We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Western Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We stayed in four different hotels in Sweden. They were all good, but the Mayfair was definitely the best. Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable and had a lot of character with its beams. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, as were the breakfast staff, and the breakfast has something for everyone. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from within easy walking distance and we were able to park our car in the street overnight. All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakeslink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    294
    63
    10
    1
See reviews for
128
387
50
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I needed a place to stay while looking at Malmö and sleep one night before catching the train and it was a good experience. Service is very friendly, location perfect (not at the noisy street where most hotels are, but one road behind, very quite).
Only thing to complain about is the room, singles are very small, shower tiny and TV antique and small. Would need an upgrade.
Nice breakfast in beautiful cellar

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedgeman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vienna
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Booked this hotel due to its good reviews on tripadvisor and its central location 1 min from malmö central station. Got a great rate on booking.com (about 100 euro for a deluxe room with breakfast). When arriving we were upgraded to a a even better room with a great bath including a jacuzzi and a rain-shower. Buffet style breakfast was served in the historic cellar of the building and offer a wide selection of foods, so there is something for everyone.
Can recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank -Man0nTheMove-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

After having heard only good thing of this small but popular hotel, we choose to book it for our wedding night. We stayed in a very charming suite in two floors, the lower one with a cosy sitting area and the upper one with a fantastic bedroom with a lot of charm. The suite has two bathrooms, one of them with a yaccuzi. Everything was very clean and of high class. The bed was comfortable and large.
The hotel is well located in the city centre, very close to a number of good restaurants and bars. The staff is friendly and helpful.
I can highly recommend to book the suite for a romantic get away!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank October1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Been to many Hotels one of the better ones:
- Conveniently located for Business in Copenhagen and Malmö
- Friendly and efficient service
- Free Broadband (Bonus) practical for business
- Room was clean and quiet, beds where comfortable nice surprise
- Touch of Culture through historical Building this makes it impractical for people that have trouble with stairs but gives it a special touch.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxonlyMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We spent one night in this hotel at the beginning of May (for a romantic getaway). We chose it for the consistantly good reviews, central location and quite good rates compared to similar hotels (for weekend rates).

We spent a lot of time discussing with the hotel staff (who were very helpful!) to figure out what type of double room we wanted. In case it saves someone the trouble here is what we found out:

Grandlit rooms are the smallest double rooms. Standard double, double de luxe, superior double and superior de luxe vary in size and there is not a consistent difference in size between the categories. Instead the different is "quality". De luxe rooms have wooden ceiling beams, heated bathroom floors and adjustable beds (i.e. you can adjust the height of the head and foot with a remote control). Superior rooms are the same but also have a "bathtub-size" jacuzzi. Superior de luxe rooms have a "full-size" jacuzzi. For a weekend in May the rates we were quoted were 965 SEK (standard), 1095 (de luxe), 1495 (superior) and 1995 (superior de luxe). They also had family rooms which sleep four people for 1395.

We chose the Superior room with the small jacuzzi, and it was really nice. We were in the "Victoria" room which has its own entrance off a small courtyard, so very quiet. Note that as far as we could tell this was the ONLY hotel in Malmö offering jacuzzis in the regular rooms (i.e. not only in suites, costing twice as much).

As others have noted the location is perfect (very close to the train station and old center) and the included buffet breakfast is fabulous, served in the beautiful cellar. We would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again if we had the opportunity!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kymberand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Sussex
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

We had flown into Copenhagen airport and needed somewhere within easy reach in Sweden, so chose Malmo (in fact the airport is only just the other side of the bridge, so it was quicker to get here than we'd expected).
The hotel doesn't look quite as grand in daylight as it does in the night shot on their website, but it had its good points:
- spacious rooms
- quiet road, close to the centre
- good breakfast with plenty to choose from in the atmospheric cellars
- secure car park opposite (you have to pay at reception) or a limited number of on-street parking spaces, but check with the hotel when you need to move the car by.
- short stroll into town with many restaurants in the square. The city park is lovely to walk in with boats for hire and pretty gardens.
downside:
- slightly faded elegance, the marbled interiors date probably from the 1930's and could do with repolishing, but nothing too serious
- if I were the hotel owner, I'd also paint the exterior, just to give a better first impression.
- there might be some noise in the peak season in summer from a nightclub located downstairs, so check with the hotel about this.
- there are steps to get up to reception, but hotel staff would be able to help.
- there's a restaurant in the cellars, serving mainly steaks, but it appeared to be shut when we were there in May and probably only opens peak season.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeLoveEurope_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Malmo Live
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Malmo Hotel
0.2 mi away
Master Johan Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Quality Hotel View
Quality Hotel View
#4 of 37 in Malmo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Malmo
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Malmo
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#11 of 37 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel Tunneln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel Tunneln

Property: Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Address: 4 Adelgatan, Malmo 211 22, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malmo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#3 Best Value Hotel in Malmo
#4 Business Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Hotel Tunneln 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayfair Hotel Tunnlen, is an award winning hotel, situated in the absolute center of Malmö. 150m from the train staion, and 50m form the main shopping street. The building dates back to 1307 and is full of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Mayfair Hotel Tunneln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing