We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming and cosy”
Reviewed 27 February 2011

The Mayfair hotel in Malmö was certainly a positive surprise! The location is ideal, next to Central railway station. Also, lot of nice restaurants and cafes nearby. The hotel itself is a nice change to the Scandinavian big hotel chains. This is something different.

The hotel from outside is very charming with old-times look. All the common areas are the same style with arches and crystal chandelliers. Very nice without being too posh and elitistic.

My room was in fourth floor, quite small but with a charming attic room feeling. I had everything I needed there, the bed was very comfortamble and the room was very tidy. This is an old building so of course some noise can be heard from the street and neighbour rooms. But nothing too disturbing and the hotel seemed to be on a more quite part of the street, even though its central location.

Breakfast was the best I have had for a long time. And service was excellent! Can also recommend the "mirror" bar in the hotel first floor. Had the best time there and listened to nice live music. Will definitely stay here next time I'm in Malmö!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mhj026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    298
    66
    10
    1
See reviews for
131
396
50
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Hotel in old style. Kept with respect for this. Old Poirot style elevator!
Cosy atmosphere, friendly staff. And 5 minutes from Central Station and the shopping streets.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

I recently booked a romantic get-away with my girlfriend to Malmö and decided upon Mayfair Hotell Tunneln because of the reviews and the charming looks of the place. The hotel is centrally located in the city and has its charms, but upon arriving to our room we found the roller-blind next to the bed lying on the floor. The problem was reported within an half an hour of the (early) chech in, as we were staying on the secon floor opposite a five-floor building. The problem was to be taken care of, but upon our return to the hotel the roler-blind was removed and there was no other way to shield the direct view of the bed from the opposite building. A new complaint to the front desk was without reslut, and romantic get-away was suddenly much less so. The problem may sound commonplace, but I booked one of the more expensive hotels in town in order not to have such misshaps destroying a christmas present. Not the value I expected.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrunfSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Cozy rooms, nice staff, excellent breakfast buffet but most importantly unique historic atmosphere - you can read about the 700+ years of history on the hallway walls - and great value for money. We paid 900 dkr for a nights stay in a double deluxe room and it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thesmilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyborg, Danmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Lovely hotel with atmosphere that lives up to its 4 stars. Are you afraid of old buildings and crooked stairs you should rather choose another hotel. Excellent central location. Lovely breakfast in the historic cellar.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWKronborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We spent three days here in early August, having chosen the hotel over the Internet because of its centrality. It's a hotel with history, and the hotel owners are proud of it. Many prints and portraits hanging in the halls deal with its origins, development and famous owners, as it started as a grand town house with shops below. It was very hot while we were there, and as with most places in Scandinavia, there is no air conditioning, but we were provided with a fan which the staff had thoughtfully turned on well before we turned up, so the room was a pleasant temperature. The room was small-ish, but well appointed, with a good double bed, desk, chairs, TV, electric kettle and makings for coffee or tea. The en-suite bathroom was again small and typically Scandinavian (we have lived in Scandinavia and so are accustomed to the way bathrooms are typically laid out) but very adequate for purpose, clean and supplied with toiletries. Staff were always smiling and helpful. The lift was a wonderful survivor from the 1920s, all polished brass and fine woods, but if you have children with you, watch their fingers! For us, the highlight of travelling in Scandinavia are the breakfasts in hotels: smorgåsbord-style and with lots and lots to choose from. Every morning there were trays of breads and rolls, freshly sliced vegetables and fruits, pickles, yoghurt (plain and flavoured), filmjolk (a soured milk that's lovely with jam or honey -- try it!), boiled and scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, charcuterie, breakfast cereals (including porrige), tea, coffee and fruit juices, and a chaffing dish full of the most delicious pancakes. All this was served in the atmospheric medieval cellars under the hotel. In the afternoons, the hotel provided a pleasant public room with coffee, tea and biscuits, which we found a very nice way to refresh ourselves after a day of walking around the city. I would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laukel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We recently got married in Malmö, Sweden and the Mayfair Hotel is where we suggested that our visitors stay. The hotel was just perfect. It has an old feel to it that you can't get in a chain hotel, but at the same time it was very well maintained. The hotel staff was exceptionally friendly and helped out-of-town guests with everything from locating sightseeing destinations to finding a good place to run to tracking down article that we left behind after check-out. I heard no negative comments about the hotel from ANY of our guests. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and the hotel was very accommodating in terms of early check-ins and changes in travel plans. The budget single rooms were quite small, but the doubles were spacious (some even had a large jacuzzi tub), and the honeymoon suite was fantastic. Lastly, the location couldn't be better. It is in the heart of downtown Malmö but on a fairly quiet street so the noise wasn't too bad at night. Thank you Mayfair for a wonderful stay and good memories!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vveldkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Malmo Live
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Malmo Hotel
0.2 mi away
Master Johan Hotel
Master Johan Hotel
#2 of 37 in Malmo
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Malmo
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Malmo
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#11 of 37 in Malmo
1,256 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Hotel View
Quality Hotel View
#4 of 37 in Malmo
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel Tunneln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel Tunneln

Property: Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Address: 4 Adelgatan, Malmo 211 22, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malmo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#4 Business Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Hotel Tunneln 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayfair Hotel Tunnlen, is an award winning hotel, situated in the absolute center of Malmö. 150m from the train staion, and 50m form the main shopping street. The building dates back to 1307 and is full of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mayfair Hotel Tunneln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing