We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I was in Malmo for the Eurovision Song Contest and stayed at the Mayfair for a week. This place was perfect. It may be the only old hotel I think is perfect (I usually stay in very new hotels).

The room was spacious, the view of the inner courtyard was nice, and the beds were incredibly comfortable.

The location was perfect, about 3 blocks from the central train station, and 1 block from one end of a major plaza and the start of the main shopping street. Everything interesting at ESC was a 5 minute walk away.

And the staff was great. Very helpful anytime I needed something.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    293
    63
    10
    1
See reviews for
128
385
50
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed in 2 rooms, for 2 nights as we are a family of five. Close to the central train station, 1 block. helpful staff, right on the edge of the city centre. Clean, super breakfast in funky basement. Lots it interesting quirky facts about the hotel. We would recommend to anyone travelling to Malmo.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Skip the business like hotels and stay here instead! this hotel has a lot of history and a personal feel to it! Some parts of the hotel dates back to the 14th century.
Definitely lives up to the good reviews here.

We stayed in a family room which was very well priced. The room was well taken care of and was very cozy :) could have been a bit better cleaned, but it didn't matter. No AC, but we don't get that good weather in sweden so it's not really needed anyhow. And I would hate to see the old rustic feeling destroyed by it.

Breakfast was superb, best I've ever had in a hotel!

It's in a very good and central location next to the main square in Malmö, with the train-station very close by.

Service was also very good and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NilsNils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham, england
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way from Kastrup to Ystad based on other people's reviews and the hotel being in walking distance of the station.
Apart from a 200 metre detour - my fault - because we had used the West exit from the station rather than the South I can think of nothing critical to say about this hotel.
The staff including the manager were very friendly and welcoming; the room was perfectly adequate for our purposes and included a floor-standing fan which was very useful as it was pleasantly hot the night we stayed.
Breakfast buffet was plentiful with a good selection available.
All in all a delight to stay here; we would definitely stay again if Malmo called.
There are a few steps between the street and reception but there are staff within earshot to assist if required.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsverygrimupnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

I've just checked out of the Mayflower Tunneln Hotel and since I'm waiting for my ride, I thought I should post my review immediately. I arrive around 19:30 last night, was met by a very friendly receptionist who was full of advice. When I asked David what a foreigner should do in one evening in Malmo, he was full of suggestions, all of which were good. After I returned from seeing his recommended sites and dining in his recommended square, David seemed genuinely pleased that I had enjoyed my stay.

The room was great, very comfortable bed. I was very excited to see a fan near to the bed, as well as the apparatus to make coffee in the morning. The only small con of the room was that the bathroom felt somewhat shoe-horned into the room. Since the hotel is hundreds of years old, that's understandable. But the shower would have been very difficult for people of wider girth than myself.

Breakfast was bountiful and rather tasty. The coffee was slightly awful, but that's standard in a lot of hotels. I don't know if I'll be back in Malmo, but I would definitely stay here again. And I will certainly recommend this hotel to anyone I know visiting Malmo.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My wife and I just returned from our annual 'pilgrimage' to Mayfair Hotel Tunneln and this time we were in the most comfortable room that we've ever had in a hotel, The receptionists were all very accommodating and helpful just as they have been on each visit. The breakfast offered the largest variety that we encountered this trip and there was obvious care taken in how it was all presented. The hotel has just finished renovating the breakfast/restaurant area and it is now much quieter and brighter than it was although it's still in the same wonderful area in the basement with old brickwork, arches etc. It's so much different than the modern cookie-cutter, impersonal chain hotels Perhaps the greatest improvement is the new restaurant. We were really quite impressed with the food and service which is far better than it was. The price is also quite reasonable. The restaurant was quite busy so it seems that others also welcomed the change. The only problem is that now that we've seen how great a hotel can be, we have become more critical of other hotels that don't measure up. We're looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Malmo Live
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Malmo Hotel
0.2 mi away
Master Johan Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Quality Hotel View
Quality Hotel View
#4 of 37 in Malmo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Malmo
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Malmo
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#11 of 37 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel Tunneln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel Tunneln

Property: Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Address: 4 Adelgatan, Malmo 211 22, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malmo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#3 Best Value Hotel in Malmo
#4 Business Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Hotel Tunneln 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayfair Hotel Tunnlen, is an award winning hotel, situated in the absolute center of Malmö. 150m from the train staion, and 50m form the main shopping street. The building dates back to 1307 and is full of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Mayfair Hotel Tunneln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing