We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel with unfriendly staff”
Review of Scandic Elmia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Elmia
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Jonkoping
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I stayed here for one night in August. The hotel rooms were ok, quite basic equipped as other Scandic Hotels. Unluckily i had a room on the ground floor, facing the car park and also the smoking area of both guests and employees. So although it was really hot in the room, I couldn't open the window because of the really bad smoke coming from outside.
Breakfast was ok, but had already a nicer display of it in outer Scandic hotels.
The hotels' young staff at dinner was pretty unfriendly and didn't really responde to any of our groups' requests, like refilling the empty buffet.

Room Tip: not on the ground floor towards car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AusN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel has the most comfortable beds ever, absolutely fantastic and after a good night's sleep the breakfast is amazing. The hotel rooms are spotless, with en-suite shower rooms. An ironing board is also included! The hotel is also wonderfully central and within walking distance of just about everywhere of interest.

Room Tip: I imagine that all the rooms are good ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank spookie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Spend only one night in this hotel. This was enough. We had a family room on the first floor. Seemed like you entered a basement. Had a "nice" view of the Rosenlundsbadet backyard. Small outdated room with a refurbished bathroon. The staff was really busy and the kids didnt get the "Välkomstpresent", that all the other Scandic's on the holiday offered. Also the sauna wasn't working and the wifi didn't work in the basement room's and our family room only offered 2 large towels. Two plus sides of the hotels were : scandic friends members got 20% off the food and the room was really cheap. Also the only Scandic hotel we stayed at on our holiday that had noise from the corridors and other rooms carry to our room.

Wouldn't want to spent more than one night in the basement rooms, maybe the modern looking extension is better.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Antsa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The refurb has been finished now and the hotel is looking great. The reception is bright and spacious and the restaurant area looks good and welcoming.

I was in a 4-man room as per usual which was good and had enough space, looks like they refurbished the toilet/shower room as well which is looking nice. I love the breakfasts at Scandic, getting a large bowl of yoghurt and shoving raisins, dried banana and other things in is always a great treat. I ate lunch here as well one day, had a burger and a dessert recommended to me by the waitress. On the subject of that, all the staff in this hotel are fantastic, save for one bar lady who served two people before me when I was next in queue! Pic of lunch attached!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hakf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Avoid this hotel in July under all circumstances if you actually want some rest at night!
The so called 'Hockey Kids' descended on the place and made more noise than a whole ice hockey stadium could make. The staff were hopeless and no-one seemed to take responsibility for the nuisance of underage kids smoking on balconies, or acting like noisy vandals in the corridors. Absolutely disgusted by the lack of sportsmanship and discipline and respect for other guests. The staff did not even have the courtesy to infirm us in advance or say sorry... Will ask for a refund and choose a different place the next time.
We had a very different and much more positive experience here earlier this year. It's a shame this time the bottom line is sounding so grim, but you have to try harder to make me give you a better feedback.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie W, Hotelldirektör at Scandic Elmia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback, it makes it possible for us to improve.

We have alot of great hockey kids that stay at Scandic during the summer camp. A few, unfortunatly don't remember how to behave... We have talked to the leaders and responsible coaches and the kids have got the message. The discipline is much better and the kids now show respect to the other hotel guests.
We have also talked about this among the staff och we are better prepared to handle similar incidents in the future.
I hope that your were satisfied at departure, with the front desk staff and the dialogue you had.

Hope to see you again.

Regards
Charlie Hedberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here when relatives gather in town and we have booked a family room on the phone. We have slept well, the kids have enjoyed the hotel experience and staff have been caring and helpful. Reasonable prices, convenient location but no fancy views, so to speak. We will be back.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Rudbeckius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie W, Receptionschef at Scandic Elmia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

We look forward to your next visit and I will communicate to our staff your positive feedback.

For your next stay i can recommend connecting rooms or our suites with a better view over the area.

I hope we see you soon.

Best regards,
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Still of site but if you are traveling by car this is very good. Hotel is renovated and renovation was ended in February rooms are in a strict Scandinavia stile simple but good.

There is nearby a Swim bath whit a nice relax area.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joakim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie W, Receptionschef at Scandic Elmia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Joakim

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us.

I´m glad to hear that you enjoy your visit of your stay at Scandic Elmia.

Have a nice day and i hope we see you soon.

Best regards,
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jonkoping hotels
2.5 mi away
Scandic Hotel Portalen
Scandic Hotel Portalen
#9 of 16 in Jonkoping
530 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vox Hotel
Vox Hotel
#2 of 16 in Jonkoping
555 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus John Bauer Hotel
2.3 mi away
First Hotel Jonkoping
First Hotel Jonkoping
#10 of 16 in Jonkoping
154 reviews
2.2 mi away
Elite Stora Hotellet Jonkoping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Elmia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Elmia

Address: 8 Elmiavaegen, Jonkoping 554 54, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Jonkoping County > Jonkoping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Jonkoping
Price Range: £72 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Elmia 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-story Motor Hotel located in recreational area on the E4 Highway, at approach to the city, near Elmia & Roselunds Hallen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scandic Elmia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Elmia Jonkoping

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing