We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried to book but they had weird policys!”
Review of Elite Hotel Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elite Hotel Savoy
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2009

I had looked at the webpage of the Savoy and their rooms looked wonderful. I checked if the dates i wanted to stay were avaliable and they were, although only the "Deluxe rooms" for about $170. OK, so thats alot of money but I thought the room on the picture looked well worth it.

Then I looked at some of the other photos of the Deluxerooms and there were ones that hadn´t been re-made since god knows when. Soooo...having had faced this situation before (booked one style and gotten a complete different one) I called the hotell and said that I looooove the new style of the rooms and was wondering if they could guarantee me a stay in one of them.

"No can do" was the answer. He said that it's "usually not a problem to get the kind of room you want" but that they can't guarantee anything. He also sounded very annoyed that I thought it was important. I mean -the difference is HUUUUUUUGE for paying the same price.

Arghhh, I was so angry...have to find a hotel that can guarantee that you get a nice room.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank Christine_JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2009

I stayed at the the Savoy for two nights and it evokes an air of days-gone-by, and dates back to the nineteenth century. It's a bit of a rabbit warren to the bedroom, and mine was quite small with two cupboards - one containing the shower, the other the WC and basin.
The breakfast was - I was going to say "served" - but it's buffet style in the brasserie.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Location is perfect - opposite the station, and midway between the old town with its lovely squares and parks, and the up and coming ex-docklands with its interesting architecture and walks along the water's edge. From 2011, the train journey from Copenhagen will be cut by 20 minutes as a major tunnelling project is under way.
I would have liked to have stayed another day - there was so much to explore. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deejaysee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

I was coming from Copenhagen to Malmo just for an overnight stay before I went to Stockholm. There were a few sights I wanted to see and I figured I could stay here a few hours before I took the train to Stockholm.

The hotel is simple to find if you take the train over to the main station. I came out the side entrance or exit and it was really just across the street/bridge. Checked in no problem. Nice friendly front desk. Went to my room #604 which is a half floor in between 1&2. Room wasn't huge but it was clean comfortable and had everything I needed. I mean I stayed pretty cheap here and it has a nicer tv than I do. I left my stuff and ventured out. 20 min walk to the Turning Torso. You can see it from the front of the hotel. Went all around the area just behind the hotel. Tons of shopping. Came back in at night. Took a nytol and went to sleep... for 13 hours! Woke up @ 5 mins before checkout. I called down to the frontdesk to explain that I was going to be about 10 mins, we both shared a laugh and I was down there shortly to checkout.

Oh and it has free internet. That was huge.

So yeah, great experience for my one night @ the Savoy. If you're taking the train and want to be close, this is for sure your best bet.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedHotLugNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2009

Stayed for one night at the Elite. The location is great - just opposite the central station and close to shopping and Vesträ Hamnen. The staff was friendly. We got room 602. The room itself was okay - a little weary though - but the view was poor. But we survived for one night. The breakfast was great and complete. For the price the hotel was a good bargain.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikkelbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

I have stayed at the Elite Hotel Savoy now two times. First in business and now with my girlfriend and both times the hotel has exceeded my expectations. Perfect location opposite the central train station which is very convenient when arriving by plane at Copenhagen Airport, 20 min by train to Malmö and then 50 meters walk to the hotel. The rooms are very nice and my girlfriend and I had a lovely dinner at their restaurant. Free Wireless Internet all over the hotel is also a plus. Friendly staff!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carl1978298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

The hotel is located right opposite Malmo central station which is great. Went to our room to find the curtain rail broken, went to reception who changed our room for us straight away, so no problems there. The hotel has so many rooms, its like a maze to find your room (we had 2 lifts), but all was fine.
Both rooms we saw I wouldn't say were 4 star rooms, but they were absolutely fine for us, a young couple looking for somewhere to sleep! Rooms were comfortable and clean, and a very good size. Bathroom was good, and the bed was soo comfy, I had a great nights sleep!
The breakfast in the morning was amazing! All you could eat! Was definitely one of the best hotel breakfasts I've had, they had everything from hot stuff to cereal to yoghurt to rolls with ham and cheese! Great choice!
I would say that the hotel was quite good value, although like I said I dont think our rooms were quite the 4 star we were expecting, although still very nice.
All in all a very nice stay though, recommended!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurameee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2008

I stayed at the Savoy for a business trip. It was perfectly located within walking distance from the Central train station...even in the snow :-). It was a clean hotel with a friendly staff. Staying with colleagues, it seemed the room sizes weren't consistent even though we all booked the same class of room. My room was comfortable and roomy and I was pleased. It is centrally located to a lot of things you can do in Malmo and walkable from pretty much everywhere.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank timheuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Gamla Staden
Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#12 of 37 in Malmo
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Hotel Savoy

Address: 62 Norra Vallgatan, Malmo 211 22, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#7 Family Hotel in Malmo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#12 Business Hotel in Malmo
Price Range: £81 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Hotel Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an intriguing history dating back to the 14th century, the carefully restored Elite Hotel Savoy is well positioned in the heart of Malmo, opposite the Central Train Station. The Bishop's Arms pub guests can experience a wide selection of genuine British whiskies and beers. Elite Hotel Savoy is well known for its beautiful and carefully restored rooms, comfortably equipped with many facilities including cable TV. All guests can enjoy complimentary wireless internet throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elite Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing