We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Master Johan is Your Uncle”
Review of MJ's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MJ's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I've been to Malmo many times on account of often visiting family in Copenhagen. It's a great little town to shop and have a coffee, but this was the first time I stayed overnight.

Master Johan is distinctly Swedish, from the understated yet tasteful interior to the gentle smile of the front desk staff to the traditional blue china used at breakfast.

We were upgraded to a business room, very kind of the reception desk. The room was on the 4th floor in the corner a large bright space with an equally Swedish feel to it: a large wooden sleigh bed with a luxurious down duvet and delicate cotton linens; a large sitting area with white couches; even an office corner with a wooden desk and comfortable chair.

The best part was probably the bathroom simple while tiles with small diamond-shaped blue glass accents along the top and sparkling brass faucets and accessories. The added bonus was that you could plug your iPod in through the TV and listen to it through the speaker in the bathroom while relaxing in the bath...it's all in the details!

But it gets better still when you go downstairs for breakfast. It's served in a delve-service kitchen where you can choose from a variety of breads, spreads, cheese, meat, fruit, anything you can think of. Ah, and do you prefer your eggs boiled 3 minutes or 6? The choice of hot items freshly made on the stove just in front of you was impressive too.

I don't think a place like this even exists across the bridge in Copenhagen and certainly not for the same price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juli Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Master_Johan, Owner at MJ's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Juli,

I was so happy when I read you review. It felt like you reely understood what Master Johan stands for. We are mabye not the most modern hotel but we hope to be the most cozy.

Best Regards
Nina Ulvinen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (938)
There are newer reviews for MJ's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

Just like everyone else said, staff was friendly, breakfast was good, room was huge. Not the most modern hotel but everything was good, not exceptional but not much to complain about. One super annoying thing - the Internet logs you out every single time. I had to log in about 50 times over the course of two days... Completely unnecessary.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LisaChristen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Master_Johan, Owner at MJ's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you for your rewiev.
We are working on the problem with the wireless and hope to have it fixed as soon as possible,

Best Regards
Nina Ulvinen
Hotel Mäster Johan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Very well run, peacful hotel in an excellent location. We had a generous sized room for the 3 of us. Very reasonably priced (for Sweden). Good breakfasts, and staff could not have been more helpful. Recommended, especially for families.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brummie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Master_Johan, Owner at MJ's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Thank you very much,
I hope to see you soon again.

Best Regards
Nina Ulvinen
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Lovely hotel. Solid, quiet and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Easy walking around the city and close to restaurants and stores. the breakfast buffet was good - I don't like a lot of fuss so it suited me. I would go back in a second.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TAMember08232012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Master_Johan, Owner at MJ's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Thank you very much, this is just what we would like our guests to feel.

Best Regards
Nina Ulvinen
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Great hotel with very helpful staff. Free coffee all day which helps with high cost of Sweden! Right in town near Lilla Torg so you can walk everywhere. I would definately stay here again. Breakfast is fabulous and was included in price.

Room Tip: Take what you get
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drjackyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Master_Johan, Owner at MJ's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Nice to hear that you enjoyed you stay.
I hope to see you back with us soon again.

Best Regards
Nina Ulvinen
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This isn't a trendy hotel. As other reviewers have noted it has daggy marble bathrooms and a pretty dated lobby. However none of that matters in the slightest when the rooms are so comfortable, every little detail has been thought of and the service is so great. We had a superior room and it was probably about 50sqm - it had an entry area, queen bed, a lounge area with lounge + two arm chairs and a separate study. The rooms are elegantly fitted out with Persian rugs, white linen lounges and antique furniture. Rare for Swedish hotels there were tea/coffee facilities in the room. The lighting was thoughtful and perfect for working or reading in bed. The cleaning/presentation each day was immaculate. The breakfast was delightful and a real highlight - beautifully displayed, lovely hand written signs and eggs/pancakes made to order. The lobby area is bright and comfortable, with free tea/coffee - perfect for reading/working in the afternoons. We only stayed two nights at the hotel in transit to Stockholm, but we ended up enjoying this hotel so much more than the overrated design led Hotel Skeppsholmen in Stockholm. Thank-your for such a lovely stay.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are absolutely enormous. Definitely worth the extra if you are traveling with a l...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miffy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you very much for this lovely review. We hope to see you again when you return to Sweden.

Best Regards

Nina Ulvinen
Owner
Hotel Mäster Johan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Lovely centrally located little hotel that is now getting a bit old. On my recent third visit in about 10 years it is now apparent that Mäster Johan is in need of an upgrade. Especially the bathrooms are not on par with what you would expect from a hotel like this.

Nice (not necessarily professionally trained) staff, good breakfast and good fast wifi connections. Bang & Olusen tv set and phones may be fun for designer nerds but start to feel a bit dated as well.

Two of Malmoes best restaurants are on the very same block and street. The meat bonanza Bast*rd and the seafood haven Johan P. Most restaurants around Stora and Lilla Torg are to be avoided for the typical Mäster Johan clientele.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Arneby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you very much for you review.
I’m sorry to hear that you find us a bit out dated. We try to keep our self as classical as possible and don’t follow trends as much as other hotels. But of course it’s important not to be old fashion.

Best Regards

Nina Ulvinen
Owner
Hotel Mäster Johan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#13 of 37 in Malmo
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MJ's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MJ's Hotel

Address: 13 Maester Johansgatan, Malmo 211 21, Sweden (Formerly Master Johan Hotel, BW Premier Collection)
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Malmo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#9 Family Hotel in Malmo
Price Range: £89 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MJ's Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MJ*S is a modern boutique hotel with 69 rooms. Constructed following time-honoured guidelines to give our guests the perfect atmosphere for living pleasure. Our goal is to offer the very finest in personal service and consideration. Mäster Johan is centrally located, within easy walking distance to the Central Railway Station and trains to Copenhagen Airport, buses and a wide variety of excellent restaurants. Visit our web page for our best prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your MJ's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Malmo
Malmö Best Western
Best Western Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing