We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For being an Elite, it does not live up to its name”
Review of Elite Hotel Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elite Hotel Savoy
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“For being an Elite, it does not live up to its name”
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Great location. Across the street is the train station. Around the corner and you are on your way to downtown so it is walking distance, The rooms are ok.Very average. expected much more since it is Elite Hotel. Some floors are in between the floors that have elevator stops so you have to carry your suitcase and it is couple of stairs to carry. Hopefully you know what i mean. its like the elevator stops every other floor.Remember however this is an old building so i guess this is the best they could do.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t0309999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    221
    85
    29
    8
See reviews for
60
177
46
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

I stayed here for one night in one of the junior suites and thought it was fantastic. The staff were very helpful and the room was amazing. The location is perfect for meandering through the centre. I will definitely be coming back to stay, couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kel1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

I've stayed at the Savoy about 10 times the past years, both in business and together with my family.

It's a great, classic hotel with standard Elite quality. Yes, there are both old style and new style rooms but there's no difference in standard (as implied by another writer). I actually prefer the old rooms with the old style, the wonderful floors and the classic furniture.

Things to consider:
- If you're easily woken by traffic or random shouting (weekends) you should stay away from the rooms on the lower floors facing the street.
- The rooms on the top floor are wonderful but if you get a room with a connecting door you will hear everything happening in the other room...

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elite_Hotel_Savoy, Sales Manager at Elite Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, 2 February 2010
Hi Carl016!
Thank you for your review.
As you correctly are mentioning the Elite Hotel Savoy has both classic furnished rooms and rooms with a more modern touch. This is because we have a wide range of guests and some prefer a more modern setting and some the classic ones. In all rooms however, we are trying to keep the feeling of individuality, high standards and personal touch which Savoy has been known for for more than a hundred years.

We are actually in this moment renovating another 17 rooms to raise the overall standard even more. The rooms will be ready late February 2010 and you are of course more than welcome to try them out on you next visit.

Kind Regards
Anton Hallström
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

I had looked at the webpage of the Savoy and their rooms looked wonderful. I checked if the dates i wanted to stay were avaliable and they were, although only the "Deluxe rooms" for about $170. OK, so thats alot of money but I thought the room on the picture looked well worth it.

Then I looked at some of the other photos of the Deluxerooms and there were ones that hadn´t been re-made since god knows when. Soooo...having had faced this situation before (booked one style and gotten a complete different one) I called the hotell and said that I looooove the new style of the rooms and was wondering if they could guarantee me a stay in one of them.

"No can do" was the answer. He said that it's "usually not a problem to get the kind of room you want" but that they can't guarantee anything. He also sounded very annoyed that I thought it was important. I mean -the difference is HUUUUUUUGE for paying the same price.

Arghhh, I was so angry...have to find a hotel that can guarantee that you get a nice room.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine_JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

I stayed at the the Savoy for two nights and it evokes an air of days-gone-by, and dates back to the nineteenth century. It's a bit of a rabbit warren to the bedroom, and mine was quite small with two cupboards - one containing the shower, the other the WC and basin.
The breakfast was - I was going to say "served" - but it's buffet style in the brasserie.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Location is perfect - opposite the station, and midway between the old town with its lovely squares and parks, and the up and coming ex-docklands with its interesting architecture and walks along the water's edge. From 2011, the train journey from Copenhagen will be cut by 20 minutes as a major tunnelling project is under way.
I would have liked to have stayed another day - there was so much to explore. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deejaysee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

I was coming from Copenhagen to Malmo just for an overnight stay before I went to Stockholm. There were a few sights I wanted to see and I figured I could stay here a few hours before I took the train to Stockholm.

The hotel is simple to find if you take the train over to the main station. I came out the side entrance or exit and it was really just across the street/bridge. Checked in no problem. Nice friendly front desk. Went to my room #604 which is a half floor in between 1&2. Room wasn't huge but it was clean comfortable and had everything I needed. I mean I stayed pretty cheap here and it has a nicer tv than I do. I left my stuff and ventured out. 20 min walk to the Turning Torso. You can see it from the front of the hotel. Went all around the area just behind the hotel. Tons of shopping. Came back in at night. Took a nytol and went to sleep... for 13 hours! Woke up @ 5 mins before checkout. I called down to the frontdesk to explain that I was going to be about 10 mins, we both shared a laugh and I was down there shortly to checkout.

Oh and it has free internet. That was huge.

So yeah, great experience for my one night @ the Savoy. If you're taking the train and want to be close, this is for sure your best bet.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedHotLugNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2009

Stayed for one night at the Elite. The location is great - just opposite the central station and close to shopping and Vesträ Hamnen. The staff was friendly. We got room 602. The room itself was okay - a little weary though - but the view was poor. But we survived for one night. The breakfast was great and complete. For the price the hotel was a good bargain.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikkelbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#11 of 37 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Hotel Savoy

Property: Elite Hotel Savoy
Address: 62 Norra Vallgatan, Malmo 211 22, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#7 Family Hotel in Malmo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#12 Business Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Hotel Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an intriguing history dating back to the 14th century, the carefully restored Elite Hotel Savoy is well positioned in the heart of Malmo, opposite the Central Train Station. The Bishop's Arms pub guests can experience a wide selection of genuine British whiskies and beers. Elite Hotel Savoy is well known for its beautiful and carefully restored rooms, comfortably equipped with many facilities including cable TV. All guests can enjoy complimentary wireless internet throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elite Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing