We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a short business stay it's perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Portalen
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Jonkoping
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The Scandic Portalen is a very nice basic hotel that ticks a few boxes to make it that little bit more enjoyable.

The rooms are basic but well kept, the beds are comfy but make use of the extra pillow. It's my 5th stay here and the staff have always been willing to go that extra mile.

The basics are covered well, good hot shower. Fast stable internet and comfortable beds.

The Breakfast is exceptionally fresh with a good variety for everyone.

An added little bonus is they supply HDMI cables to the large flatscreen TV in the room allowing you to connect your laptop to the larger screen. You can also connect a USB Hard Drive to the tv to play any movies etc you have on the big screen. This is provided free of charge and is one of the little comforts that show where they go beyond your average hotel of this price.

The hotel is in the centre of Jönköping close to lots of amenities. I haven't tried the hotel restaurant as there are lots of nice little places close to the hotel. It's also very close to the main bus station.

One reviewer commented about the nightclub at the end of the week, it does get quite loud until around midnight so bare this in mind if you are a light sleeper and maybe request a higher floor room. There are 8 floors.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aBhorsennn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia H, Receptionschef at Scandic Hotel Portalen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hello!
Thank you for your review - it was a pleasure to read! We always try to go the extra mile for our guests and it is good to hear that you think we do! You can always ask for an extra pillow at the front desk and when you can check in, you can always ask for a quiet room and we will try our best to make that happen.
Thank you again and we hope to see you soon. You are always welcome to us at Scandic Portalen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

Narrow bed along a wall, less than helpful personnel (didn´t even know how to find their garage), terrible food in the restaurant. Rundown breakfast restaurant. Priced as a luxury hotel in a metropolis but with the standard of a third class hotel in the countryside. Not worth a third of the price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pontus271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia H, Receptionschef at Scandic Hotel Portalen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hello!
I am sorry to hear that your stay with us didn't live up to your expectations. I thank you for you opinions and hope that we can give you a better stay next time that you visit us at Scandic Portalen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Good hotel, good location but if you are on business and stay Thursday evening expect very little sleep as the nightclub adjoining the hotel and below the rooms has pounding music until the early hours and you have no chance of keeping until it closes.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Carl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This hotel is nicely located, downtown and near the train station. It's clean, well maintained, with unadorned, simple Nordic design throughout. There's a cozy bar downstairs, and the breakfast spread was huge and high quality. Overall, this is a pretty good place to stay. The only sour note, which seemed totally unnecessary, was that my bed had a teeny, tiny pillow on it, and just one. I struggled all night to get comfortable, and woke with a sore neck. Maybe Swedes like small pillows, but guys, put and extra one in the room for the rest of us? There are extra towels in the side board, just put one extra pillow there too. I know, you'll say I could have called down, but it was late and I was tired and it seems like a bother. A pity, as an otherwise very nice stay was marred by this pillow skimpiness.

Room Tip: Ask for an extra pillow at check in. The ones they supply are small and soft, almost nonexistent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morl8tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Very good hotel, excellent and helpful staff who could not do enough to help us when the car let us down! Town centre situation with a good underground garage so the car is very safe. Room was warm and no air on but we had our own fan which helped.

Would defiantly stay again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Gracudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The hotel is in the city central, and seems to be near the railways. Shops and a supermarket (open until 22 o'clock Mon-Fri + weekends but can't remember the times) very close. The staff is very friendly and hotel is quite big. The hotel was not in such a good shape as I thought it would be based on the pictures. A bit worn out and definitely a minus that there is no fridge in the standard rooms. But everything works and the hotel is clean and quiet despite it is at the center. Big plus for the hotel I give for the breakfast which contains almost all what you can ask for. We parked our car next to the hotel on the street and the parking is free after 18 o'clock in the evening until 9 o'clock on the next morning (weekdays). After 9 o'clock parking fee is 15 SEK per hour. On the upper floor there is a nice sauna with a "panorama" view, open until 22 o'clock -> I recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a room from the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hmek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Very good location and convenient to city center. Rooms very nice with great wifi. Breakfast buffet huge with many selections. Would highly recommend this hotel when visiting Jonkoping. Within walking distance to second largest lake in Sweden.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drit45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jonkoping hotels
0.4 mi away
Vox Hotel
Vox Hotel
#2 of 16 in Jonkoping
555 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus John Bauer Hotel
2.5 mi away
Scandic Elmia
Scandic Elmia
#5 of 16 in Jonkoping
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Victoria
0.2 mi away
Elite Stora Hotellet Jonkoping
0.2 mi away
ProfilHotels Savoy Hotel
ProfilHotels Savoy Hotel
#4 of 16 in Jonkoping
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Portalen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Portalen

Address: 6 Barnarpsgatan, Jonkoping 553 16, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Jonkoping County > Jonkoping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Jonkoping
Price Range: £71 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Hotel Portalen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Portalen ligger mitt i centrum med narhet till centralstationen, shopping och Jonkopings nojesliv. Hotellet har 201 rum varav 3 sviter och mojlighet till konferens. Scandic Portalen samarbetar med Nordic Wellness Atlatis Spa som ligger i direkt anslutning till hotellet. Dar kan du boka in traning, behandlingar eller bara slappna av i bubbelpoolen. Vi har ingen egen restaurang men samarbetar med Karlsson's salonger som ligger vagg i vagg med hotellet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scandic Hotel Portalen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing