We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Royal
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Reviewed 22 August 2012

First of all, the room we stayed in looked NOTHING like the one on this website. Maybe because we made our reservation through Hotels.com (which they didn't seem to even know about) we were put in a room from Hell. It was literally a closet with one small window that didn't open fully, and no AC. Miserable. Horrible-the worst I have ever experienced travelling anywhere on earth. And they were VERY nasty. It was also not clean. We booked a room indicating two adults and two children on Hotels.com. When we got there they put us in what they called "a double", which in the US is two double beds, it was two singles and probably 8 X10. But we coped. The manager was confrontational with my children and demanded (with no english) that we pay extra. Since we did not have phone access I had no way of contacting Hotels.com (which is usually not helpful anyway) or Best Western. I know most if not all Best Westerns are franchises and thats the problem, you never know what you are getting. On the website it said that there was parking, there wasn't. (you could park on the street if you could find it) Be VERY careful, the room shown in this picture must be the small part of the hotel that has been renovated, not the dismal closet we stayed in. This is a definate NO.

Room Tip: Make sure you either don't go to this hotel or that you have one of the new (few) rooms
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank logicalmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotel Royal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed August 2012 - £70 on hotels.com
I was very happy with this hotel.
Good location: It is very close to the main squares and nice places to eat. We could walk everywhere we wanted to go from here, to the park, down to the beach as well.
Room: Clean, with everything needed. Nice shower. Even had two free bottle of water and a little fridge. Is a little on the small side, but for the price I think it is fine. Only complaint was we didn't get a double bed, but this was a very last minute booking and the hotel was very full.
Breakfast: Nice selection of breads, juices and cereal for breakfast. They had run out of black tea though!
We thought it was very reasonable for the price, and as it was a last minute booking, possibly would be an even better bargain if the prices are lower for earlier bookings.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blbovka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The hotel is in a good location. The breakfast is good and the staff are helpful. The standard is what to expect since its a part of the best western chain. You pretty much know what you are paying for. the rooms were not the newest but the stay was worth the money

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The Hotel Royal is a decent hotel near the central train station and to the main square in Malmo. A nice size room, decent mattress. Good size bathroom with a big shower. Hot water and water pressure was good. Helpful staff at the front desk. Fri Wi-Fi. Decent breakfast with hot and cold food, fruit etc.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAC1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

My travelling party was upgraded upon check-in to suites at the older section of the hotel, another house at the back which we were told was the oldest house in Malmo. This is despite that we made the booking via a 3rd party website and not through the BW one. So a good welcome and start to the stay.

The suite was quite large (for Swedish room standards) with a separate study/living room and furbished in the typical Swedish Ikea style. The free internet is fast and reliable. Scrambled eggs and sausages/meat balls/bacon were also included in the breakfast, a warm start to a cold and windy winter day.

Hotel was within walking distance to the town square, shopping and restaurant areas. And as mentioned by the other reviewers, a short walk to the central train station to catch the train to Copenhagen airport.

Will probably stay here again the next time I visit Malmo.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnzacTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This hotel was fairly close to the railway station...about 300 metres.
Everything was clean but our twin room was small and the bathroom was a complete wet area with no separate shower recess, just a corner of the bathroom.
The breakfast was adequate and there were tea and coffee making facilities in the lobby.
The rooms were extremely warm and we needed the windows open all night to try to sleep with some comfort ( in September).

Room Tip: Make sure you have a bathroom you are happy with.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icehouse45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

If not a place to sleep that is reasonably priced and offers ok surroundings then this hotel might be for you. It's fairly basic - they do have some suites in the back that looked interesting. Might want to try one of those if you can. It's a no frill accommodation but the staff is nice enough and the location is great for easy access to downtown facilities as well as the railway station.

Room Tip: Try the suites
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnordic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malmo
Gamla Staden
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#33 of 37 in Malmo
102 reviews
Hotel Duxiana Malmo
#23 of 37 in Malmo
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#13 of 37 in Malmo
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Royal

Address: 94 Norra Vallgatan, Malmo 211 22, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
Price Range: £66 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Malmo
Best Western Royal
Malmö Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing