We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Stortorget

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scandic Stortorget
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Malmo
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
71 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Went on a shortbreak to Rica in Malmoe in March. The hotel has a great location just next to Lilla Torget, a square with restaurants, bars and great cozy atmosphere. Just in front of the hotel is the main square in downtown Malmoe and on the other side of the square, the pedestrian street starts with all kind of shops and shopping oppurtunities. The hotel itself has a great almost 4 star standard, great breakfast and very helpful staff at the front disk. So if great location in Malmoe is an important issue for your trip, this hotel is a very good choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thodin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    143
    95
    27
    11
See reviews for
42
128
23
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Good location, kind staff and decent breakfast. However, this is not in any way a 4 star hotel as they claim to be. It is more like an average 3 star hotel. The temperature in the room was way too cold and guests cold not adjust it, neither could the hotel staff. There was no heating in the bath room and it was freezing. The blankets were too thin and I had to use two of them. Also the wi-fi was not working properly. Stayed in a double room and there were two single beds together so I would not recommend this for couples.

The television was also set so you would have to press the remote 5 times in order to be allowed to see normal television and not pay tv. Also when swapping channels you suddenly get redirected to advertisement for pay tv. They also offer porn so I would recommend everyone who don't agree with that to boycott the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 66Anonymous66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina L, General Manager at Scandic Stortorget, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort in writing a review of Rica Hotel Malmö. We appreciate both direct and indirect feedback on our product and services as this enables us to continually improve the level of service we deliver to our guests on a daily basis. It is this constant focus on improved standards that has resulted in Rica Hotel Malmö being the 11th best hotel in Sweden during 2012 according to feedback from our guests to Tripadvisor.

It is regrettable to read that you were not fully satisfied with your stay at the hotel. Our rooms are heated by district heating. This is an environmentally friendly heating source where heat is delivered to the hotel from the burning of waste refuse from the local area. The temperature is set for room temperature and this can be adjusted from the radiator in the room. As we appreciate that everyone is individual and may have a different perception of room temperature we have extra blankets available from reception. We have also a supply of extra electric heaters which can be placed in the room if so required.

Our wireless Internet which we offer free to all our hotel and conference guests is provided by an external partner and although the system is generally very reliable, we have a service contract in the event of any connection problems. Our reception staff are always willing and able to provide assistance with this if required.

With regards to your room having 2 beds, a room booked for double occupancy can be a twin or a double bedded room. We do have a wide selection of both double and twin rooms which can be requested at the point of booking. Of course, we always do our best to meet the specific requests of our guests. The remote control and TV system in the room is specially designed for the hotel industry with a focus on being user friendly. I apologise if you found this not to be the case. The system is designed to ensure that customers to do not choose pay TV by error and incurring additional costs to their stay. There is a button on the remote control called “TV”, this always the user to select from the range of free channels we have at the hotel. After a guests has “flicked” through all the terrestrial channels the pay TV channel is available as an option after this.

Rica Hotels do not show pornography at any of their hotels in Sweden or Norway. This has been an active choice by Rica Hotels not to in any way support or be involved in this industry. Rica Hotels believes in being a socially responsible company. For every room night at a Rica Hotel, 1 Swedish kroner is donated to a special fund (called a Ricafond). The money from this fund is given to various organisations such as “The child cancer charity” and “The African elephant association”. Since 1999 Rica Hotels have given away over 400,000 euros for various causes and charities.

Once again, we appreciate the feedback about the hotel and please feel free to contact us directly if we can be of further help to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malmo hotels

Stockholm
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Detta hotell har verkligen ett A läge vid stora torget det är nära till allt.
Hotellet är av medelstandard rent och fint med en riktigt bra frukost.
Rummen är små ialla fall det jag bodde i men duger bra med en normal standard.
Jag har bott på en del hotell i Malmö men detta är om man räknar in läget det bästa hitills.
Trevlig personal rent och fint till ett bra pris.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

We went to sweden for ten days, and spent 3 days in Malmo...What a beautiful city!small and traditional, very "swedish". The first night we stay at the elite plaza hotel, very expensive an not so good in proportion. For the second night we went to look for an hotel and finally found Rica Hotel. In an ancient building, right on the central square. 10 minutes by walking from the station, 15 from the Malmo museet, very close to the bars and pubs, but not noisy at night. Very friendly, helpful and nice staff. And you can pay with Bancomat (maestro card), not so easy in Sweden. the most beautiful thing was the shower and the whole bathroom in black and white. Room also nice. some problems with the tv (maybe you have to pay an extra...really couldn't understand if yes or not) but you don't need the tv in Malmo!
Thank you a lot Hotel Rica, very nice place, happy to found you ;)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

Very nice hotel situated in the best part of Malmö. Close to almost everything. We had a nice big room with bathtub, robes, slippers and kettle on the room. The breakfast was amazing, it had everything one can ask for. However, the restaurant/breakfast room was too small. People had to wait to get a table and I even saw people taking their plates to go eat on their rooms because they could not find any where to sit. It was also a bit noisy at night. There is a nightclub (maybe even two?) situated in the same house so we could hear loud music when we tried to go to sleep.

But despite this, Rica hotel Malmö is one of the best hotels I have stayed at. I can warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mullibull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Not to spoil my weekends to much when having to go on a business trip on Sweden I normally take one of the last flights in to Copenhagen airport, just cross the bridge and crash at The Rica for a couple of hours sleep and a good breakfast before I continue with my trip on mondays.

When mondays mornings are generally not the best time of the week, this hotel will smooth things up for your. Friendly and efficient night reception, nice comfy beds and fantastic break fast for Swedish standards will give your monday mornings a little sparkle.

The one-bed rooms are very small but they are located on the side or inner court, so quiet. Front side rooms can be a bit tricky since the hotel is located on the biggest square in Malmö which is used for festivals. So you might want to check that out and book a preference.

Walking distance from the railway station and loads of parking space just in front of the hotel (if there are no festivals)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

What a great location. Wow! the breakfast was great. Our issue was with the soft bed that just sunk in and was so uncomfortable. Also the two single duvets on a double bed, we had difficulty cuddling without one person not having cover. The staff is hard working, specially at breakfast one member was running around doing all the duties. He really tried. However, as he is the only one doing almost everything the tables were not cleared and etc. etc. ect. That was a problem, specially when the Hotel was pretty full.

Room Tip: When you´re given a choice between the noisy room at the front or the quite at the back, choose the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Round-TW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Scandic Kramer
#17 of 38 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Gamla Staden
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#32 of 38 in Malmo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Duxiana Malmo
#24 of 38 in Malmo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Gamla Staden
Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Stortorget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Stortorget

Property: Scandic Stortorget
Address: 15 Stortorget, Malmo 211 22, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Stortorget 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turn-of-the-century beige-and brown brick, overlooking Stortorget - Walk to train station, and bridge to Copenhagen Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Scandic Stortorget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing