We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Master Johan Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best in town”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This the best hotel in Malmö without exception. Perfect position, no far from the train station and close to the tiwn center

Breakfast is the main feature, second to non

I Have stayed there several times on business but I even use it private/ family visits to Malmö

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wnchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    228
    57
    17
    2
See reviews for
94
378
33
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I went here for a short easterholiday with my girlfriend. The rooms a large, clean and very well equipped. The staff is extremely kind and helpful. Breakfast stands out as one the best and cosiest ever! I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jobbens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljunghusen
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Mäster Johan must be one of the best hotels in Malmö. The sound insulation is really top of the line, there is not much you can hear from street or other neighbouring rooms. Really pleasant staff, nice fresh breakfast. Even the bed and pillows were to my taste. It's a small and cosy hotel, highly recommended. It's located just in the center of action in Malmö, plenty of shops, pubs and restaurants just around th corner.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
239 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We booked a room at this hotel on the strength of the Tripadvisor rating. I fail to understand how this hotel can be so highly rated. Our room was a "Superior" room - cost about 2400 kr, so not cheap by any means - the view was of some windows and a wall. Admittedly the room itself was very good - clean and spacious, but for that money, honestly, a view of some sort would have been nice. I had pre-booked parking (260 kr a day) but upon arrival was told my Volvo with roof box would not fit in the car park. I asked where I could park otherwise and was told - "in the streets or the square". The long-life milk in the room was months out of date and ruined our coffee. We had our two young children with us so decided it easiest to eat at the hotel. But this hotel has no restaurant. They do however have a limited evening menu - and you can eat in the soul-less atrium area where they fail to even light the candles on the tables - we were the only people there. And the food here can only be described as scandalous. Vile rubbery microwaved lasagne at 155kr. And "fish and chips" that was more like two burnt deep-fried fish fingers and revolting chips. We asked for ketchup and were given an almost empty bottle. When we asked for more another almost empty bottle was dumped on the table.Reception was manned by some young people who were fairly helpful and friendly but this was overshadowed by the miserable person who seemed to be their supervisor. Breakfast was good - but we were charged 75 kr "children's breakfast" because our 3 year old ate a small bowl of yoghurt - this they failed to mention before breakfast. They also tried to charge for a child's bed which we did not have. But we will most definitely not be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - any view. And eat dinner at a restaurant, not at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swedensm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Master_Johan, Owner at Master Johan Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear Sir,
I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We are a city hotel in the old part of Malmö and I can honestly say that we do not have a nice view since the hotel is only 4 storeys high. I’m sorry if we mislead you in some way.
If you only hade a Volvo with a roof box I don’t understand why they couldn’t bring it down in the garage but if it was a SUV with a roof box it doesn’t fit and the only place to park then is on the square or in the streets. I’m very sorry about this.

I’m also sorry to hear about the food and the way it has been served to you this should not happen. It’s true that we don’t have a restaurant but that doesn’t meen that we should serve the type of food that you describe again. I will definitely look this over.

I hope you will be returning anyway and give us a chance to make it better. Please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards
Nina Ulvinen
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
165 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The hotel is nice with very nice staff, always with a smile on their faces. The room I stayed in was spacious and clean, comfortable bed and a nice bathroom. I nice brick wall was a nice touch in the room. The atrium was also very nice and airy.
It is within walking distance to the central station with trains to/from Copenhagen airport and to the central of Malmö.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaladaVerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I arrived here after a long trip from London via Copenhagen. It was nice to arrive in a clean, comfortable and very stylish hotel after such a long trip and be able to relax. It is also incredibly quiet which is a bonus, despite its central location.
I have to add that the guy on reception (not sure of his name sorry) was also extremely helpful giving me very detailed directions how to find the hotel from the Central Station. This was appreciated (it's also very easy by the way!).
The double doors on the room give an extra sense of security and the room was enormous.
Unfortunately I didn't have a chance to sample the breakfast as I had a breakfast business meeting elsewhere in Malmo, but next time I will stay and make sure I do.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GorillaFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I've chosen Hotel Master Johan because of good reviews in tripadvisor. Soon I understand why people liked this hotel.
I've planned to visit Malmö for Placido Domingo and Muse concerts. I've arranged everything flight tickets, hotel reservation but not able to buy concert tickets. So I wrote to Hotel Manager and owner Mrs. Nina Urvinen to help me. She responded immidiately and bought concert tickets for me. Thanks a lot Mrs. Urvinen !
The Hotel itself is worh staying. Very central location, clean, spacious and comfortable rooms, very god breakfast buffet, 24 hour complimentary coffee and tea service etc...
If you are going to Malmö, go and stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ENTsinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Master_Johan, Owner at Master Johan Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
I realy hope that you enjoyd the concert. Do not hesitat to contact me again if you are ever in Malmö.

Best regards

Nina Ulvinen
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance
Quality Hotel View
#4 of 37 in Malmo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Master Johan Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Master Johan Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Master Johan Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: 13 Maester Johansgatan, Malmo 211 21, Sweden (Formerly Master Johan Hotel, BW Premier Collection)
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Malmo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#9 Family Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Master Johan Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mäster Johan is a modern boutique hotel with 69 rooms. Constructed following time-honoured guidelines to give our guests the perfect atmosphere for living pleasure. Our goal is to offer the very finest in personal service and consideration. Mäster Johan is centrally located, within easy walking distance to the Central Railway Station and trains to Copenhagen Airport, buses and a wide variety of excellent restaurants. Visit our web page for our best prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Master Johan Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Malmo
Malmö Best Western
Best Western Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing