We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but not the best in Malmö”
Review of Scandic Stortorget

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Stortorget
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The location is excellent. Right outside the door is Lilla Torg with a bunch of restaurants and bars, and the train station is a couple of minutes walk away. The rooms were clean and tidy, albeit a bit small. On the bottom floor is a spa-like relax area which you can reserve for you and your party. It has a little sauna and a surprisingly good massage chair. The breakfast was excellent.

But I guess I'm a bit biased since my favorite hotel in Sweden, Mäster Johan, is just a stone's throw away.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a perfect location if you are out to explore the city center of Malmö. If you want to go shopping or go out for dinner and drinks, this hotel is a great choice. The room was very cosy and since size bed, though the room in general was a bit small, but it didn't really matter much. The bathroom was of a great size with separate shower. The breakfast was very nice with all you could ask for on a Scandinavian breakfast buffet, right from bacon and eggs to smoked salmon and rye read.
All in all certainly worth a visit!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camilla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were visiting family in the area, and found the Rica perfect for our needs. The location is excellent with easy access to Central Station and many restaurants, they provide a fabulous breakfast buffet daily, and the rooms were clean, neat, and comfortable. Finally, they have bicycles free to use, which was perfect for touring the city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmortara64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This hotel is right in the centre of Malmo in a lovely square. It has a slightly old world charm and the bedrooms look like they have not been refurbished for many years. Nonetheless the rooms were comfortable and very clean. But if you like modern this hotel is not for you. although for a weekend I would think it is ideal as there are lots of nice bars and cafes very close by.

Where the hotel did suffer was in the conference area- I was involved in a three day conference and for large parts of the time it seemed as if the staff disappeared after the morning shift. We constantly experienced coffee shortages as the machines ran out of water and used cups and plates etc seemed to pile up waiting for collection.

Lunch time was also hectic and noticeable for the absence of staff as some delegates looked for knives and forks - it seemed as if just one or two people were working when they needed five or six.

Those staff that were there were pleasant enough - reception staff were always ready to help. But I would not want to run an event there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ichdien000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Great location 5-10 mins walk from central station. Room/bathroom warm,clean,comfortable and very cosy. Ideally situated for city centre and bars/restaurants etc. A bit of night club noise from next door which an ear plug sorted. Staff very helpful and friendly. Would we stay again: Yes...Breakfasts very good and lots of...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Only stayed one night, but it is easy to find from the central station, it is excellently located in the middle of the big square and next to the little square and the rooms are very comfortable. The staff were all very polite and friendly and the breakfast good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed there for 5 days while attending a course "on-site" at the hotel. The location in the middle of Malmö city is great. Large selection of restaurants and stores within 2 minutes walk.

However the hotel itself is worn and tired, the rooms were freezing cold and so small there was hardly any room beside the bed. No designated place for the suitcase, which meant I had to place it on the desk for the entire week.

The course facilities was ok, except that I missed a larger "relaxation" area outside the conference rooms. There was only a hall with three barstools to sit on.

Pluses:
- Very good dinner the one time we ate there
- Location
- Nice breakfast buffet
- "Brunch" delivered outside the conference room

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the renovated part of the hotel (they were renovating on the 1st floor when we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina L, General Manager at Scandic Stortorget, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

First and foremost, I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort in writing a review of Rica Hotel Malmö. We appreciate both direct and indirect feedback on our product and services as this enables us to continually improve the level of service we deliver to our guests on a daily basis.
I´m pleased to read that you were satisfied with several things during your stay at the hotel.
We have several different room categories, budget, standard, superior and delux rooms. I suppose that the room you hired was a budget room and it is small. I always recommend a guest to choose a higher category if the guest stays more than one night.
I´m sorry to read that your room was freezing cold. It shouldn´t be. Did you tell the Front Office so that we could repair the heating?
During this period we are renovating bathrooms on the first floor and painting some other rooms. We are also planning to renovate our conference area in April.
Yes, we don´t have any large area for coffee breaks directly nearby the conference rooms. Therefore we always tell our conference guests to use our restaurant area on the same level as the conference.
Once again, I appreciate the feedback about the hotel and please contact me directly so that we can sort out the questions.
With best regards
Nina Lund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Scandic Kramer
#17 of 37 in Malmo
483 reviews
Gamla Staden
First Hotel Mortensen
First Hotel Mortensen
#30 of 37 in Malmo
142 reviews
Gamla Staden
Scandic S:t Jorgen
Scandic S:t Jorgen
#15 of 37 in Malmo
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
Elite Hotel Residens
Elite Hotel Residens
#21 of 37 in Malmo
295 reviews
Scandic Malmo City
#16 of 37 in Malmo
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Stortorget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Stortorget

Address: 15 Stortorget, Malmo 211 22, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
Price Range: £70 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Stortorget 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turn-of-the-century beige-and brown brick, overlooking Stortorget - Walk to train station, and bridge to Copenhagen Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Stortorget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing