We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
First Hotel Jorgen Kock
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Malmo
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
183 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Simple hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

A simple hotel - not easy to find! The rooms are okey but the over all standard feels a bit ruff - more like an old highway motel in a remote area. The best thing about this place is the wonderful women who works at the breakfast room.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gelkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    157
    103
    58
    21
See reviews for
99
128
44
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

First Hotel Jorgen Kock is not a place to visit with family or friends. The service is poor, the standard is low, the food i terrible and the general understanding of family needs are non-existant.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FHGM, General Manager at First Hotel Jorgen Kock, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Thank you for your review. I'm very sorry that you feel like this after a visit on our hotel. Usually we get a lot of positiv responses from families since we have very large rooms and are flexible in the reception and breakfast. Please contact us so that you can tell us more about your stay at our hotel.
Looking forward talking to you.

Best regards
First Hotel Jörgen Kock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malmo hotels

Paris, France
Level Contributor
217 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

Overall my overnight stay was rather average.

My usual place in Malmö was fully booked so I chose this hotel only for its competitive price and convenient location next to the central station. Booked my stay on First Hotels own website - booking process short and easy, single room at a summer pre-paid rate of 598 SEK/night.

Check-in was slow and I felt like I was disturbing - I waited at the reception while two staff members kept chatting with each other and did not acknowledge me. During my entire stay the whole staff was often cold, polite at best - very unusual for Sweden.
I was given a double room which was surprisingly large but with basic amenities only: two closets with a few coat hangers, small desk with a chair, old TV, basic but comfortable bed.
Bathroom is also small but shower and WC were spotlessly clean.

Breakfast buffet is well-presented and tasty. Large choice of products e.g. yoghurts, herrings, cold cuts, bread. Warm food included meatballs, bacon and particularly tasty scrambled eggs. There were enough Swedish morning newspapers in the breakfast room.

No free coffee/tea in the lobby - very disappointing.

No Internet corner in the lobby - fortunately Internet machines are available in the train station.

All in all I would come back again only if the fare is attractive. Otherwise there are better hotels to choose from in this price category.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank q-sto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FHGM, Manager at First Hotel Jorgen Kock, responded to this review, 3 September 2010
Thank you for your comments and that you brought it to our attention.
The only thing we can do is to appologies for the way we served you and we will attend to the matter so it will not happen again.
All though you had a bad experience we hope that you will choose us again the next time you visit Malmö.

Best regards
First Hotel Jörgen Kock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ski Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2009

This hotel scores on two points: location and price. The location next to the trainstation is excellent, although you are on the "wrong side" compared to the city center. When I checked prices this was one of the most affordable in the area. The hotel look a bit tired, both outside and inside. Everything is clean though, and some renovation has been done. Had a laugh about the hotel brochure in the room mentioning what refurbishing work should be done in 2007 though... :-)

Staff was a bit mixed, when I arrived the guy at the frontdesk was nice, but when passing through the lobby at later occasions I was never greeted once, the staff was often "busy" talking to each other. I'm perfectly fine with that - but some might find it a bit rude.

Something that also might shock some people is the construction work going on right beside the hotel. Again - I was fine eith it since I had to get up for meetings any way. At approx 7.15 the work started - heavy machinery hammering away. I'm a really heavy sleeper - but there's no chance whatsoever that I could sleep through that. :-)

Breakfast was good, but actually not as much to choose from as in the other First hotel (Garden) in Malmö.

In conclusion: I might stay there again because of location and price, but except for that there's nothing "special" about the place.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isak A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croatia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

We stayed for three nights in this hotel and were very pleased.
Hotel is centrally located and transportation can be reached in less then 10 minutes walking.
Our room was spacious and clean,and bed was so somfortable!
Breakfast was good with lots of things to choose from.
The reception staff were helpful and friendly

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik0lina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2008

This is an old apartment block that has been converted into a hotel. It is centrally located. Less than 5 minutes walking distance to Stortorget and the city centre.

The hotel is very basic. The room was spacious with a sterile feeling bathroom. Nothing "homey" or cozy about this place at all. The TV was an old piece of equipment that didn't really work properly. We had to get the TV exchanged. The hotel doesn't have satellite TV so the channels are limited. No CNN or BBC.

While we were there the temperature averaged 24-30C and the room got unbearably hot. There was no air-conditioning in the room and the ventilation was bad.

Their breakfast was nice with a wide variety of breads, cold cuts, vegetables and fruits. We were there in high season so by the time we got up to have breakfast around 9 am, most things were finished. We stayed at the hotel for a total of 10 days and we noticed that the breakfast buffet wasn't really replenished. So first come first served. Imagine that after all the families with children had devoured the buffet.

The "common room" had free tea and coffee 24/7. No tea and coffee facilities in the room and no room service. Free Swedish newspapers available. Free internet, fax and photocopy facilities. To access the internet in the room was a nightmare. Slow access and sometimes no connectivity at all. We had to get a new login and password from the reception everyday in order to use the wireless in the room.

The reception staff was friendly but very unprofessional. The breakfast staff didnt even acknowledge the guests.

The website is misleading. It brought our expectations up and their rates are not worth it (although it was a special). We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Liked — The breakast, whenever it was replenished.
  • Disliked — The sterile hospital feel of the bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HCJonsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2008

The hotel used to be a apartment building for shipyard workers and even though it has gone through several renovations, there is still the apartment complex feeling in the building. The corridors are awful the stairs and elevators not worthy a hotel. The room layout is weird, but I read in the guide it is because all the rooms used to have a small kitchen, now removed. The hotel gave me a cramped feeling of being kept there against my will, which is not what I look for when paying 1400 SEK for a standard room. The outside of the building is currently under renovation so when I got up in the morning there was a man standing outside my window - on the fourth floor - looking in. Not very pleasant. Breakfast was ok, but not the high standard you get used to when travelling in Sweden. Location is very good, 5 minutes from the central station, but still i do not recommed staying here, there are dozens of better hotels with equally good location and better price.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Appearance
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Wiehager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#10 of 38 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Gamla Staden
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#21 of 38 in Malmo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Gamla Staden
Moment Hotels
Moment Hotels
#17 of 38 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
Scandic S:t Jorgen
Scandic S:t Jorgen
#15 of 38 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Jorgen Kock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Jorgen Kock

Property: First Hotel Jorgen Kock
Address: Jorgen Kocksgatan 3, Malmo 211 20, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Jorgen Kock 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Jorgen Kock, located in downtown Malmo, offers a homey atmosphere and spacious rooms comfortably furnished in an international style. The hotel bistro features an open fire and a hotel bar. We offer all our guests free coffee all day as well as free wireless internet connection. Welcome to Malmo and First Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Jorgen Kock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing