We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scandic Hotel Portalen
Nearby Hotels
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic Elmia(Jonkoping)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
ClarionCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vox Hotel(Jonkoping)
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$118
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$110
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (593)
Filter reviews
593 results
Traveller rating
82
189
213
79
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
189
213
79
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswould stay againnice foodcentral stationhotel is locatednice staffsmoothiesdeskmeters
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 593 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Less than usual standard Scandic quality. Wish I'd read the reviews first. The noise from the clubs across the street is unbearable and if you have small children, this is not a wise choice for stay. Room was clean, large enough but no minibar. No dinner offered. Less than pleased at customer service, 'we have no restaurant but you can eat at the restaurants in the area, there are many restaurants outside'. They gave no recommendations. Would have expected at least a listing of restaurants close by with a map. Not everyone knows! In response to our inquiry for a recommendation of a child-friendly restaurant, we were told the grill restaurant across the road serves ice-cream. Seriously, Scandic? First time really disappointed. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeciliaH235, Chef at Scandic Hotel Portalen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014
Google Translation

Hej

Tack för att du tog dig tid att skriva.

Jensens Böfhouse som ligger på andra sidan gatan brukar vara ett poppis ställe för barnfamiljer men jag tar med mig din feedback om att vi kan bli bättre på att ge lite utförligare beskrivning av närliggande restauranger.

Tack än en gång, din feedback är viktig för oss!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We are seasoned Scandic customers but this hotel is clearly the worst ever. We visited a restaurant in the evening and when we returned to the hotel the nightclub across the street was so loud that it was impossible to sleep. We made several calls to the reception and at 1am we were offered another room that had a noise level that was much lower but it was very small. As a big surprise they had placed a notice in the room that translated from Swedish "Perfect location in the city but sometimes a bit noisy. Please contact the reception if you need earplugs". It's like a bad joke I have never ever heard of anything like this. And this note was in the "silent" room and not in the " noisy". We were able to fall asleep at 2:30 in the morning....

As you can imagine we were somewhat upset at checkout. The girl in the reception offered us an extra breakfast as a compensation which we found somewhat offensive and provoking. It seems that their business idea is to lure the customer into the hotel and when you discover that the situation is unbearable you have no other alternatives at all.

This is clearly a management error and we pity the employees that have to handle this fraudulent strategy.

If it was possible we should mark this hotel with "zero" star rating as it is impossible to have a good night sleep which is the basic requirement for a hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank EnglishlassStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeciliaH235, Informationsansvarig at Scandic Hotel Portalen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hello!

I am truly sorry to hear that you did not have a good night sleep at our hotel! Unfortunately we can not always affect the noise from outside - Scandic Portalen is a hotel in the middle of the city, close to restaurants and nightlife. You can always ask for a quieter room or if you have any other requests on your reservation or at check in.
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations and I truly hope that you would like to give us a new chance. Please contact me or the hotel directly next time you have a reservation at our hotel and we will do our best to give you the hotelexperience that you expect from us.

I would really like you to contact me or Anna L, our hotel manager directly regaring this experience at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I was travelling with my son(14years). We were coming from europe back to Finland. So we desided rest until reach Stockholm. I'm writing this 1.30 ... the bar next to hotel is playing music ... until to 2. If I knew this I wouldn't stop. Now food, now rest ... more than 100€ with parking ... NOT WORTH IT!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeciliaH235, Informationsansvarig at Scandic Hotel Portalen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hello!

We are sorry to hear that you could not sleep because of the noise outside of the hotel. We can almost always change rooms for you if you contact the reception.

Scandic Portalen is placed in the middle of the city, close to the museums, shopping, restaurants and nightlife. This means, unfortunately that sometimes the noise outside can affect the rooms of the hotel.
However, you always have the option of asking the front desk for a quiet room - we always try to meet our guests requests and preferences when making the room reservation.

I hope that you come back another time and please, contact us in advance if you have any special requests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here one Saturday to Sunday, got o good package deal with Training, SPA and good food.
The gym was Nordic wellnes, with all possible training facilities. Tested the gym and the Body Pump, we used the Spa also, not so big but the simple important things.
Dinner included in package at Karlssons salonger - very good food.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lingonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna L, Chef at Scandic Hotel Portalen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

I am glad to here that you had a pleasant stay at Scandic Portalen. I agree that Karlssons salonger serves really good food.

Have a nice day and I wish you warmly welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Went here on a trip with my job, we also had a conference at the hotel. This was the second time I visited this hotel and it's located wonderful in the middle of the town, close to all restaurants and shopping in Jönköping. The rooms are normal, which is big enough. It's very quiet during the nights, so it's easy to get a good nights sleep. When you wake up the best is waiting for you, the breakfast, maybe there was more choices last time, but this time it was good, so I'm happy with this stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaggiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna L, Chef at Scandic Hotel Portalen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014
Google Translation

Hej
Jag kan inte annat än hålla med dig om att läget är väldigt bra. Och att starta dagen med en god frukost är inte fel det heller!

Jag önskar dig varmt välkommen tillbaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews