We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine room - terrible brakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Slottshotellet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Slottshotellet
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Kalmar
Nacka, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fine room - terrible brakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Niceand clean budget room. It was a resonable big room. The bed was perfectly hard, it suits me.Nice frendley staff when we arrived in the middle of the night. Terrible breakfast.
You can't call the coffe coffe. Boring juice. There were no cups for tea. Boring cheese. It was not inspiring presenting. It's to bad when a good stay ends with a bad brakfast.
/ sara

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara6403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    65
    45
    18
    2
See reviews for
26
67
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Go for the budget units in the annex building behind the main house. Much more reasonable prices, especially for those (Americans) brutally murdered by the high exchange rates. Rooms are comfortable, and spacious. Our room also had a pull out sofa and nice view of a private garden. Off street parking is available. Overall an enjoyable stay and a perfect location for visiting the castle in Kalmar. Breakfast was good as well (and included).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huntahhh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We booked via Kalmar tourist information and the room was described as a "junior suite" with 2 rooms. It's a lovely, pretty hotel in a fantastic location but it was just too small for us and really not worth the money we paid - £185 - the most expensive of the 3 hotels we stayed in whilst in Sweden. There was a double room squeezed up one end of the room and an open doorway (no doors) into a living area with sofa bed. A camp bed had been left there for us. By the time we put that up we could hardly move. Free dinner was chicken pasta salad, plenty of bread, tea coffee etc which was very welcome. Breakfast too was ok. Not suitable for a large family. When we checked out they tried to charge us for the extra bed. The confirmation had clearly said there was no charge for this. They agreed to take it up with tourist information.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crapihari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brokind
Level Contributor
115 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Historic hotel located very close to the city center. Very quiet and peaceful surroundings though, so we got a good nights sleep. Very friendly and helpful staff that answered the questions we had about Kalmar. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed in Slottshotellet Budget for 3 nights in the last week of June as a couple with our child of 11 years. It’s at a prime location about 250 m from the Kalmar castle. Beautiful Oland and the Glasriket areas of Sweden are easily accessible by car from here.

There is reserved but paid parking (75SEK/24 hr) in a private lot behind the hotel and also on the street. You could try and save money if you get street parking between 3 PM and 9 AM on week-days and all day on week-ends.

Lady at the reception was helpful, courteous and welcoming. She even made calls for us on her cell when we wanted to know certain timings for a museum at out next destination in another city and personally delivered third set of towels missing from our room. Free tea/coffee is available all the time in the beautiful lounge at the reception.

Breakfast was quite a nice buffet, though limited in number of items, with both hot and cold dishes. The evening dinner is definitely a money saver and is quite filling. It was again a limited (number of items) buffet. On the first evening, there was mushroom soup, greek salad and pasta. On the second evening there was asparagus soup, green salad, rice (paella). On the third and last evening there was asparagus soup, cabbage salad, boiled potatoes, rice (paella).

The budget rooms are in a 2 storied building across the street while the expensive ones are in the main hotel. There is no lift but a small flight of stairs. Our budget room was basic but very clean and quite spacious. We had a view of the garden behind the building. Main entrances to the building are always locked and you get the key along with the one for your room. We did keep the window open for fresh air but were disturbed by a group who had taken up some chairs in the garden just outside our window, so had to shut it to prevent the noise. The room had two single and one folding bed, had parquet flooring, a writing desk with chair, a 1+1 seater sofa set, small TV set, an additional stool and a hair dryer. Wifi signal was ok in the room. There wasn’t any room telephone, no coffee-maker, no iron for pressing clothes, no minibar, no wardrobe (just space with hangars) and no air-conditioning (luckily it was quite cool during our visit).

Washroom/ toilet was big but without toiletries (there was a soap dispenser). Tea-coffee is always available at the reception along with some cookies.
The room price was probably the most reasonable of all the towns we stayed in Sweden.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunkool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawton, OK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

A lovely historic hotel that includes a great Swedish breakfast. Our room looked over the beautiful gardens and is across the street from the Kalmar Slot, the castle
It has a lovely courtyard and you can set out there and have a glass of wine. There is the main hotel and then some other buildings. We stayed in another building and our room was lovely. The flowers and landscaping is beautiful. It is very close to the train station. You can walk right over. You can walk around the old town area and admire all the lovely gradens. We found a beautiful garden nearby with a lunch room and areas to set down and just enjoy. This is such a wonderful, relaxing and beautiful ares.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJHLawton_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

The hotel is well placed for the castle, a lovely park, the station, and walking access to the old city. The rooms vary in size and the one we had upstairs in the separate building was roomy, with a sofa (other people in our group had much smaller rooms). We were in Kalmar for 9 days in early summer when it gets light at 4.00am so some dark opaque curtains would have been better than the yellow ones (waking that early is a bit of a shock). Breakfasts were quite good for the level of the hotel with a range of cereals, yoghurts, bread, cheeses, jams and eggs. The free evening meal is a nice idea. The menu reminded me of my student camp days: basic limited choice of acceptable dishes. Staff were generally reserved at first but responded well to cheerful approaches.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRL622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalmar hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Packhuset
0.5 mi away
ProfilHotels Calmar Stadshotell
0.2 mi away
Frimurare Hotellet
Frimurare Hotellet
#4 of 12 in Kalmar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell
0.5 mi away
First Hotel Witt
First Hotel Witt
#10 of 12 in Kalmar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.6 mi away
Scandic Kalmar West
Scandic Kalmar West
#3 of 12 in Kalmar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slottshotellet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slottshotellet

Property: Hotel Slottshotellet
Address: 7 Slottsvaegen | Slottsv 7, Kalmar 392 33, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Kalmar County > Kalmar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Kalmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Slottshotellet 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Slottshotellet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slottshotellet Hotel Kalmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing