We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldy worldy Swedish charm”

Bullen - Tva Krogare
Ranked #4 of 824 Restaurants in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub, Swedish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
469 reviews
356 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Oldy worldy Swedish charm”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This bar/restaurant is located in a lovely old building. It's quite large, but as it is divided into several smaller rooms the cosy charm of an old inn is retained. I think they advertise themselves as something like Malmo's oldest restaurant, so it draws the tourist crowd, but there were actually a couple of tables available when I went for dinner.
The menu was fairly short and, too be honest, I didn't find it terribly interesting, but found a few satisfying options. I wanted Swedish food, so I started with a salmon tartar which tasted nice and fresh, and was served on toast with a punchy wasabi creme fraiche and pea shoots. A little different and very tasty! The main course had to be their famous veal meatballs. They deserve their reputation, they were fab, served in a whisky cream sauce and accompanied by mashed potatoes and lingonberries. A hearty meal, and very nice, indeed! Accompanied by a beer and followed by an espresso (which was surprisingly good), the bill was SEK377 without the tip. Considering you are in Sweden, that wasn't bad.
Service was refreshingly prompt, professional, and friendly. The waitress spoke fluent English with a strong Irish accent, but denied being Irish, saying she picked up the accent working in an Irish pub. Who knows?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ullabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    220
    57
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not the #1 in Malmö!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

really not sure why this restaurant is ranked number 1 restaurant in Malmö. There are a number of restaurants that are much better - Plocke Pinn, Mysteri, Kin Long and Båstard to name a few.

Very average food here...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yipity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A taste of what Sweden used to be like”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Fantastic Swedish "Husmanskost"
Today I had kålpudding for lunch. The best I've ever tasted. A must for anyone who wants a bite of the delicious food culture from the 20th century of Sweden

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Göteborg
Level Contributor
459 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Good home food, a bit overpriced”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I had a pleasant dinner at Två Krogare in July 2013.
The meatballs were excellent, although rather expensive.
It is a delicious homefood, much better than what you can find in most of the restaurants on Lilla Torg.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillaume R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
601 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 555 helpful votes
“The Best of Swedish Comfort Food”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

It's no wonder this place is rated best! The old tavern that has stood the test of time, it has a charming and cozy atmosphere, almost like coming home after being away for a long time. The bartender/server greeted most customers like they were family - you could tell that this is a local favourite. At the table next to us, four old gentlemen (maybe in their 70s) gathered and exchanged familiar greetings - this seemed their regular gathering spot.

We came right after the lunch menu stopped being served, so we ordered from the dinner menu. We had silltallrik (herring plate - which my boyfriend had and liked), skaldjur (a bowl soup of shrimps drenched in garlic butter - delicious!), kottbullar (Swedish meat balls with mashed potatoes and lingonberry sauce), a sommersby and a guiness - and this all cost 565 kroner.
My favourite part of the meal were the meatballs - the meat was perfectly seasoned, not dry at all, very flavourful, and drenched in whiskey cream sauce. Perfection.
I would go back here in a heartbeat!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Bug81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bullen - Tva Krogare also viewed

Malmo, Skane County
Malmo, Skane County
 
Malmo, Skane County
 

Been to Bullen - Tva Krogare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing