We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A classy hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Master Johan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Master Johan
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A classy hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I thoroughly recommend this hotel. Nice big comfy bedrooms and terrific staff; generally a great option in central Malmo. Although it's central, it is easy to access (glad I had sat nav though) and there is valet car parking. Breakfast was excellent too. We couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_jones25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    212
    56
    17
    2
See reviews for
85
354
32
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, England
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

What a find. My wife and I stayed at the Master Johan for 7 nights. This hotel has large rooms; is in a Central Location close to shops; restaurants; cafes; bars etc - and just a 5 minute walk from the Central Railway Station ..... yet with its exceptional soundproofing (including double bedroom doors), it could not have been quieter. The hotels atrium is light and roomy, for relaxing - and the breakfasts were superb. All of the staff were friendly, courteous and polite.
Would definitely recommend this hotel, and would stay there again when in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scorpian87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
167 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel has style and some atmosphere, especially in the Italian inspired inner yard and the breakfast restauarant. Location couldn’t be more central, in the lively and somewhat noisy heart of the city.

We booked a superior double room. Large and comfortable, however facing the backyard (we were told by the friendly front desk that all rooms are facing the backyard). Bathroom modernised, very stylish and attractive.

The less attractive stories: Firstly: The room was not clean! Hair and crumbles were quite abundant on the carpet as well as in chairs and sofa. We addressed the issue at the front desk, suggesting a room inspection. No reaction at all! Secondly: The room gives a worn-down impression and needs update/renovation. Thirdly: Breakfast offers an acceptable choice of fresh fruit, cold cuts etc but in general is not very tasty.

Overall impression: More efforts are required if the place should meet the high expectations stimulated by the self confident promotion. Would have considered 3 or even 4 stars, but end up with 2 due to the room cleaning issue and the front desk response.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eagle_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverdam, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Location was great--just away from the city center--quiet. Décor and atmosphere were perfect. Staff was helpful and the rooms were large and comfortable. We walked from the train station and walked to the car rental place. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious! I can't say enough about this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinna, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The location first: smack in the middle of town, only a block away from a bustling city, but as quiet as a country inn. In other words, a good night's sleep. The room itself was fabulous. The double door guarantees both quiet and safety; a very comfortable king-sized bed; a suprisingly luxurious bathroom, including a bathtub that has to be experienced to be believed (yes, with floating duck and tubside candle for illumination, if so desired); coffee maker; complimentary bottles of chilled water; and so on and so on. As for the personnel, they couldn't have been more accomodating, even to the point of providing us with a little parcel of food to take with us on the train, as we had to leave the hotel, alas, before breakfast was served. Having seen what was on offer, we think we'd be returning to the Hotel Mäster Johan if only to enjoy that sumptuous breakfast buffet! All in all, a perfect jewel of a hotel, service and comfort in the grand tradition. You just can't find hotels like this anymore -- or so we thought!

Room Tip: I can only speak from experience: room 401
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rovinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I had the pleasure of spending 5 nights at this wonderful hotel in April this year and I simply loved it.

The location is outstanding!

Transport - Mere couple of minutes walk from the main train-station and where the train from Copenhagen airport arrives and only 3-4 minutes walk from Gustav Adolfs Torg where there are plenty of buses.

Shopping and restaurants - you have one of the busiest squares in Malmo, with some excellent restaurants and bars, literally on your doorstep, 30 seconds walk at a push :)
As for shopping you are right at one end of the main pedestrian streets in the center of the city where you will find every shop imaginable for as long as the eye can see.

The hotel itself -
I had a single room and I can tell you it would have comfortably accommodated two people and it was bigger than plenty of double rooms that I have stayed in.
The bed was large and comfortable.
My window faced the interior atrium courtyard and due to the fact that the weather was spectacular during my whole stay the room did get a bit warm. However, the staff rectified that the best they could and immediately placed a fan in the room.

The breakfast - WOW, plenty of choice to please both the Scandinavian and the international palate and I have no doubt that should desire something which is not already served they will do their utmost to provide it.

Allergies - I am gluten intolerant and they were very well informed regarding this and I felt completely safe and at ease eating here.

The not so good - I am seriously nit picking here but the warm room (which was rectified the best way they could) for me personally I didn't like the pillows. Saying that, I never mentioned the pillows to the reception and I am almost sure that if I had they would have offered a solution.

I personally prefer to leave the best for last so...:
The staff... What makes this hotel so incredible is the staff. Cheerful, friendly, helpful and every other positive word you can think of is applicable to them.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, however, in summertime I would personally request a west facing exterior room taking into consideration the early sunrise and the possibility of the room getting a bit on the warm side.

Room Tip: I would personally request a west facing exterior room taking into consideration the early sunrise a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glutenfreeswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Lovely hotel in a lovely city. Friendly staff, good breakfast, perfect location near lively central square (brilliant for eating & drinking the night away under a forest of heaters), like the lightweight umbrellas, big room. Woken up by noisy side street though (cobbles).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance
Elite Hotel Savoy
#14 of 38 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Master Johan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Master Johan

Property: Hotel Master Johan
Address: 13 Maester Johansgatan, Malmo 211 21, Sweden (Formerly Master Johan Hotel, BW Premier Collection)
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Malmo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#9 Family Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Master Johan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mäster Johan is a modern boutique hotel with 69 rooms. Constructed following time-honoured guidelines to give our guests the perfect atmosphere for living pleasure. Our goal is to offer the very finest in personal service and consideration. Mäster Johan is centrally located, within easy walking distance to the Central Railway Station and trains to Copenhagen Airport, buses and a wide variety of excellent restaurants. Visit our web page for our best prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Master Johan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Malmo
Malmö Best Western
Best Western Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing