We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth the money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Top marks for everything we had 2 rooms both were fine nice staff good location good breakfast! Very warm/cosy feel to the place! Shame malmo itself is rediculously expensive!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 892 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2011

Already from the start everything was perfect. Parking is available (ca. 20 Euros) in a secured building across the street (you need a code to enter), but you can unload your luggage in front of the hotel. The staff at reception are extremely friendly, helpful and genuine. Our room (standard double on the 3rd floor) was large with a refurbished bathroom (shower in the bath). There is no air con, but a fan is in the room, so even at ca. 28 degrees outside it still wasn't too warm.
The breakfast in the vaulted cellar was exceptional and had a great ambience - salmon, shrimps, hams, cheeses, two different kinds of boiled eggs (eco), European pancakes, bacon, sausages, fresh berries, various breads - you name it, they had it. Even little chocolate mints for after the coffee. They are punctual about the breakfast hours, so better make sure you're on time!
The hotel is literally 20 metres from the square in the city centre and extremely well located.
Would not stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: send an email to reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shedevilNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Lovely hotel, staff are very nice and helpful. Very good location. Room was tidy, clean, very large beds.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Nice little hotel, basic, comfortable room, amazing breakfast spread. Value for money is hard to judge as Sweden is generally very expensive. We stayed at a similar place in downtown Porto, Portugal last year that cost us literally half of what this place cost on their weekend special. That said, we enjoyed our short stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urbanfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

This hotel oozes charm and history and has managed to balance this with modern, tastefully decorated rooms. Breakfast in the historic vaulted "Keller" was a delight. There are pictures everywhere of when Paul McCartney and George Harrison popped in for coffee in the 1960's. Now that's what I call history!
Other nice touches were free Wifi and free tea and coffee always available in the lounge. The hotel is located in the town centre a couple of streets from the train station.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gingaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

The Mayfair hotel in Malmö was certainly a positive surprise! The location is ideal, next to Central railway station. Also, lot of nice restaurants and cafes nearby. The hotel itself is a nice change to the Scandinavian big hotel chains. This is something different.

The hotel from outside is very charming with old-times look. All the common areas are the same style with arches and crystal chandelliers. Very nice without being too posh and elitistic.

My room was in fourth floor, quite small but with a charming attic room feeling. I had everything I needed there, the bed was very comfortamble and the room was very tidy. This is an old building so of course some noise can be heard from the street and neighbour rooms. But nothing too disturbing and the hotel seemed to be on a more quite part of the street, even though its central location.

Breakfast was the best I have had for a long time. And service was excellent! Can also recommend the "mirror" bar in the hotel first floor. Had the best time there and listened to nice live music. Will definitely stay here next time I'm in Malmö!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mhj026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Hotel in old style. Kept with respect for this. Old Poirot style elevator!
Cosy atmosphere, friendly staff. And 5 minutes from Central Station and the shopping streets.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaraG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Malmo Live
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Malmo Hotel
0.2 mi away
MJ's Hotel
MJ's Hotel
#2 of 37 in Malmo
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Malmo
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Malmo
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#14 of 37 in Malmo
1,411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Noble House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel Tunneln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel Tunneln

Address: 4 Adelgatan, Malmo 211 22, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malmo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#4 Business Hotel in Malmo
Price Range: £78 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Hotel Tunneln 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayfair Hotel Tunnlen, is an award winning hotel, situated in the absolute center of Malmö. 150m from the train staion, and 50m from the main shopping street. The building dates back to 1307 and is full of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mayfair Hotel Tunneln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing