We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy rooms in rustic milieu, central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy rooms in rustic milieu, central location”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel lies directly opposite of the central station, thus very close to public transportation.

I was booked for a single room and expected a small crib but instead was given quite a spacious room; the bed could be adjusted, the bathroom was clean. Coffeemachine, waterboiler included. Breakfasted was included in the roomrate and offered both warm and cold servings. Check in and check out was rapid. Staff polite.

Personally, I prefer more modern interior but this was a nice and cozy hotel with a genuine rustic atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirAr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    312
    69
    11
    2
See reviews for
146
406
51
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is an old historical hotel with many stories to tell. I booked a single room that had a view of the inner courtyard. The room was equipped with everything I needed, but was very simple. The bed was good and comfy. There was no air conditioning and it was unseasonably hot. They did have a rotary fan which worked fine. Like other reviewers mentioned, the character and charm of this hotel is what makes it unique. I loved the old furnishings and the tea room on the main floor. The best part of my stay at the Tunneln was the breakfast. It is held in the 700 year old (if I remember correctly) cellar and had a wide assortment of Swedish frukost items. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: A room with a street view might be better that the inner court view. There was also some noise comin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

With a 2 minute walk from the central station, the hotel is perfectly situated. It is easy to access, but as the say not accessible for wheelchair users. The historic tones and fo marble stair cases make the hotel beautiful and unique but don't bring things you don't want to carry. From the lobby to the rooms there is a lift. Several channels are in English and wifi is free and easy. I stayed for one night on business and it was a perfect, quaint room - the desk came with a story. The doors are manual keys with a big keychain, no electronic cards here. Staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay again and recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandvika, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is a ok hotel but could easy be a good hotel. The rooms are big but are missing soul. The beds are quite hard and the wifi is not very good. The breakfast is great in the old cellar. Here they could easy made more atmosphere there. All in all quite ok.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorgen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Whether it is for business or pleasure I will definitely return to the Mayfair Hotel when I'm in Malmo next. On arriving at the Hotel which is only a few minutes away from the train station, you are welcomed by a picturesque facade and friendly staff. The rooms are extremely cosy, and the beds felt like sleeping on a cloud.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keited24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Cozy hotel in old style. The rooms are slightly smaller in reality than they seem on the web. Good breakfast. The restaurant in the basement SOT, has a great Tapas - not cheap, but good. I can highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klaus_Jensen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmette, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We loved all the history that was in this hotel and they are great at displaying pictures, articles and even doing a quiz at the front desk! This was a cozy place just around the corner from the town square and close to the restaurants and cafes. Malmo is small so it is all pretty easy. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Parking across the street (for a fee) but glad to have it so easy and close by. Breakfast was very good- in the downstairs which dates to the 1300's!!! Beds were very comfortable and had a very good nights sleep.

Room Tip: We had a room for 2 and we upgraded a bit to get a bigger room- my kids had a room for 3 and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToniS1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Malmo Live
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Malmo Hotel
0.2 mi away
Master Johan Hotel
Master Johan Hotel
#2 of 37 in Malmo
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Malmo
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Malmo
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#13 of 37 in Malmo
1,340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Noble House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel Tunneln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel Tunneln

Property: Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Address: 4 Adelgatan, Malmo 211 22, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malmo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#4 Business Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Hotel Tunneln 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayfair Hotel Tunnlen, is an award winning hotel, situated in the absolute center of Malmö. 150m from the train staion, and 50m form the main shopping street. The building dates back to 1307 and is full of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Mayfair Hotel Tunneln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing