I think, and this looks to have been done in parts of the hotel.

The lift was working.

It is a great place to stay – I have two criticisms I would have would be lack of aircon in the room, however we opened a window to cool the room down, and the size of the room, we had room 311, which is an inner room overlooking the court yard, which if you look at my pictures is small for two people, and lacked wardrobe/clothes hanging space, the good thing about is that the ice making machine is just outside the door.

Breakfasts are fantastic, and the price was right, would stay there again.

Room Tip: For the view get a front facing room, but it could be noisy, for the quite room get a courtyard room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 126iana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Excellent hotel (it would be as being part of the Elite Group). It is an old building so obviously has it's faults compared to a modern purpose built building.

Great place to stay - only criticism I would have would be lack of aircon in the rooms which is unacceptable for a 4* these days.

Breakfasts are fantastic.

It is needing a slight upgrade I think. I prefer at the sister hotel the Plaza.

The beds and pillows are fantastic.

Room Tip: Get a front facing room if you want a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edinpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
266 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Really disappointed stay. My colleague and I were looking forward to staying here and it turned out to be a big disappointment. The chap on reception was extremely kind and helpful and we almost felt sorry for him having to tell us that the lift wasn't working and that the hotel was in the middle of refurbishment.

My room was tiny and very dated and the wifi non existent (apparently that was being renovated too!). No international TV channels other than CNN either.

Breakfast was actually OK but don't come here until the work is finished as currently it's pretty shabby.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo
Gamla Staden
Elite Hotel Residens
Elite Hotel Residens
#19 of 37 in Malmo
274 reviews
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#11 of 37 in Malmo
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Hotel Savoy

Property: Elite Hotel Savoy
Address: 62 Norra Vallgatan, Malmo 211 22, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Malmo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#12 Business Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Hotel Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an intriguing history dating back to the 14th century, the carefully restored Elite Hotel Savoy is well positioned in the heart of Malmo, opposite the Central Train Station. The Bishop's Arms pub guests can experience a wide selection of genuine British whiskies and beers. Elite Hotel Savoy is well known for its beautiful and carefully restored rooms, comfortably equipped with many facilities including cable TV. All guests can enjoy complimentary wireless internet throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elite Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing