We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly In Need of repair”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
First Hotel Jorgen Kock
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Reviewed 29 June 2006

This was my second stay at the First Hotel Jorgen Kock. I decided to give the hotel a second chance since my first experience in 2005 wasn’t ‘terrible’ and the price was reasonable. Alas, the proprietor appears to be allowing a fair situation to turn worse.

First I’ll point out some of the positives. The lobby and dining areas are clean and attractive. The breakfast spread is adequate for the business traveler. Wireless internet access is a plus. The staff was friendly. It’s also a short 5 minute walk to the train station.

On to the negatives: There are no power outlets in the bathroom area. The room and hallway carpets are stained and dirty appearing. Room walls and doors bear the scars of too many careless travelers. The room I occupied had unpainted drywall repair (see photo). One of the mattresses smelled dreadful – possibly of urine.

In short, this is a property badly in need of upgrade – adequate for the very tolerant overnight traveler on a strict budget.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCBandersnatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2005

This is a clean hotel with pretty large rooms but i dont like the hotel very much. I cannot put my finger on just whats wrong but the feeling in the brickstone corridor just doesnt make this feel like a hotel. The breakfast is ok, average i should say.
No, i wouldnt suggest this hotel in Malmo there are better options within this pricerange.

Stayed: October 2002
3  Thank Hotelvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2005

This hotel was perfect for what we needed from a hotel in Malmo. Location wise, it was a 5 minute walk from the station, and only a little more to the old part of the town, where all of the restaurants and squares an be found.

The rooms were big, the beds comfortable and the bathroom was very clean.

Breakfast here was great. A lot of things to choose from, you could almost fill up for lunch and breakfast!

The reception staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank borris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2005

This was the first of two hotels in Malmo that I stayed in on my trip to Sweden, and the First Hotel Jorgen Kock was the better of the two - i'd certainly stay here again if I return to the town. The staff were friendly, and the room was large and comfortable. Special mention must be made of the buffet breakfast, which was excellent. The hotel is less than five minutes walk from the central station, and only a little further from Lilla Torg. It's not a central location however, and it does take a little longer to walk to Malmöhus Castle, or the beach for example. I was very happy with my stay here, and i'd reccomend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KINGKONG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank miam332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Uzi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_FHJK, Hotelldirektör at First Hotel Jorgen Kock, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#13 of 37 in Malmo
1,445 reviews
Gamla Staden
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#20 of 37 in Malmo
627 reviews
Gamla Staden
Scandic S:t Jorgen
Scandic S:t Jorgen
#16 of 37 in Malmo
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Good Morning+ Malmo
#23 of 37 in Malmo
565 reviews
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Jorgen Kock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Jorgen Kock

Address: Jorgen Kocksgatan 3, Malmo 211 20, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
Price Range: £54 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Jorgen Kock 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Jorgen Kock, located in downtown Malmo, offers a homey atmosphere and spacious rooms comfortably furnished in an international style. The hotel bistro features an open fire and a hotel bar. We offer all our guests free coffee all day as well as free wireless internet connection. Welcome to Malmo and First Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your First Hotel Jorgen Kock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing