We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really pleasant hotel, with a lovely supper”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Slottshotellet
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Kalmar
Ancona, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
1,338 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,709 helpful votes
“A really pleasant hotel, with a lovely supper”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Friendly, helpful staff, a beautiful old-fashioned bar with deep armchairs, a big, clean, quiet room, excellent supper (which I was delighted to find was included !), excellent breakfast too, reasonable price, good shower, this was the hotel I enjoyed most in the whole Scandinavian trip.

Nothing to complain about at all. All very relaxing. Mislaid my camera on the way from here to Stockholm, but the hotel helped me track it down - it turned up at Linkoping station.

The position's good too, just opposite the castle gardens, where you can go for a walk and look out over the Baltic Sea. It's not far from the station, but if you're coming by car it might be wise to print out the map in any case.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    70
    45
    20
    3
See reviews for
27
72
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kalmar, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We booked a superior room for one night, me and my wife. And got a room in the annex building of the hotel, with a window towards the street. The rooms are very small, the bathrooms is fairly clean but standards from the 80's! They have made some renovation in the room by a new wall design and new lamps, it is a good try but trying a Victorian wall with the rest of the room, where you have a pine old 70's door and pink plastic bathroom! Hmm, you wonder they run out of money? In a hot summer day / night which ar erare but still occur the room will be very hot and you need to open the window, but if it is a weekend you might be disturbed by the people walking outside. Breakfast was fair, the personel are not much for smile or being helpful! It took alot of time to clear the tables which results to invation of bee's and flies!
This hotel has a fantastic location and its garden and the building (Main) itself are very beautiful I have never stayed at the main building why I rank after my stay at the annex.

Room Tip: Dont accept the annex!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiefen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kalmar hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Nice location in a tree lined avenue leading to Kalmar castle. But rooms are basic - bathrooms tiny. Staff appeared to be doing their their best but not quite making the grade. Reception particularly poor. Breakfast so so by Swedish standards. Don't fall for the "free dinner".

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We have stayed at Slottshotellet once before, with pleasant memories, so when we needed to find a room for a stay to visit my mother-in-law we decided to give it a go. Husband booked us into their newly instituted annex, which was cheaper but still seemed to be god value.

The annex is in an ex-residential building, a two-floor apartment building built, perhaps, during the 50's but newly converted to hotel rooms, and the paint had barely dried - everything felt pristine. Soon we found out we needed the thick covers provided, though, because the room was ice cold, and despite our asking staff to amend it - the radiators where ice cold too - nothing happened and no feedback was offered. Also there where, in the room, the kind of "dirt in the corners" that comes from sloppy cleaning and which MAYBE would be acceptable had the place not so clearly been newly renovated.

Breakfast was good and varied but the breakfast room had seen better days.

We never tried the announced "light dinner buffet" which was included in the price - we ate on town instead - a pleasant five-minute walk.

I think the main hotel still offers qualities, what with location and atmosphere.
In my estimation hotel rooms in Kalmar has become vastly over-priced so expect to pay; we have stayed at almost all hotels in Kalmar during the past 15 years and have witnessed a steep rise in price and a hard fall in quality.
So, I still think that in comparison Slottshotellet is good enough. Just be sure to get a room in the main hotel!

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Busifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North London
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We booked a superior room which was in the old annexe away from the main hotel (although when booking we requested a room in the main hotel). The old annexe was a lovely interesting building with impressive antique furniture and a wide staircase. Our room on the upper floor was clean, spacious and comfortable. The hotel was in a great location very near the castle and opposite the attractive city park. The town centre was just 10 minutes walk away. From our room we could hear trains on the nearby railway line and in the distance noise from a night club until 2.00am. But neither proved to be a real problem. Breakfast was a disappointment with very little fresh fruit and no jams or pastries that we could find. Egg and bacon were on offer, however! The (young) staff at breakfast were slow to clear tables and did not clean them. As a result the outside seating attracted wasps. And the staff sat down to their own breakfast 45 minutes before breakfast was due to finish! We did not take advantage of the lounge in the main hotel which looked delightful, and there was more than enough comfortable outside seating in the well kept gardens. At £150 for the two of us (including parking) the hotel was on the expensive side.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DS221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

This hotel is right across the road from the park that leads to the Kalmar Castle, so is quiet and very conveniently located. Our room, however, was extremely small, as was the bathroom. The breakfast buffet was ample, with a wide selection, and served in their charming back patio area. Overall, rather expensive for what we got.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianEugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

I was expecting great things from this hotel, but was slightly disappointed. It has two parts, the old, charming one, and an annex which is charmless, looks like a army barracks, has no lift, and smells unpleasant. These annex rooms are also poor value for money. Avoid this hotel if they can only offer you a room in this part. We stayed in the old part, a garden room, which was nice, although the bathroom looked as though it had not been updated for 25 years.

The position of the hotel is excellent, and the breakfast is fine, although the buffet area can get crowded and there are not enough waiting staff at the busiest times.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rufusUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalmar
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Packhuset
0.5 mi away
ProfilHotels Calmar Stadshotell
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Kalmarsund Hotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Frimurare Hotellet
Frimurare Hotellet
#7 of 12 in Kalmar
100 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Skansen
Hotel Skansen
#1 of 1 in Farjestaden
442 reviews
1.5 mi away
Scandic Kalmar West
Scandic Kalmar West
#3 of 12 in Kalmar
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slottshotellet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slottshotellet

Property: Hotel Slottshotellet
Address: 7 Slottsvaegen | Slottsv 7, Kalmar 392 33, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Kalmar County > Kalmar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Kalmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Slottshotellet 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Slottshotellet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slottshotellet Hotel Kalmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing