We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
First Hotel Mortensen
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed at hotel Baltzar for one night. The hotel is in an historic building in the heart of Malmö. It is easy to get to walking from the train station as well as all of the city attractions. The decore is a bit outdated in the rooms, but the room was comfortable. It was one of the more reasonably priced hotels that we found in our searches; be prepared as most lodging in Sweden is expensive.
The breakfast in the morning is included and it is very good.
Overall it was a good choice and I would return if I were to return to Malmö.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for First Hotel Mortensen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2013

Nice, clean rooms. I personally found the bed very comfortable and immensely enjoyed the armchair in the room. But there are those little things that are nothing really and yet... The door was strange to open. You actually need both your hands to unlock it and to keep it open. This makes it difficult to enter and come out especially when with your luggage. Right across there was an office building with people working really late and when i wanted to change or go for a shower I had to close the curtains and not be able to enjoy the day light until possible. The breakfast was not impressive as well. I didn’t find what was offered delicious and this is really hard to achieve with breakfast items. I stayed for 3 nights and every morning I tried different thing. Something also happened with the exchange rate when I was paying the bill. 15 Euro turned into only 50 SEK.
Despite those, I think it is a nice hotel and if you travel for business it is quite a good choice. One thing to have in mind though is it is in a pedestrian area and if you need to catch a taxi you will have to walk a bit. The car cannot stop in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

This hotel has history but despite its age is very comfortable and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was delicious with a huge variety of choices for all tastes. The location is great, very central and easy walking distance from the local shops, bars and restaurants. Although there is no parking at the hotel, there are special rates in a nearby car park which worked out very reasonable. There is also access to free wi-fi in the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StirlingAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We had a really nice stay here. The staff was helpful and very friendly, the room was great and clean and the view so cosy. Really central as well.
Breakfast had loads of different choices.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed here while at a conference in Lund - the hotel was a third of the price of any in Lund and it's only 10 mins by train between the cities. I would guess it's a 19th century building, so high ceilings and rather faded, but clean with helpful friendly staff and plentiful buffet breakfast. No, it's not swish, but it's right between the two main squares (yet quiet in the evenings, even though the Malmo festival was on when I was there) and, as I said, a VERY low price for Sweden. I paid about £300 for 7 nights - incredible.

Room Tip: If you value aesthetics over price, avoid rooms looking onto the inner courtyard - it's just a m...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Professor_Null
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

This is an old hotel - with the slowest lift I have seen for long - but what a nice place it is. Friendly staff, good well-sized single-room, pretty fast wi-fi, fine cleaning, great bed and a good breakfast. What more to expect?. If you are in for a pizza there's a nice pizza-restaurant going out of the hotel - to the left -and then turning right at the first corner. The hotel is located very close to all restaurants in Malmö in a nice setting.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
Thank henningn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Just returned back from Malmo, the hotel was in a perfect position, excellent breakfast, room was basic but very clean and comfy bed. Don't expect a view from a single room - good value

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillericayBaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Scandic Stortorget
Scandic Stortorget
#26 of 37 in Malmo
400 reviews
Gamla Staden
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#20 of 37 in Malmo
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
Scandic S:t Jorgen
Scandic S:t Jorgen
#16 of 37 in Malmo
861 reviews
Gamla Staden
Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo
Scandic Kramer
#17 of 37 in Malmo
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Mortensen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Mortensen

Address: 45 Baltzarsgatan, Malmo 211 36, Sweden (Formerly Hotel Baltzar)
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
Price Range: £75 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Mortensen 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your First Hotel Mortensen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltzar Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing