We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressive, choose Elite instead”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Victoria
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Jonkoping
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not impressive, choose Elite instead”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Booked this hotel much due to the no 1 rating on Tripadvisor. It has a central location, close to the train station, but the building itself, entrance etc. is not very interesting. The reception is a very simple desk located 1/2 step down from the entrance, you get the feeling of a bunker somehow. Staff is very friendly and helpful, no complaints.

I stayed on the 5th floor in a standard room. It was spacious, had a double bed, a flat-screen tv and some nice, dimmable, floor-light and bed-light - Flos Glo-Ball, I think. On the negative side, there was a textile carpet (not my preference, at least), no ironing board and a bathroom 80's style w/shower only, in a cabin. No amenities, whatsoever. I asked for an ironing room at the reception and was told it could be found on the 4th floor. I looked on every floor (no signs on the wall) until the receptionist discovered the room on the 2nd floor.

There was a complimentary dinner buffet which was surprisingly good and extensive (3 courses), so I did not have to go outside to get myself a dinner - nice when you travel alone.

The hallways are nicely lit and decorated. Walking around the city in the evening, I spotted the Elite hotel and immediately regretted my choice. The other hotel looked warm and welcome, housing a pub/restaurang and since I am familiar with the Elite concept, I recommend choosing that hotel instead (although I did not go inside). I am almost certain that you will come out happier in making that choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poha8990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulrika V, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience.
I can see that we probably are not what you were looking for. Elite is a very beuatiful hotel and I can certainly recommend it. We are not a fashionable hotel like Elite we are more of a friendly and homley hotel. I would say that your description is actually excactly what we are trying to mediate.

What we can do better - and will do - is to inform the frontdesk staff of whereabout the ironing room is and to inform our guests upon check in that you can by upgrade to superior rooms for only 200 SEK and then you will have amenities, bathrobe, minibar, kettle, iphonespeakers and wooden floor.

Best Regards
Ulrika Vestin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    165
    45
    12
    2
See reviews for
100
216
17
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

The staff person at reception was very helpful and friendly. We asked for a top floor room after coming from a hotel in Copenhagen that had much noise above us. After looking at the room we didn't think it was private enough so requested a new room. She was very good and thoughtful about the change and put us in room 430 in the "attic". The halls had very low beams that we very much liked and were interesting to see. (Watch your head if you are tall!)
Our room was lovely,very nice size with three beautiful small carved windows overlooking the tree tops and the church. It was a very quiet room. Although the bathroom was small and we didn't have storage, the shower was a good one.
The complimentary breakfast and dinner were fine, not wonderful but much like you would expect. (They could use a second waffle machine to avoid the waits.)
The location is wonderful especially if you are taking the train. It is only a three to five minute walk in a nice quiet section of town. You can easily walk to the waterfront and shopping areas.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonichestnutantosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2013

It is very nice hotel. Very good location. The food was good, and bonus was free dinner. There were particularly good self-made waffles. The staff was very friendly, always smiling and helpful. The rooms are kept a comfortable temperature, and the surrounding area is quiet. I would happy stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This hotel is lovely with a sunny center atrium for breakfast, tea and dinner (all included in room price). This space provided a nice place to relax with friends. My single room was small and simply furnished but perfectly comfortable. The room carpeting could use updating. The staff were friendly, always smiling and helpful. I would happily stay here again. Breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper41706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Conveniently located near the train station! Nicely suited rooms for a comfortable stay. Outstanding staff in all aspects of service! Bonus, full breakfast and dinner are included and served in a skylight atrium! Complimentary coffee/tea available at all times.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sienahouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I came to Jonkoping for a conference. It's not the most happening town in the world, but it is certainly not without its charm. Part of what made my stay so nice was this hotel. It is a very nice hotel with lovely decor and rooms that are a very nice size. The staff simply could not be friendlier. They will go it of their way to do anything to help. When I told one of them I wanted to bring authentically Swedish candy back to my students in the US, she took me through the best options and taught me a little bit about the most popular candy in the area. The location is also great. It's about a four minute walk from the train station. You will sleep like a baby here, too. The rooms are kept a comfortable temperature, and the surrounding area is quiet. I am the world's lightest sleeper, and I slept so soundly, I was confused when my alarm went off.

A huge benefit to this place is that there is free food and drink all day, so you can really save a lot of money. The breakfast buffet is very good. There are cereals, breads, jams, spreads, eggs, meats, yogurts, and even a waffle maker! They even went and got me vegan margarine when I asked if they had any dairy-free spreads. Lovely. There are cookies, cakes, and coffee/water throughout the afternoon for free, and then there is a free dinner, too. This is not the most lavish dinner you will eat, but I think it is pretty darn good when you consider it's free. An example dinner includes chicken wings, roasted potatoes, salad, some fruit, breads, olives, and chocolate pudding with whipped cream, so it's actually quite generous for something you didn't even pay for. Vegetarians will have fewer options, and vegans will have to be creative (I managed to make a meal out of what was there, but it took some doing. Again, though, it's free, so I can't complain). The staff are also very attentive and replenish the food/clean the buffet area up often. All of these meals are eaten in a lovely atrium, and much of the food offered is organic. Wine and beer are also available, but these obviously are not free :)

If you find yourself in Jonkoping, do not hesitate to stay here. I simply can't imagine another place doing such a wonderful job of caring for you.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillygirlagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Park, FL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is located across the street from the cathedral and a short walk from the lake. There is parking next to the cathedral that is free from 6 pm to 9 am and has a 2 hour maximum at other times. We had a beautiful corner suite that was very comfortable. One of the best things about the hotel is that both a breakfast and an evening buffet were included in the cost of the room and were both very good. Since everything is very expensive in Sweden this was nice to have. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. If we ever get back to this area we would stay here again.

Room Tip: This is a Choice hotel. If you have Choice Privileges points you can use to reserve it, it is a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulrika V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Especially that you found the staff friendly and helpful. It is our main ambition to keep a friendly atmosphere.

Hope to see you again!

Ulrika Vestin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jonkoping hotels
0.5 mi away
Vox Hotel
Vox Hotel
#1 of 16 in Jonkoping
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus John Bauer Hotel
0.1 mi away
ProfilHotels Savoy Hotel
ProfilHotels Savoy Hotel
#4 of 16 in Jonkoping
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Jonkoping
Comfort Hotel Jonkoping
#6 of 16 in Jonkoping
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elite Stora Hotellet Jonkoping
0.1 mi away
Scandic Hotel Portalen
Scandic Hotel Portalen
#8 of 16 in Jonkoping
3.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Victoria

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Victoria
Address: 5 F E Elmgrens Gata, Jonkoping 553 16, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Jonkoping County > Jonkoping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Jonkoping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Victoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Victoria offers a classic and timeless atmosphere in the heart of Jonkoping's history. The hotel is decorated with paintings telling the story of the invention of the matchstick in Jonkoping. The hotel is situated in the beautiful Vaster quarter of town, and offers walking distance from the varied dining, shopping and nightlife of Jonkoping. In addittion you will find the attractionhs like the match museum and John Bauers museum nearby. Hotel Victoria has a long and exciting history. The house was erected in 1882 by author and healthcare pioneer Ebba Ramsay. The house was then used as a home for mentally disabled and epileptics. In his work against the proliferation of alcoholism in his time, he ran a alcohol free tavern in the hotel basement. Ebbas ghost is said to still have residence in room 426. The hotel relax-department offers both excersise and relaxation. The department spans two floors by the old Victoria hall. Here you can find treadmill, spinningbike, sauna, showers, and a separate room with seating and tv where you can enjoy a beer directly from the tap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Nordic Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Jonkoping
Clarion Collection Jonkoping
jönköping Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing