We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of First Hotel Witt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
First Hotel Witt
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Kalmar
Brando, Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice stay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We booked this hotel in a trip to Ystad, sped the night here (13. - 14.08.2013). We was delighted the receptionist had a dogbag with goodies to our dog. This was the first time. Thanks, hotel was nice and the service was good. Sometimes the stuff were litte lost, how to swith of the red plinkking light in the room phone, or you really have Drambuie, it´s that bottle.
- okei hotel.

Room Tip: Remember when you book to say you have a dog, if you have
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eervi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    70
    115
    82
    36
See reviews for
83
156
16
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sidmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

The only good thing I can say about this hotel is its central location- my husband was doing the Ironman race and the hotel was close to the race 'headquarters'. The bed was ok but the rooms are horrible, scratched dark wooden floor and tatty bathroom- think we were slightly lucky as we must have got a room suitable for disabled judging from the bathroom so the room was quite big. As others have said the hallways and central areas are dark and dingy and therefore look dirty. The breakfast room was filthy and the breakfast was not good. It was expensive to stay here, hence my disappointment! Also no air conditioning and the rooms are hot and stuffy.

Room Tip: Probably be quieter at the back and on second floor. We overlooked road and got woken by the rubbish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kalmar hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Eching, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

The really good thing about First Hotel Witt is the location. Central Kalmar (a city of 40.000 inhab.) . However, that same location prevents the hotel from installing an air conditioning and the very same location will disturb you night sleep if you try to sleep with an open window.
The bad thing counts to a higher number, starting already at the reception. Booking the hotel I found some really nice pictures online, the reality is rather different, a worn hotel with bathrooms from the 70´s (and the towels frayed) the hotel has halls and elevators which really need some refurbishing, it is not reflecting the wonderful story of the building, neither is it modern, it is ... nothing really.

The minibar is empty, the hotel is lacking an alcohol allowance so do not wish for a cold bear or a glass of wine in your room, not even if you want to pick it up at the hotels restaurant. This is not allowed. Highly strange for a 4 star hotel if I may say.

The breakfast, though a larger selection was available, served yesterdays bread, it was messy, no clean cutlery, no one to show you to a table, anyone could basically walk in from the street and have breakfast (maybe they do?).... But worsts of all, the cleaning was horrible and there was no light as the roof is painted black.

On the good side counts; location as mentioned, beds are OK, cleaning in the rooms OK.

Way to pricey, ok for less and no more than a maximum of 3 stars.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside of the house might be more quiet. Make sure to fill that mini-bar yourself if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
178 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We (two couples) stayed here for four nights in May 2013. First impressions were disappointing as we parked at the back, opposite the restaurant, which looks fairly down at heel. Inside the staff were friendly and helpful, and our room was a 'superior' so larger than that booked. Our friends weren't so lucky, and had to scrape round the TV on the wall to move about. Hanging space is limited for clothing, and there are no drawers. The bed was very comfortable, and the room quiet despite overlooking the street from the first floor. Breakfast was good, with a choice of hot and cold dishes. Wifi is free (although people who work at universities can also use Eduroam from the nearby University) but only lasts 24 hours before you have to have a new code. A bit annoying for a four-night stay.

The hotel has a bar/bistro, but this closes at 10pm, so we weren't able to have a nightcap there. It is very close to the (fairly industrial) harbour, a short walk from the marina and very close to the Cathedral. Kalmar is small and attractions and shopping are easily walkable from the hotel. Parking is free between 3pm and 9am, and you can get a ticket from the meter behind the hotel at any time, so don't have to keep rushing out to top it up. 30kr max. per day.

Others have said the hotel is a bit tired; generally it's in reasonable condition but the dining room is dark which gives it a bit of a dingy air despite the candles.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesly_Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

This hotel's best feature are its staff. They were all pleasant and helpful and made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived.

However the building itself is definitely showing its age. The rooms have been partly renovated, with nice wood floors and new furniture. The beds are very comfortable and the look is quite modern. However the bathrooms are very 1970s and the corridors and public areas reinforce that impression. I'd hoped that First Hotels had plans to renovate more thoroughly last time I stayed here, just after they'd taken over a couple of years ago.

The location is excellent, close to the harbour and the shopping and entertainment areas of the town centre. It's a bit of a walk to the railway station (maybe 15 minutes) but it's quite pleasant if there weather's good.

Another good point is that there's a pool and sauna, even though the pool is tiny and located underground beside the parking. The parking often seems to be full but at the weekend there's plenty of on-street parking.

I'd say that the included breakfast was only average by Swedish standards. There was an OK selection but nothing that stood out.

Room Tip: Rooms facing in to the courtyard are probably a little quieter, although it's not a busy street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrangeWindies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

First Hotel Witt is perfect in many ways. It is centrally located in down town Kalmar, with nice restaurants and shops nearby. The hotel itself is very good. It is not a luxuary hotel, but not so far away. It has nice, clean, spacy rooms that seem newly renovated. The whole hotel is actually in very good condition. The hotel has a restaurant, but we only tried it for breakfast, which is very good. It has everything you want from a breakfast, from toasted bread to yogurt and even fried bacon and waffles.
If you come by car, the hotel has a garage under the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonasSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altea, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

I love staying at this hotel. The staff are remarkable in making you feel welcome. The beds are incredibly comfortable. The place could use a face lift, but it is clean. Location is great!
I would recommend this hotel any day!

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ulf L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalmar hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Packhuset
0.0 mi away
ProfilHotels Calmar Stadshotell
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Slottshotellet
Hotel Slottshotellet
#6 of 12 in Kalmar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Frimurare Hotellet
Frimurare Hotellet
#5 of 12 in Kalmar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.9 mi away
Scandic Kalmar West
Scandic Kalmar West
#3 of 12 in Kalmar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Witt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Witt

Property: First Hotel Witt
Address: 42 Soedra Laanggatan, Kalmar 392 31, Sweden (Formerly FIRST HOTEL WITT)
Region: Sweden > Kalmar County > Kalmar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Kalmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Hotel Witt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel located near town center, 400 meters from train station & 5 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Witt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Hotel Kalmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing