We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Kalmar, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 10 June 2007

Great hotel with a splendid location. Tiny room but clean, cosy and quiet. The staff was very helpful. The breakfast was one of the best I ever had in the medevial cellars of the hotel. Last but not least - You pay for a budget hotel but get a first class one.

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — Fairly small room
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikael67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    312
    69
    11
    2
See reviews for
146
406
51
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,164 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 620 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2007

We were booked into this hotel with a group.When we arrived there was coffeeand tea and biscuits laid on.In fact these were constantly available from the same location throughout our stay.There is a basket of fruit and one of sweets on the reception desk.The rooms are very comfortable and airy.Though if your room faces the sun in the afternoon you must kep the sun shade down and the window open otherwise you will come back to a stuffy room.The bed is extremely comfortable.The bathroom is a bit on the small size and you must be wary as the shower is quite slippery.There is a very good buffet breakfast.The main restaurant is not currently in operation.You can get bar snacks.If i was to go back to Malmo then i would have no hesitation in booking into this hotel.

  • Liked — it was so comfortable
  • Disliked — the sun shining into the room.
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wingate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2007

Went to Malmö, for a short weekend trip. We did not know were to stay, but Googled the town. After searching we found The Mayfair hotel. It looked promising. It had a great history and looked very nice from the photos on their web site. They have also won the award of “Best hotel in Malmo”. So we thought that I was worth a try. The price we paid for a double de lux on a Saturday was 995,- sek approx 100 euro.

The train trip from Copenhagen airport took us 20 min, and the hotel was located just a 5 min walk form the station. It was really amazing how little time it took us from the arrival hall at the airport to the momet we were standing in the hotel lobby.

The staff was very friendly, and spoke very good English.

Now we just had to find our room.
The directions we were give are as follows. “You go up on stare, then go all the way to the right, then you go two stairs down”. Sounds fare, and it was, well not really, but quite allot of stairs. What was nice though, was that when you walk to your room, you walk though a very lovely hotel corridor full with old pictures of the kings and princesses, governors and states men who have visited the hotel. There was even a poster with an article of the Beatles, having dinner in the hotel in 1965.

The room. It was a very nice and clean room. Fairly spacious, with a lovely new bathroom, and bathtub. The bed was superb, and the little balcony, overlooking the inner courtyard of the hotel, was just great. There was a huge flatsceen TV on the wall, very nice. Plenty of free movie channels (most in English) , coffee and tea in the room, as well as mineral water free of charge, and free wireless internet as well.

The restaurant. We were tired after a long day of sightseeing, check Malmo hus, and the Turning Tower, both worth while. Anyway we decide to eat at the hotel. Now this restaurant is located next to the reception, and looks quite different that the rest of the hotel. It is made in an art deco style with lost of brass and mirrors. Not quite to my liking, but the personnel were very helpful and service minded, and the food was quite ok and the prices were reasonable. So all in all a nice dinner experience.

The breakfast. Once again, a lot of stairs to overcome. But what a breakfast room. 700 years old vaulted room, with a truly wonderful breakfast buffet. All that you could want. Ok the coffee was not strong enough, and no freshly made scrambled eggs but otherwise truly a great breakfast.

To sum up. Wonderful stay, great staff and great rooms, super breakfast, but not the best coffee.:)

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank alkispan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2007

We stayed in this hotel for a couple of days before heading further north. The location is very good – it’s close to the train station and to the main shopping and eating areas. Handy when you’ve just got off the train from Kastrup airport.

It is a great hotel. Friendly staff, with excellent English, helpful too – the left luggage room was really useful. There's a lounge where you can have the typical Swedish “Kaffe och kaka” (coffee and cakes). There's also a PC with internet access which was of great help when our flights were delayed.

But the five stars goes to the breakfast buffet! What a spread… I think the table was about 5 metres long and had everything you can think of. Eggs, bacon, sausage, bread for toasting, rye bread, Danish pastries, muffins, rolls, fresh fruit, smoked and boiled ham, prawns, smoked salmon, herring, picked cucumber, jams and spreads and honey, juices, DIY muesli, proper milk and “filmjölk” a kind of thin yoghurt/soured milk, cereals, and much more. I went up about 3 or 4 times, and took my time. It meant I had lots of energy for the morning activities and didn’t need lunch until much later on. It’s served in the 13th century basement so there’s a real character to your breakfast.

The room was a “superior double” with a compact ensuite shower room, and built in wardrobe, ample power points, telephone and satellite TV. The bed was comfortable and of a good size, our window overlooked the alley to the Big Square and there was some noise late at night but nothing a Londoner can’t handle. It was a good sized room, tastefully decorated and too “corporate” for a Ramada hotel.

I found the weekend room rate to be really good value for the quality of the room and the breakfast and other facilities. Yes, it doesn’t have all the mod. cons. of chain hotels (spas, pool, etc.), but it’s a nice, wee, pleasant hotel.

We will be staying there again in May 2007.

  • Liked — The Breakfast!
  • Disliked — a lot of stairs
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Caledonius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2007

Just want to say that we had an absolute geat stay. Pleasently suprised. room was great, ok maybe a bit on the small side, but just lovely, with old wooden beams, and full of charisma, all just created a lovely astomsphere.

I must say. we travle a lot, but I have never stayed in a hotel with 700 years of history, and that was a treat, well preserved, and you can find the whole story through out the hotel. Mind you, if you dont care for stories of Kings, princeses and tratiors, then it is no fun.. But we loved it...

What we really also liked was the short time it took us to go and see Copenhagen, only 35 min.
We will be back, (we hope).

  • Liked — The history of the building, and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — room not that large, but ok
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Thor72Ger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2007

Stayed at this hotel in October 2006, and found it to be an excellent base for exploring both the Malmo region and Copenhagen - the train station is located about 4 minutes walk away.

The staff were attentive and friendly and spoke excellent english, and proffered very useful advice. Worth buying train tickets from the reception as opposed to at the station itself if travelling to Copenhagen - same price but a lot easier.

The hotel is located at the end of the shopping area and only a 5 minute walk from Lilletorg, the main square with restaurants. this is important as the hotel does not have an evening restaurant itself. Excellent choice of food to be had in Sweden, and we were not disappointed with the quality at all. Also felt very safe walking around Malmo at night. Beware though, eating out is not a cheap option and be prepared for about £30 a head, including a bottle of wine for most evening meals. Would recommend having a meal at the restaurant located under the Town Hall for a special treat.

The breakfast at the hotel is both plentiful and of an excellent standard, providing an excellent start to the day. The ambience of the breakfast room is also something special.

We stayed for 4 nights, including over a weekend, and were located in a very comfortable room alongside the alley that leads to the city hall. Only consideration is that it was a bit noisy late on Friday and Saturday nights (although our window was open), but this caused us no concern and is no different to most other city centre hotels around the world.

The rooms were pleasantly furnished and cleaned meticulously every day. Would consider the hotel to be good value for money given the higher prices in Scandanavia, but better value than you would get in the UK.

The final consideration is would I stay there again - the answer would be yes.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of evening restaurant
  • Tips/Secrets — Use the hotel's train tickets - far easier
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonlincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2006

We have stayed at Tunneln many times. It is a very good hotel
We like thesuperior rooms.

  • Liked — The romms and the breakfast
  • Disliked — The noise from the street in some room
  • Stayed February 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Semester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Malmo Live
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Malmo Hotel
0.2 mi away
Master Johan Hotel
Master Johan Hotel
#2 of 37 in Malmo
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Malmo
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Malmo
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#13 of 37 in Malmo
1,340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Noble House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel Tunneln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel Tunneln

Property: Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Address: 4 Adelgatan, Malmo 211 22, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malmo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#4 Business Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Hotel Tunneln 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayfair Hotel Tunnlen, is an award winning hotel, situated in the absolute center of Malmö. 150m from the train staion, and 50m form the main shopping street. The building dates back to 1307 and is full of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Mayfair Hotel Tunneln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing