We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Placed central in Karlskrona”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of First Hotel JA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
First Hotel JA
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Karlskrona
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Placed central in Karlskrona”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed 2 days at First Hotel Ja. The Hotel is placed central in Karlskrona and within walking distance to all the sights and restaurants in the town. It wasn't possible for me to short-time park my car in front of the hotel, but had to find a public parkering and then walk back to hotel for check-in. The staff at the frontdesk was friendly, but lacked of knowledge about parking places and parking costs. So I didn't ask them more about other stuff like info about sights in the town. They handed me a map of the town and I found a parking house myself. The room was small but clean and silent, and free coffee in the lobby. Breakfast was really good. Supermarket open from 7am-10pm is located around the corner with easy access through the gallery. Pro: Clean room and silent hotel. Nice breakfast. Friendly staff. Cons: Small room, no parking at the front of hotel and lack of knowledge from staff. I'll recommend the hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToCall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    85
    50
    9
    2
See reviews for
49
78
6
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Rooms aren't the largest but it makes up for this with great comfy beds, clean rooms and really friendly staff. Breakfast buffet is great. Free WiFi is OK. There is afternoon coffee and cakes for free and free membership of a local gym with decent facilities.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

This hotel is right in the center of Karlskrona, at no distance from shops and bars, 100m from the main square. If it fits your budget, this is the place to stay. In spite of being in the center of a Swedish city, the rooms seem to be spacious (I had 404, almost perfect) and the hotel has personality and comfort. Just beware that direct access with the car is not possible at all times, but you can easily get to 50 meters from it. I say my room was almost perfect because the window did not open to the open air, but to the inside of a shopping "galleria" which has been obtained by covering the space between the hotel's building and the next one. This is not affecting the room's privacy and the galleria is neat and elegant, but it can be disturbing for someone. Wi-Fi is free, but registration is a bit tricky. It is also possible to login to Eduroam, if you are e.g. a scholar and you have an account. Breakfast is very nice without being excessive or overwhelming, which I consider a plus. There is also a very nice and cozy sauna room, though it is not very big.
Finally, both the receptionists I had the chance to deal with were delightful, diligent and smiling.
I think I had a very good deal for my room by booking online, so I can not accurately judge the value for the money, but if in your opinion the price is standard and comparable to others, just go for this and you will not be disappointed. I will go back.

Room Tip: 404 is good, except for the window issue I wrote above
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maubett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

great hotel in a street filled with shops and restaurants. Close to the harbour, where you can take a nice walk. The rooms are fine. The only thing I didnt like was that there was a backdoor in de breakfastroom to the garage so a lot of people will walk with there suitcases thru the breakfastroom.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinesgeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

This was my first visit to sweden and obviously first time stay at this place. Unlike the usual overload of people in the hotels in my part of the world., first hotel ja came as a pleasant surprise, with very scarce (Nil) manpower. The hotel is (Wo)manned by some of the most efficient, ever smiling and active personnel. The hotel has good, clean and sufficient spaced rooms which were well kept with clean linen and cleaner toilets/bath. The hotel provides for a detailed buffet breakfast suiting the food habits of people across the world. Staying there for almost 10 days made me addictive :). Overall an excellent place and will look forward to first hotels chain .....Huge rounds of applause for the staff....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shivanag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
310 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Much of this new review is as before. Nice friendly staff, comfortable beds and a nice breakfast choice. Small hot and cold gratis buffet in the evening if you buy a drink.

Nice new touch is the free wi-fi but on the negative side what ever happened to the towels? They're now the size of dish cloths!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TurboKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

Nice comfy beds, nice rich breakfast, friendly staf.
Nothing wrong with the place. But it is worn and way overpriced.
Location is good in the middle of town, but I found no way of getting the car close. So be prepered to carry your luggage.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 42Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karlskrona
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Carlscrona
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Statt Karlskrona
0.2 mi away
Scandic Karlskrona
Scandic Karlskrona
#2 of 7 in Karlskrona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotell Conrad
Hotell Conrad
#4 of 7 in Karlskrona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aston Hotel
Aston Hotel
#6 of 7 in Karlskrona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
12.0 mi away
Villa Vesta Hotell
Villa Vesta Hotell
#1 of 3 in Ronneby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel JA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel JA

Property: First Hotel JA
Address: 13 Borgmaestaregatan, Karlskrona 371 35, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Blekinge County > Karlskrona
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Karlskrona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel JA 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel JA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing