We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a pleasant experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Kramer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scandic Kramer
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Malmo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Garðabær, Gullbringusysla, Iceland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Not a pleasant experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

No shower in the room and smelled like a steakhouse. Staff not really interested in helping out and said the room was above the kitchen and thus it smelled like one.
The location is great though, just make sure you get a room with a shower and that it is not above the kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J_n_B_13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KramerMalmoe, General Manager at Scandic Kramer, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us upon your last stay. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again in order to give us a opportunity to show how good we really are. I would be grateful if you contact me direct as I do not understand the missing shower. Majority of our rooms has bath with shower and a few rooms with just a shower. Once again welcome back upon your next visit and please contact me direct so I can look after your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    169
    71
    30
    8
See reviews for
45
128
27
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Spent one night at this hotel, primarily because of it's location in the city centre of Malmo. The hotel is just a few steps away from the central railway station, making it very easy to reach from Copenhagen airport.

The magnificent hotel exterior hides a slightly quirky ‘old dame’, as the hotel has rooms in two distinct styles: Scandinavian and English. My room was Scandinavian in design, and was furnished and decorated very pleasantly. The high ceiling made the room feel much larger than it was. As is often the case with city hotels, there was no real view to speak of. My only gripe with the room itself would be that the queen size bed had two single duvets, instead of one queen-sized duvet.

The bathroom, on the other hand, was very small and somewhat outdated. There were also some maintenance and mould issues here that really aren’t acceptable for a hotel of this standard.

Service was very good and personable. Check-in was efficient and friendly. When leaving the hotel at 6am the next morning there was a small assortment of breakfast articles waiting for me (breakfast starts at 7am), which I felt was great service!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KramerMalmoe, General Manager at Scandic Kramer, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our grand lady! We do work hard to keep the rooms and fascilities in shape but still maintain the historical value of the building. Breakfast is an area which is in constant focus and we are currently taking measures to upgrade the breakfast room. During 2012 we renovated all our rooms on the Scandinavian side, however the bathrooms were not included. Next step of renovation, which will be only bathrooms, is currently on the drawing table. I hope that we will see you back with us soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

My wife, son and I took a two week trip to Denmark and Sweden in late July, early August. We were returning via train from Boda Sweden to Copenhagen. We decided to stop in Malmo without a reservation. We got off of the train with no hotel in mind and were very happy to find this place.

This was a beautiful find. We found the room to be very comfortable, very modern, clean and family friendly. The only knock on this place was the fact that there was one person at the reception. Not bad if you are not in a hurry, but if you are, expect to wait. On the other hand, when it is your turn, you will get first class service with a smile!

Room Tip: Breakfast is included...an awesome selection of foods!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cardhuneat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KramerMalmoe, General Manager at Scandic Kramer, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
All staff at Kramer are very proud to hear your kind words. We hope to see you back with us soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

we stayed for 3 nights: the location is perfect situated in the city center! we had a room on the 3rd floor: large, new renovated - with style, very comfortable beds. The public areas are also very clean, but show a bid the age of the hotel - also by the dark furniture! the breakfast buffet provided a perfect selection from fresh fruit, fish, cheese, .... all you would await. We enjoyed our stay - and if returning back to Malmö - we would choose the hotel for sure again.
If you arrive by car: use the parking area infront of the hotel: it is free from Saturday 4 pm. till Monday 9 am. and during the rest of the time it is the same price as at the from the hotel offered garage.

Room Tip: I think 3rd floor is already renovated - friends staying at the first and second floor complained a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michig_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KramerMalmoe, General Manager at Scandic Kramer, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review Kramer! From what I understand you stayed in one of our newly renovated classic Scandinavian style of room whereas your friends stayed in the English clubside. The Clubside we have decided not to renovate due to the beautiful mahogny interior. However we will renovate all bathrooms within near future. There is also plans of exchanging some of the furnitures. I am delighted that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms! I hope that we will see you back at Kramer soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Autriche
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Nice old hotel with some good points and some bad ones:

Good points: well located near the center; nice staff; very good breakfast buffet; rooms recently renovated (at least some)

Bad points: waiting time at the reception can be long (only one person there in the middle of July);in certain bathrooms, it is difficult to get in and out of the bathtubs because of the way they have been built. People over a certain age or weight should stay away from them! Choose a room not giving onto the main square which can be noisy. It can be difficult to find a table at breakfast around 9 AM!

Room Tip: Enquire about the type of bathroom and the location of the room when booking. Some bathrooms can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viennoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KramerMalmoe, General Manager at Scandic Kramer, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a review of Kramer! We do appreciate to hear the view points from our guests which is the only way to know where to improve. We have recently renovated majority of our rooms. The bathrooms with the beautiful but perhaps not so userfriendly baths will be renovated within the near future. I am so sorry that we caused a delay for you due to low staff in reception, we were single staffed during a period for various reasons.
I hope that we will see you back in Sweden and Kramer soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
158 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

The hotel has seen better days, which gives it a kind of worn down feeling. Maybe a bit too large for its own good.

Room was very small and not very clean. Maybe I got a less great room as I was travelling solo, the hotel is supposed to be quite good, so I was surprised.

Location is very good - close to center of town and railway station. The bar is alright and the staff in reception were quite kind and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KramerMalmoe, General Manager at Scandic Kramer, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for your response. The room you reserved and stayed in was one of our single rooms in the older part of the hotel. We chooze not to renovate this part of the hotel at the 2012 rooms renovation due to historical value. We are looking into a textile refurbishment as we would like to keep the beautiful mahogny finish. We hope to see you here soon again to try one of our other rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Spend 2 nights here back in September 2012, room 421.
Very good location, just 5 min away from the central station. Nothing special about the room (though cleaning was not done properly, dust on floor and bed side) but quiet and there was enough space for me and my boyfriend. Quite large bahtroom and I loved that they had floor heating!

Best place about hotel is breakfast area which was large enough for people to mingle and nice sitting area facing the street. Felt cozy and really nice to eat there. I couldn't find the pastries though! And it was a shame that the restaurant is closed on Sundays, would have loved to try it.

Staff was ok, did not interact too much with them as I did not need much info. Check-in and check-out was done fast enough. Directions in the city were not very good, but I managed with the map I received.

Nice overall experience and I would stay again if I had the occasion.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KramerMalmoe, General Manager at Scandic Kramer, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for taking your time on Tripadvisor. We hope to see you back with us soon again to try out our restaurant. For next time, the pastry is kept next to the coffee during breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Master Johan
#2 of 38 in Malmo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Elite Hotel Savoy
#14 of 38 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Gamla Staden
Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Kramer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Kramer

Property: Scandic Kramer
Address: 7 Stortorget, Malmo 211 22, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Malmo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#12 Family Hotel in Malmo
#14 Business Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Kramer 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotell Kramer was built in 1875 in French neo-Renaissance style with inspiration from the French castles of the Loire Valley. The hotel is situated only 3 minutes walk from central train station and is located on the city square, close to Malmö´s all shops and restaurants. The hotel was partially carefully renovated early 2012 to preserve the charm of the old world.Enjoy drinks on the tea porch or stay for dinner prepared by our award winning chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Scandic Kramer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Kramer Malmö
Scandic Kramer Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing