We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“language discrimination” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of First Hotel Jorgen Kock

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
First Hotel Jorgen Kock
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Malmo
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
150 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“language discrimination”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We booked this hotel at short notice via internet which all went well. Before booking we had contacted the hotel ans asked if we could bring our two dogs, which waesn't a problem, and no extra charge.
At arrival my (swedish) wife went for a walk with the dogs, during which I would check-in (I'm danish). I got the room, but quickly found out that it was a smoker room - I went back to the reception and asked for a non-smoker room (in danish - which is understandable in this part of sweden), and was told that it was not possible, cause the smoker rooms was also the rooms for dogs, but I could get a fresh air spray. My wife is allergic to smoke which I told the receptionist, but without any luck. I instead told him that I would discuss this with my wife and make a decision. When my wife came back we decided to book another hotel (which allows dogs and has non-smoking rooms), and then my wife told the receptionist (in swedish) that we wanted to check-out - and suddenly there was no problem - we could get a non-smoker room! Well that has to be the first - discrimination because of my language! It was quite late so, we decided to stay at the hotel. The rooms are a good size, a bit worn, but clean. The breakfast buffet is quite large. I wanted to give the hotel a least an 'average', but because og the language discrimination it's a 'poor', so before you visit the hotel, brush up on your swedish, cause it will give you a better service!

Room Tip: Be sure that your swedish is ok, and if you bring dogs can get a non-smoker room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freqtravAarhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    150
    98
    57
    21
See reviews for
95
124
44
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalmar, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

This is the second time we came to First Hotel Jorgen Kock and it was really good. The room was spacious, hotel staff very friendly and the breakfast also very good. A playroom is a plus for families. The only downside was the while the room was clean, it was not spotless. Nevertheless, we'll come back for sure as long as they keep the standard and prices.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Family_from_Kalmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

The plusses: The hotels accepts dogs at no extra charge. The desk and kitchen staff were extremely pleasant and accomodating. The breakfast is fantastic. Large rooms with a very clean bathroom. Very comfortable beds. While not air conditioned there are large windows that open fully and the hotel's proximity to the water means it is cool and airy at night. Parking is very easy to find on the street and there is also a garage right across the street.
The minus: While the bathroom and linens were very clean the room itself , even though it was a smoking room, really did not need to have such a heavy odor. Also the service varied greatly from day to day, everything great 1 day, no towels the next, 2 towels thrown in the bathroom the next but nothing else done.
If you are bringing a dog and you do NOT smoke you may want to make sure that the room you are getting is not a smoking room.
Overall we considered it good value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olga118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

A perfectly fine hotel if you don't expect luxury or things taken for granted elsewhere, such as flat screen TV, minibar and in-room safety deposit box. The staff are exceptionally nice and accommodating. Buffet breakfast is excellent, lots of choices and top quality ingredients, and free news-papers (in Swedish) are always available. Location, two blocks behind the Central Station, is a short walk to the airport train, central Malmo and buses stop at the station if you need to go further. Rooms are relatively large, albeit a bit dated, as are hall ways and elevators.TV was an old model on wheels, and the offering of channels was missing international news such as BBC or CNN. The TV was off to the side of the bed so you could not watch it comfortably while in bed. A flat screen installed on the wall would be a great improvement. Another odd feature were the wardrobes, where clothes racks run from back to front instead of side to side, an awkward way to hang your clothes. No tub but a walk in shower with good water pressure. The room was comfortable but could be improved upon. I spent 8 nights there, slept very well and was impressed with the helpfulness of the staff. They really outdid themselves. I'd stay at this hotel again but would like to see some minor upgrades, such as an in room safe, flat screen TV etc. I'd also suggest the hotel look into changing their laundry soap or fabric softener for nicer smelling linens, they currently have a chemical not so pleasant scent.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckinsobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Stayed here one night returning from Copenhagen. Just 5 mins walk from the Malmo central train station and a short walk away from the main city square. The hotel is nothing fancy but the rooms were cozy and warm with comfortable beds. One of the cheaper hotels close to the city center and decent value for money by Swedish standards where hotels can be expensive. The breakfast included in the room price was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nishan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Hotel is 5mins away from central train station and 10mins from the center of Malmo.
Its in the business area and its very quiet and convenient. Room and bed was very comfy and warm considering chilly Sweden weather.
And most important thing: breakfast! There was many varieties from cheese to grains, eggs, meat, amazing Swedish breads, many different flavors of yogurt, vegetables, coffee etc.
Service was ready to help, and there is nice sitting are with fire place and complementary coffee from the machine that you can enjoy in the afternoon.
I will definitely stay with First next time when i visit Malmo and Sweden!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

This hotel is perfect in so many ways! Close to the train station and town centre yet quiet! Clean, warm spacious rooms, comfortable beds, hot shower...
Breakfast was totaly unexpectedly amazing. So much on offer - from many different cereals, breads, yogurts, cheeses, jams, cold meats and the list goes on and on! Fantastic value for money! If i ever get back to Sweden I will stay with First.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snepol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#10 of 38 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Gamla Staden
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#21 of 38 in Malmo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Gamla Staden
Scandic S:t Jorgen
Scandic S:t Jorgen
#15 of 38 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
Moment Hotels
Moment Hotels
#19 of 38 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Jorgen Kock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Jorgen Kock

Property: First Hotel Jorgen Kock
Address: Jorgen Kocksgatan 3, Malmo 211 20, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Jorgen Kock 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Jorgen Kock, located in downtown Malmo, offers a homey atmosphere and spacious rooms comfortably furnished in an international style. The hotel bistro features an open fire and a hotel bar. We offer all our guests free coffee all day as well as free wireless internet connection. Welcome to Malmo and First Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your First Hotel Jorgen Kock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing