We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Best place to stay in Malmo--or maybe all of Sweden” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Master Johan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Master Johan
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Beaverdam, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolute Best place to stay in Malmo--or maybe all of Sweden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Location was great--just away from the city center--quiet. Décor and atmosphere were perfect. Staff was helpful and the rooms were large and comfortable. We walked from the train station and walked to the car rental place. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious! I can't say enough about this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    213
    56
    17
    2
See reviews for
85
356
32
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kinna, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The location first: smack in the middle of town, only a block away from a bustling city, but as quiet as a country inn. In other words, a good night's sleep. The room itself was fabulous. The double door guarantees both quiet and safety; a very comfortable king-sized bed; a suprisingly luxurious bathroom, including a bathtub that has to be experienced to be believed (yes, with floating duck and tubside candle for illumination, if so desired); coffee maker; complimentary bottles of chilled water; and so on and so on. As for the personnel, they couldn't have been more accomodating, even to the point of providing us with a little parcel of food to take with us on the train, as we had to leave the hotel, alas, before breakfast was served. Having seen what was on offer, we think we'd be returning to the Hotel Mäster Johan if only to enjoy that sumptuous breakfast buffet! All in all, a perfect jewel of a hotel, service and comfort in the grand tradition. You just can't find hotels like this anymore -- or so we thought!

Room Tip: I can only speak from experience: room 401
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rovinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I had the pleasure of spending 5 nights at this wonderful hotel in April this year and I simply loved it.

The location is outstanding!

Transport - Mere couple of minutes walk from the main train-station and where the train from Copenhagen airport arrives and only 3-4 minutes walk from Gustav Adolfs Torg where there are plenty of buses.

Shopping and restaurants - you have one of the busiest squares in Malmo, with some excellent restaurants and bars, literally on your doorstep, 30 seconds walk at a push :)
As for shopping you are right at one end of the main pedestrian streets in the center of the city where you will find every shop imaginable for as long as the eye can see.

The hotel itself -
I had a single room and I can tell you it would have comfortably accommodated two people and it was bigger than plenty of double rooms that I have stayed in.
The bed was large and comfortable.
My window faced the interior atrium courtyard and due to the fact that the weather was spectacular during my whole stay the room did get a bit warm. However, the staff rectified that the best they could and immediately placed a fan in the room.

The breakfast - WOW, plenty of choice to please both the Scandinavian and the international palate and I have no doubt that should desire something which is not already served they will do their utmost to provide it.

Allergies - I am gluten intolerant and they were very well informed regarding this and I felt completely safe and at ease eating here.

The not so good - I am seriously nit picking here but the warm room (which was rectified the best way they could) for me personally I didn't like the pillows. Saying that, I never mentioned the pillows to the reception and I am almost sure that if I had they would have offered a solution.

I personally prefer to leave the best for last so...:
The staff... What makes this hotel so incredible is the staff. Cheerful, friendly, helpful and every other positive word you can think of is applicable to them.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, however, in summertime I would personally request a west facing exterior room taking into consideration the early sunrise and the possibility of the room getting a bit on the warm side.

Room Tip: I would personally request a west facing exterior room taking into consideration the early sunrise a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glutenfreeswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Lovely hotel in a lovely city. Friendly staff, good breakfast, perfect location near lively central square (brilliant for eating & drinking the night away under a forest of heaters), like the lightweight umbrellas, big room. Woken up by noisy side street though (cobbles).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
240 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

There's really nothing at all not to like about this place, and much to appreciate and admire. The hotel is like those canal side places in Amsterdam, which look like small town houses on the outside, and then reveal themselves as a large hotel, which have taken over several adjacent places, on the inside...it's the same here, the hotel looks like a little place on a corner and then on the inside, like Dr. Who's Tardis, turns out to occupy much of the block! Anyway, it's a great place to stay..location is brilliant, staff are great, the inner atrium is lovely, our room was really excellent, breakfast was good, and there's nothing to cpriticise. For a price, they'll even park your car in their capacious underground car-park - brilliant! Go!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jobetim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed there for a week during a business trip. Spacious room with great amenities and good services. it almost feel like being at home. The breakfast is really good.

Really friendly staff.

Great location, minutes from Malmö central and only one block away from Lila Torg.

Worth mentioning you can rent a bike from the reception.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here last summer as part of a visit to southern Sweden, Stockhom and Copenhagen. The location was great, the staff very friendly and the breakfast just great. The breads in particular were lovely. There was coffee, biscuits and fruit available all the time in the lovely atrium which was a bonus. The room was a good size and very comfy. We did have a bit of noise with early deliveries one morning but in general noise was not an issue.
We hired bikes from reception one day which was a great way to see the city as it is so bike friendly. A smaller bike would have been great as I am petite but I managed fine.
We loved Malmo - the location by the sea, the people and old buildings and squares. Yes it's expensive by UK standards but for a short break it was great and as an experience it was very different. We would love to go back and if we do I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance
Quality Hotel View
#3 of 38 in Malmo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Master Johan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Master Johan

Property: Hotel Master Johan
Address: 13 Maester Johansgatan, Malmo 211 21, Sweden (Formerly Master Johan Hotel, BW Premier Collection)
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Malmo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#9 Family Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Master Johan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mäster Johan is a modern boutique hotel with 69 rooms. Constructed following time-honoured guidelines to give our guests the perfect atmosphere for living pleasure. Our goal is to offer the very finest in personal service and consideration. Mäster Johan is centrally located, within easy walking distance to the Central Railway Station and trains to Copenhagen Airport, buses and a wide variety of excellent restaurants. Visit our web page for our best prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Master Johan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Malmo
Malmö Best Western
Best Western Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing