We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel at a great location!”
Review of Scandic Kramer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Kramer
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stayed there for business and it was nice, friendly, not big of a hotel. The room was clean and I had a good three nights sleep. Breakfast is good and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingisund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KramerMalmoe, General Manager at Scandic Kramer, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

We would like to thank you for taking your time evaluating us after your stay and helping us understand what we can do better. During the past months we have done changes to improve our breakfast and give a experience matching the impressive appearance of the building. From what I understand you really do like the fantastic mahogany rooms, I can please you with the information that we will renovate the bathrooms during 2013, however it will be in the same style with marble. We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Kramer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

I spent one night. Reception staff was very professional and kind.
The hotel is a hystorical one in the main square of Malmö a stone-throw from a number of restaurants, bars and shops.
My room (in the older wing of the hotel) was rather small but clean. The bed was fine. Negative sides were lack of any kind of amenities (on sale at the reception), and very cold room (outside temperature was warm for a May in Sweden).
Breakfast is average: not outstanding choice but vegetables, fruit and ham/salami were freshly cut. A bit slow replenishment of the trays and caraffes.
Wi-Fi in the room complimentatry but extremely slow.
All in all an average experience but given the price paid (ca. 180 Euro) I would have expected a better room and breakfast. I would recommend it for the great location, but not for the value for money.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the older wing of the building: rooms are not better, but general atmosphere is bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gekokurioso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KramerMalmoe, General Manager at Scandic Kramer, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012
Google Translation

Scandic Kramer är inhyst i en fantastisk byggnad från 1875 i gamla staden av Malmö. Vi har under 2012 arbetat hårt med både hårdvaran och mjukvaran och tror oss vara på rätt väg mot återskapande av det anrika beryktade Kramer. Vi hoppas att du återkommer till oss och tar del av de förändringar vi har gjort under året. Välkommen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I am staying at the Kramer two or three times per year. I like the location and the building itself, but there is nothing fancy about it, athough the room rates would suggest otherwise. The rooms are clean, but often worn down and, in case of the single ones, very, very small. Breakfast is Scandic standard and staff usually very friendly.

Rates are much lower in the summer and that makes the Kramer an interesting option for families, considering kids are staying for free and breakfast is included.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xpat2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Only thing good about this hotel is their breakfast. Old and worn down it is far from worth it's relatively high price.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrTryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

I have stayed at the Kramer for over 250 nights ( I know, embarassing but its business) since 1991.

It has changed owners several times ( independent, scandic, hilton back to scandic, etc.)
The best location, you can walk anywhere.

Get a room in back as the square (Torg) is noisy on weekends. The resteraunt is just OK but the staff is very nice and will do anything but you must ask, its a Swedish thing.

Parking is a real problem however.

Terry M.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrence64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

location is good but rooms/breakfast did not meet standard expectations

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexander_kriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Stayed a couple of nights with our kids in two adjoining rooms. The service was excellent. When the interconnecting door broke we were upgraded to a suite with two bedrooms for no additional charge.
Nice buffet breakfast included in the price.
Very convenient location a stones throw from the train station.
Free wifi included.
Small fitness center with some weights and a few machines.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Elite Hotel Savoy
#13 of 37 in Malmo
551 reviews
MJ's Hotel
#2 of 37 in Malmo
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Kramer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Kramer

Address: 7 Stortorget, Malmo 211 22, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Malmo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#12 Family Hotel in Malmo
#14 Business Hotel in Malmo
Price Range: £79 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Kramer 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotell Kramer was built in 1875 in French neo-Renaissance style with inspiration from the French castles of the Loire Valley. The hotel is situated only 3 minutes walk from central train station and is located on the city square, close to Malmö´s all shops and restaurants. The hotel was partially carefully renovated early 2012 to preserve the charm of the old world.Enjoy drinks on the tea porch or stay for dinner prepared by our award winning chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Kramer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Kramer Malmö
Scandic Kramer Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing