We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to be improved, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Portalen
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Jonkoping
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Good location downtown Jönköping and nice to see the neighbor restaurant that now is direct to the hotel. But room standard and overall design needs updating. Price is far to high for this poor room standard. Next time we will look for something else.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Hotel Portalen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2011

Recomended hotel and food in restaurant is best we've found however the rooms get a little cold in the morning and noise from the night club is heard till 2am at weekends!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bendyspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

A nice hotel in the middle of town. Walking distans to every thing. The railway station is just 5 min to walk to. But you don't hear the trains for the hotel.
It's near to some museums like the Match museum and Viktor Rydberg museum about 5 min walking distans. Ther is also ner to the cenrtal shoping area about 10 min to walk.
The towns pier is about 10 min away whit nice veiw´s over the lake Vättern and in the summer time ther is some resturangs ther with nice food and pubs.
The hotel have the parking place in the bilding in a level under the reception. Thay have three levels of room. The standard hotel room, the Superior and the Suite. In my wisit I stay in a sigle stadard room ner by the fitness center. It was a nice light room with hardwood floors. The interior is nice and cleen in a average standard nothing for me to complain about.
I did't hav the time to use the relax and fitness center but I visited it in the morning when it was closed just for a look around. It seams to have more and less every thing you need spacial för the Relax part. You have sauna, SPA-tretment and yoga and even more.
The hotel have also borrow bicycles so you can go round a larger area to explor the town and the area around.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per_S_Vasteras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Hotle is up to usual Scandic standards and breakfast is amazing - vast choice and great Lofbergs coffee! Located right in the middle of town which also serves as its comedown. We stayed over Friday and SAturday whilst attending family wedding. We were on the 6th floor on the side street and teh noise from revellers and nightclubs was horrendous. This would put me off staying here over a weekend again I would rather stay at Scandic Elmia and suffer the slightly further distance into town. Free wifi is excellent too!

Room Tip: high floor
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenny81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Luxury hotel placed in the the heart of the city, just 500 meters from lake, and small port wher all restaurants are placed and night life is taking place.
I had a single room, it was good, but little to small for me, will be great if will ahve maybe 2 square meters more. Rooms designed in modern style. You can see hand of swedish designers - everything elegant but minimalistic - without a shining and brightning stuff - perfect for me. Nice bathroom, comfortable to use, good hotle cosmetics.
Great service. Fantastic breakfasts, great choice of food, from hot to cold. I stayed there for one week and there was no need to eat same thing, it was enough good choice to try everyday something new.
Hotel offer also underground parking with additional price, and this is good especially if there is really difficult to find parking place around hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jak1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

As the title says, the hotel is in a great central location and on-street parking is free after 6pm. Very friendly receptionist who gave us some general info and maps of the city. Most importantly, she gave a great restaurant reccomendation for "Twin City" just along the road. Room was up to the usual Scandic standard.

Our last night in Sweden and a very enjoyable night in the restaurant followed by a 5 mins stroll back to the hotel. It's also worth a short walk to the harbour area - more restaurants and very quaint.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PIK-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Clean room with work desk and a bed. Nothing extra ordinary as most Scandic Hotels, but comfortable and I slept very well. Very helpful staff and a plentyful breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Swede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jonkoping hotels
0.4 mi away
Vox Hotel
Vox Hotel
#1 of 16 in Jonkoping
529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Victoria
2.5 mi away
Scandic Elmia
Scandic Elmia
#5 of 16 in Jonkoping
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elite Stora Hotellet Jonkoping
0.2 mi away
ProfilHotels Savoy Hotel
ProfilHotels Savoy Hotel
#4 of 16 in Jonkoping
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus John Bauer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Portalen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Portalen

Address: 6 Barnarpsgatan, Jonkoping 553 16, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Jonkoping County > Jonkoping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Jonkoping
Price Range: £78 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Hotel Portalen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Portalen ligger mitt i centrum med narhet till centralstationen, shopping och Jonkopings nojesliv. Hotellet har 201 rum varav 3 sviter och mojlighet till konferens. Scandic Portalen samarbetar med Nordic Wellness Atlatis Spa som ligger i direkt anslutning till hotellet. Dar kan du boka in traning, behandlingar eller bara slappna av i bubbelpoolen. Vi har ingen egen restaurang men samarbetar med Karlsson's salonger som ligger vagg i vagg med hotellet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scandic Hotel Portalen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing