We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Scandic S:t Jorgen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic S:t Jorgen
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I did not expect much from Scandic, but this hotel is very well situated and has a modern standard. I traveled alone in business and had a light, quite spacious room with nice decoration and modern amenities, including the bathroom.

I was positively surprised by the food in the restaurant, where we had several meals. A good selection of healthy food, great cake buffet in the afternoon etc. The conference room had a wide fresh fruit selection.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poha8990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    334
    148
    37
    20
See reviews for
205
171
66
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
374 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Hotel is located less than a 10 minute walk from the Central Station. I was able to check-in early, staff was very friendly and helpful. I had a room with no window, which was small and compact. The bath was small also, but then what else does one person need? The bed was very comfortable, without the window, there was absolute silence in the room and if I stayed there again I would certainly opt for this type of room. Nice flat screen TV, and free wi fi was included. The buffet breakfast was excellent, a huge choice of breakfast items. I asked for a later check out and that was no problem either. All in all, a nice hotel, in a nice area with nice staff.

Room Tip: A windowless room will afford one of no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Great location... right in the city center. Exellent breakfast! Super savings if you take cabin room (rooms without windows but ideal for sleeping). All attractions in Malmo and Central station easily accessible on foot.

Room Tip: Take a cabin room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank putnik84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavík, Gullbringusysla, Iceland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This was our second time staying there and we just love the hotel, excellent staff. The breakfast buffet is just a dream, so much to choice from and everything good.
The dinner buffet was excellent, the sauce with the meat was so good and the fish course was also very good.
We WILL be staying there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the fifth floor have a bath tub and a towel rack. Rooms on the third floor have a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helga H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We went to Sweden with tour group organizer, Paul Almeida of Azorcan Global, for the 2014 IIHF World Junior Hockey championships. The hotel was filled to capacity with our group of 86+, as well as 4 hockey teams. Filled to capacity, the staff were always accommodating, the rooms always clean. It is centrally located with Hansa Mall across the street (liquor store in here:), only a 5 minute walk to Central Station which can take you in minutes to the large Malmo Arena or across the street from that is Sweden's largest mall, Emporia. Great for the gals to shop while the guys get their sport fix! There are no laundry services at Scandic, but you can take your laundry to Scandic Malmo (red brick exterior) and do your laundry there for free. it is only a 3 minute walk away. A small grocery store is only a 3 minute walk away. The visit to Scandic Malmo made me appreciate S:t Jorgen as S:t Jorgen's breakfast buffet was far more organized and peaceful - the Malmo's atmosphere seemed chaotic in the buffet area. There is also a restaurant and bar in the lobby. If w wereever to go back to Malmo, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheri2756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Walking distance from railway station. Check-in was really smooth and the room was available hours before 4 p.m. Very small room though. Only shower gel in bathroom, no lotion nor conditioner.I wonder how they iron with such a short wire and the system "invented" for potential iron-steelers. Wifi is working throughout hotel and the food was tasty during breakfast and lunch.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blond72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
473 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Visited this lovely hotel some time ago but forgot to express my sincere gratitude as it was a very memorable stay. The hotel is located in the city centre of Malmö, just next to the shopping street. The staff is excellent, I don't know what it is that Swedes working in the service industry do, but they are always extremely helpful, smiling and accommodating. The same goes for the staff at Sct. Jorgen. Thanks for making my stay awesome, it is really the people that makes the difference and I got to experience this when visiting your hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeLundgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Gamla Staden
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#21 of 37 in Malmo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Malmo City
#13 of 37 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic S:t Jorgen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic S:t Jorgen

Property: Scandic S:t Jorgen
Address: 35 Stora Nygatan, Malmo 211 37, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic S:t Jorgen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic St. Jörgen's 288 rooms include a wide selection of rooms from fresh cabin rooms (rooms without window) and standard rooms to large family rooms and suites. Many of the rooms have views overlooking the shopping street and Gustav Adolfs Torg.In our newly renovated lobby restaurant, located in connection with the reception, we serve tasteful drinks and good food. In our shop we have salads and sandwiches for sale, and why not try out our popular shrimp sandwich?Scandic S:t Jörgen is located in the city center and you will find good shopping, culture and entertainment just around the corner. Malmö has plenty of museums with different directions – everything from art from the 20th century, natural history and sports to theatre, chocolate and the City tunnel. You can also visit the cosy Little Square or the trendy West Harbour, which are two popular gatheringpoints especially during spring and summer. The West Harbour is situated within bicycle distance from the hotel. The hotel also offers bicycle rentals. For families, visit the Funhouse or have a swim at the adventurous Aq-va-kul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Scandic Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic S:t Jorgen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic St. Jorgen Hotel
Scandic St Jorgen Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing