We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice service and a haven for family with small kids”
Review of Scandic Elmia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Elmia
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Jonkoping
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here when relatives gather in town and we have booked a family room on the phone. We have slept well, the kids have enjoyed the hotel experience and staff have been caring and helpful. Reasonable prices, convenient location but no fancy views, so to speak. We will be back.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Rudbeckius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie W, Receptionschef at Scandic Elmia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

We look forward to your next visit and I will communicate to our staff your positive feedback.

For your next stay i can recommend connecting rooms or our suites with a better view over the area.

I hope we see you soon.

Best regards,
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

Still of site but if you are traveling by car this is very good. Hotel is renovated and renovation was ended in February rooms are in a strict Scandinavia stile simple but good.

There is nearby a Swim bath whit a nice relax area.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joakim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie W, Receptionschef at Scandic Elmia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Joakim

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us.

I´m glad to hear that you enjoy your visit of your stay at Scandic Elmia.

Have a nice day and i hope we see you soon.

Best regards,
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great location if visiting or attending a trade show opposite, clean rooms with all the modern conveniences, soulless bar and very basic restaurant these latter two aspects bar and food are well below par, suggest that if one is staying for the trade fair then avoid the restaurant and bar.
The menu is very limited, burger and badly presented steaks sorry but there is nothing memorable to report.....

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Seayeaitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie W, Receptionschef at Scandic Elmia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Seayeaitc,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us.

I find it sad that you felt the bar as soulless. This is certainly something we can work with so our other guest not feel the same.

Regarding the meny is this something I will talk to our headchef about, it should always be a la carte, buffet and the classics on the meny.

I hope you have a nice day and we see you soon.

Best regards,
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Ate the buffet dinner before a hockey game. About $35 for a fairly simple buffet, But it was ok. The hotels still definitely under renovation and it would be noisy and uncomfortable t stay there. Wait until June 2014.

If eating dinner there you must make reservations if there is a hockey game. The rink is across the street and the buffet is packed just prior to a game.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie W, Receptionschef at Scandic Elmia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Steve,

Thank you for your feedback.

I´m glad to tell you that we finaly have opend our new restaurant, lobby and reception. So now we serve our ordinary hockeybuffé.

We are now in our final stages of the renovation and we will be fully completed in May.

I hope I see you then.

Best regards,
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed i night in November 2013. Unfortunately, the hotel was being refurbished and expanded. Due to this, the Restaurant could only offer a really crappy buffet. I have stayed before, and usually the Restaurant is great.

Great room. Free parking and WiFi. Right by the Elmia Exhibition center. Looking forward to come back next year.

The staff here is fantastic!

Room Tip: Rooms to the North are more quiet, as room facing South are also facing the E4 motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 747FAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie W, Receptionschef at Scandic Elmia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear 747FAN,

Thank you for you feedback.

I´m glad to hear that you liked our new rooms, and when you return next year you will come to a brand new hotel.

Regarding the buffé have I understand that we not have reached that level we want to be at during our renovation, and I am sorry for that.
But next year will this be on top of the game.

Have a nice day, and welcome back to us.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel one night when we were passing through Jönköping. OK room with balcony, flatscreen TV, the extra bed (a small fold-up sofa) was rock hard with ribs that cut into the back, very very uncomfortable. The two single beds pushed together were comfortable.OK bathroom with clogged drain in the basin. Nothing much in the neighbourhood but only a short ride by car to the centre of Jönköping. Overall, dated rooms but OK for one night if you don't need the extra bed, then it is agony.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Great location. Also connected next door to swimming / playarea (extra fee).
Good for families. We stayed in old part (very dated), but they are building / adding on a new section. We ate at the restaurant (good with kids) and went next door swimming (excellent).
We also took a nice stroll/hike along the shore line.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would consider staying again. If they/when they update the interior, I would consider this an excellent or very good place to stay and not just average.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeddyLindner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jonkoping hotels
2.5 mi away
Scandic Hotel Portalen
Scandic Hotel Portalen
#9 of 16 in Jonkoping
530 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vox Hotel
Vox Hotel
#2 of 16 in Jonkoping
555 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus John Bauer Hotel
2.3 mi away
First Hotel Jonkoping
First Hotel Jonkoping
#10 of 16 in Jonkoping
154 reviews
2.2 mi away
Elite Stora Hotellet Jonkoping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Elmia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Elmia

Address: 8 Elmiavaegen, Jonkoping 554 54, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Jonkoping County > Jonkoping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Jonkoping
Price Range: £72 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Elmia 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-story Motor Hotel located in recreational area on the E4 Highway, at approach to the city, near Elmia & Roselunds Hallen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scandic Elmia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Elmia Jonkoping

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing