We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Malmö's most central hotel! Cozy, neat and tidy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
First Hotel Mortensen
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Stockholm
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Malmö's most central hotel! Cozy, neat and tidy!”
Reviewed 16 June 2011

You cannot live more in the centre of Malmö.
We arrived on a friday evening and they had a jazz trio playing soft music. Super nice!
We ate a light meal and drank cava, spanish "champagne", for very reasonable prices, in the restaurant.
Had a perfect saturday morning breakfast and then just stepped out of the door and we were in the middle of beautiful Malmö.
A four star hotel at the top of the scale.
I would recommend hotel Baltzar anytime.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BalooStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    62
    25
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
57
22
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
186 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We stayed at the Baltzar Hotel one night in Dec 2010; on transit to Germany. Public parking garage close by; the hotel is clean, breakfast choice was excellent. We got a very large room on the top floor, almost a suite. Beds were a bit soft, but OK. Bathroom somewhat small, compared to the room size, but good and clean. Very friendly staff! Location couldn't be better, you step out of the door and you're in the heart of Malmö. Would certainly go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thearndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Cozy and centrally located. We just stayed for one night and the only negative part was that the room was a bit hot at night. Besides that i would really recommend this charming hotel. It was really wort the 850 SEK we payed!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom_and_molly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearny, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

In my opinion, it is a hotel's primary responsibility to give you a good night's sleep. It does not matter if they have friendly staff, a good breakfast, a workout club or a pool. If a hotel fails to give you a good night's sleep, they've failed altogether, no matter how many other positives they can offer.

The hotel does have a lot of positives. First, the hotel is indeed very nice looking. Reception lobby is beautiful and the rooms are quite nice with high windows and good decoration. Second, the staff were nice and helpful (although they did lose our passports for a bit). Third, the breakfast is outstanding. The selection cannot be beat and it's of top quality. Fourth, the location is just a quick walk from central station. You go a few blocks straight out from the stating, make a right and you've only walked 5 minutes before you easily spot it.

Despite all these positives, they hotel deserves the POOR rating I'm giving them because sleeping in a room here is simply impossible in the summer. The reception lobby is air-conditioned, but as soon as you leave it to go up to your room, the hallways are stiflingly hot and stuffy. You're sweating by the time you get to your room even if you've taken the lift. Though you've been silently hoping that your room will be otherwise, more hot stuffy air hits you when you open the door. Basically, the air is hot everywhere in the building except the lobby. And to make matters worse, there is absolutely no breeze whatsoever in that entire building, not even from a fan.

And forget about opening the windows. Yes, it will cool down your room, but the second you open the windows you feel as if the entire street below is standing in your room with you - it is SO LOUD! The sound echoes up the side of the building and amplifies absolutely EVERYTHING. Even if you are on the fourth floor, you can hear every word of a street-level conversation spoken in normal tones. In the beginning of the night, you'll have drunken tourists laughing and screaming. In the morning you'll wonder why you ever liked the sound of seagulls at the shore.

In short, your room will either be stiflingly hot or, if you open the windows, really REALLY noisy - a no win situation. We spent our three nights getting up periodically to open and shut the windows, alternating between the two hells. A simple fan would really solve the whole problem. The air just needs to MOVE for God's sake. But, alas, the hotel does not offer this. When we asked them what we should do, they just shrugged and said, "Get earplugs?" I suggest finding another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennySensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roenne, Denmark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Quiet hotel with tower room. No noise. Good service.

Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rodejong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

We stayed in this hotel for one night as a side visit from Copenhagen. It was lovely and clean, friendly staff, excellent location in the centre of Malmo and fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank JodeyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

We (2 adults and 2 kids, five and seven) stayed three days in august in this very charming hotel.
The room was a large corner room with excellent view over the shopping street.
The location is perfect, close to shopping, the central train station and restaurants.
I understood that they have recently rebuilt the reception and created the new tapas restaurant (which is also used during breakfast) which gives an elegant first impression.
We had lunch in their tapas restaurant and it was super with many inventive dishes to choose from.
One day we took the train to Copenhagen and visited the amusement park Tivoli and the trip back and forth went very smoothly.
The staff is very welcoming and professional.
I can only give this hotel my highest recommendations.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BalooStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Scandic Stortorget
Scandic Stortorget
#27 of 37 in Malmo
369 reviews
Gamla Staden
Moment Hotels
Moment Hotels
#18 of 37 in Malmo
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Kramer
#17 of 37 in Malmo
423 reviews
Gamla Staden
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#32 of 37 in Malmo
95 reviews
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Mortensen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Mortensen

Property: First Hotel Mortensen
Address: 45 Baltzarsgatan, Malmo 211 36, Sweden (Formerly Hotel Baltzar)
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Mortensen 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your First Hotel Mortensen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltzar Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing