We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now with free wi-fi”
Review of First Hotel JA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
First Hotel JA
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Karlskrona
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Much of this new review is as before. Nice friendly staff, comfortable beds and a nice breakfast choice. Small hot and cold gratis buffet in the evening if you buy a drink.

Nice new touch is the free wi-fi but on the negative side what ever happened to the towels? They're now the size of dish cloths!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TurboKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for First Hotel JA
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013

Nice comfy beds, nice rich breakfast, friendly staf.
Nothing wrong with the place. But it is worn and way overpriced.
Location is good in the middle of town, but I found no way of getting the car close. So be prepered to carry your luggage.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 42Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

A nice, clean and comfortable hotel. The staff are very cooperative and extremely warm and polite. The room was small but neatly decorated and spotless (well, there was a coffee table there which I used to stumble on, I don't know if it was my clumsiness or the room size!) The bathroom was good though a bit small (specially the shower). I liked the character of the hotel; the old staircase was pretty and so was the entrance.
The breakfast was fine - decent in terms of quality and quantity.
There is a small bar downstairs which can be of interest, considering the fact that you are in a small Swedish city and it is not very easy to find something to drink after it gets dark. However, the bar was very expensive and did not serve drinks after midnight.
I cannot comment on location since Karlskrona is a small city and no matter where you stay, everything is just a short walk away. That being said, the street in which this hotel is located looks pretty nice.
The price is on the high side but I guess that is what you have to pay in other hotels in the area as well.
All in all, it was a good experience and I would stay there again if I ever come back to Karlskrona.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohmov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Nice, small hotel right in the middle of Karlskrona. Within walking distance of the train station but uphill most of the way . Bed rooms and bathrooms are are on the small side but immaculately clean and quiet. Small bar and lounge area. Breakfast buffet is very good quality / choice and replenished often. The staff are very helpful and wifi now in all bedrooms.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TurboKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

The hotel is in the city center of Karlskrona. It is a nice location to start strolls through the shopping area and to find restaurants. The parking is hidden and hard to find, but the garage is located behind the hotel attached to the shopping gallery that is part of the building.
The rooms are small, but still ok for two people. They are renovated and look quite new. The bathroom, on the other side, is old and looks pretty used. The smell of the water was not really what we had expected.
The breakfast selection is good, the breakfast area gets a little crowded in the mornings if the hotel is well booked. There is free coffee and cake throughout the day available at the breakfast area.
Again, the staff did not talk a lot and we did not feel very welcome, but rather disturbing when we got there and when we checked out. Nobody was asking us if we would need help finding our way around or anything else.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary0128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

I've been to Karlskrona 3 times on business and have always stayed at the First Ja hotel. During my first trip, the room was very average and the bathroom left a lot to be desired. However, for the next two trips, my room was nice, a standard business hotel room, with a clean, though small, bathroom.

Pros:
+ Location in the centre of the city
+ Very helpful receptionists
+ Free coffee and cake in the evenings
+ Close to restaurants
+ Rooms are comfortable
+ Good breakfast

Cons:
- Bathrooms are small. Shower stall especially is quite small
- Breakfast area tends to be crowded
- Quite expensive, almost €150/night last time I stayed there

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatboytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

I say surprising, because first impressions are not the best. Getting into the hotel from the underground car park is a bit of a puzzle - you have to go up a level, search around to find the entrance, and then wheel your cases past the bemused shoppers in the small shopping mall. The reception has a bit of a dated feel, and the bathrooms could do with an upgrade, but after that we really can't fault this place at all.
Our room was spacious, comfortable and tastefully decorated, the breakfast was plentiful and good quality (the make-your-own waffle machine was especially welcome!) and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
In terms of the town, this too is a great base for a two or three day stay. If you do visit, I recommend you take the FREE ferry across to the small island of Aspo which provided a really pleasant afternoon's walking along unspoilt tracks and really quite roads.
The Michelangelo restaurant is highly recommended too - we went twice on a three night stay which says it all really.
Very, very happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolo_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karlskrona
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Carlscrona
0.2 mi away
Scandic Karlskrona
Scandic Karlskrona
#2 of 7 in Karlskrona
574 reviews
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Statt Karlskrona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aston Hotel
Aston Hotel
#5 of 7 in Karlskrona
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotell Conrad
Hotell Conrad
#4 of 7 in Karlskrona
134 reviews
22.4 mi away
Eriksberg Hotel & Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel JA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel JA

Address: 13 Borgmaestaregatan, Karlskrona 371 35, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Blekinge County > Karlskrona
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Karlskrona
Price Range: £75 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel JA 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel JA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing